Impulsive Purchases and Mini Headlights

IMG_8226
Sometimes I do things that I have no other explanation for, except that it was a spur of the moment thought, that led into a spur of the moment online purchase….there was no thinking involved…just a thought, and the click of a button…and then guilt for the purchase.

On Wednesday last week, I decided that I wanted a donut maker.
By Friday, it arrived in the mail.

I should probably mention that I am not being paid to talk about this donut maker. This is really all about me, and my impulsive nature.

IMG_8239

When I opened the package on Friday, and sat there staring at this powder blue donut maker, I honestly wondered what the heck was I thinking on Wednesday.. I don’t know..I guess I thought it would be kind of fun to be able to make little donuts when the mood struck. I thought that I’d rather eat a homemade donut, and it would be much better than deep frying…but I was feeling guilty for such a random purchase.

IMG_8210

I can honestly say it works pretty well for the $25 I paid for it. I do agree with the reviews on Amazon, when they complained that the donuts cook unevenly. They definitely cook faster on the bottom than on the top.

This little donut maker probably appeals to a very young crowd (or impulsive people like me), but I certainly wouldn’t let a child use it, at least unattended. It gets really hot to the touch on the outside. The donuts didn’t stick to the pan at all, but it was pretty hot when I was pulling them from the rings.

IMG_8229

And now for the donuts… they’re about 2 inches in diameter, so more of a little nibble than anything. I do think that they’re a nice little treat for a Saturday morning… possibly rolled in sugar, cinnamon, or even plain! I liked them because they were quick and easy. A breeze of a clean up!!

I decided to make mini headlights, and I’ll tell you why I love these little things…

I’m not sure about you, but when I lose my willpower (which is often), and go for a full size crème filled chocolate frosted donut, and eat the whole thing while I’m thinking to myself that it doesn’t even taste as good as I thought it would…and then that sickly sweet feeling comes over me immediately after that very last bite…the bite that I really didn’t want, but ate anyway…and then I’m miserable…sick and miserable.

Well, these mini headlights were the perfect size to remedy that. I ate one, and it satisfied any crème filled donut craving that I might have had. I could have even eaten two of them, and still wouldn’t have gotten that sickly feeling. And the beautiful part of the whole thing? It tasted good, because I made it exactly the way I thought it should be made.

So, in the end… will I use this little donut maker often? No, probably not. I do know that I’ll pull it out once in a while, and make these fun little donuts.

I’m definitely not sorry for this impulsive purchase. No guilt here!

IMG_8227

Mini Headlights
Makes About Two Dozen

The Donut:
1 cup all purpose flour
½ cup sugar
1-1/3 tbsp baking powder
¾ tsp salt
½ cup milk
2 eggs
2 tsp vanilla
2 tbsp vegetable oil

Preheat your donut maker.

In a large bowl, combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, milk, eggs, vanilla, and vegetable oil until well blended.

IMG_8218

IMG_8216

IMG_8219

IMG_8220

You can spoon the batter into the donut rings, but I found that it’s much easier to use a disposable piping bag. Fill the rings just to the top with the batter, close the top of the donut maker, and let cook for exactly two minutes. Remove the baked donuts from the rings, and let cool on wire rack.

The Ganache:
1 cup chocolate chips
2 tbsp heavy cream

IMG_8222

IMG_8224

Place the chocolate chips and heavy cream into a microwave safe bowl. Microwave for 30 seconds. Stir until the chocolate is completely melted, and spreadable. Add a few more drops of heavy cream if you feel it needs it. Dip the tops of the donuts into the ganache, and set on wire rack to cool.

The Crème Filling:
¼ cup shortening
¼ cup butter, softened
2 cups powdered sugar
2 tsp vanilla
¼ to ½ cup heavy cream

In a large mixing bowl, beat the shortening, butter, powdered sugar, vanilla, and ¼ cup of the heavy cream until fluffy. If it isn’t as fluffy as you’d like, continue to add heavy cream until it becomes your preferred piping consistency.

Pipe onto the chocolate covered donuts. Decorate with sprinkles if desired.

Enjoy!

IMG_8225

30 thoughts on “Impulsive Purchases and Mini Headlights

  1. These are adorable! I have avoided buying a doughnut maker for so long, because I know that I’d make them for breakfast, lunch and dinner! Online purchasing can be dangerous for the bank a account, but at least you ended up with a good product 🙂

    • Thank you Nancy! Oh, make the donuts!! I have a donut pan too, so if you come up with a recipe for it, I hope you post it…that pan has been sitting in my cupboard forever! And..thank you! I had a very talented girl design the header for me… I’m going to be trying out another one very soon to see which one really fits.. 🙂

  2. DONUTS! Get in my belly NOOOOOW!

    Sorry. Just had to get that out of my system. But seriously Prudy, these look delicious. I’ve been thinking about buying a donut pan myself, even though my ‘better judgment’ says it would be something I’d use maybe once or twice and would therefore be a ‘waste’ of money…but yours look so good I’m thinking about just getting one anyway lol

    • Haha.. you’re too cute, Jess… I know, right? I don’t know what came over me, but I had to have the donut pan, and I wanted it right then and there. You won’t be sorry if you buy one, I’m just not sure if you’ll use it all that often. Too bad we all didn’t live closer together…we could have a community donut maker, and just pass it around! 🙂

    • I’m a sucker for kitchen gadgets… I see something new, and decide right then and there that I need it. I can’t tell you how many gadgets I have that I really don’t use!! Sadly, sometimes it’s just the pretty color that draws me in… Yes. I’m admitting that. 🙂

  3. These mini donuts are so sweet (no pun intended at all!). In fact, they look like the right size to satisfy my donut cravings without that heavy sticky sweet feeling you mentioned. Impulsive purchases are not that bad if you use them again and again. And a donut maker? I bet you’ll use that often enough to make it worth the purchase!

    • Ngan..you’re right. You’d be surprised at how small they really are!! If you’re familiar with the mini donuts that you can buy at a store, like the Hostess powdered donuts… well, they’re even smaller than those! I’d say half the size!! They definitely are the perfect size to get rid of that craving, with no guilt or sick feeling! 🙂

  4. I think sometimes measured, restrained decision making is over rated. For 25 dollars you get to enjoy the feeling of freedom of being impulsive of treating yourself! Feeling guilty about it, now that is a waste of money 🙂

  5. Haha, you’re too funny! I love your classy powder blue purchase. OMG, totally had that happen to me with donuts. I always regret eating one! These baked donuts are the perfect substitute, even if they’re not quite the same 😉 I got a donut pan for xmas and have been meaning to put it to use. These look awesome!

Leave a comment