Twisted Tuesday: BLT with a Twist and a Chicken Soup Disaster Story

IMG_8259
Today is National Homemade Soup Day. It has nothing to do with my Twisted Tuesday recipe at all, except that it makes me think about my chicken soup disaster last night, and I thought I’d share it with you..

I thought about chicken soup all day yesterday.  I decided to make a quick pot of it last night after I got home.  Sometimes I like to take the easy way out, and I’ll throw some chicken stock in with a store bought rotisserie chicken, and some onions, a bay leaf or two, carrots, celery, canned tomatoes, potatoes and tubettini.  Ninety-nine percent of the time it comes out fabulous.  And then there’s last night’s 1% which turned out to be a total train wreck. I was totally off my game last night.  It definitely was not the easy way out.

It all started out as what I believed to be a normal preparation.  The soup was simmering on the stove. Michael came into the kitchen and asked what I was making for dinner.   “Chicken soup” I told him.  “That’s awesome” he said.   And as usual, he proceeded to grab a spoon for a taste.  “There’s no flavor” he told me.   I tasted it.  He was right. I added some salt.  Still no flavor.  Now, here is where it gets a little messy… I had a very small timeframe to get this soup finished and on the table, and in a panic, I threw a chunk of parmesan cheese in, which only succeeded in making a mass of burned cheese on the bottom of the pan.

Come on!! (said dramatically)..I always throw cheese in my soup.  It always melts into it just fine.  I realized that I still had the flame on high, and I was burning it! Seriously…Really?  …and…there was still no flavor.  I threw in a few spoonfuls of grated Romano.  It was a little bit better… but while I was stirring it, I realized that the potatoes and carrots had disintegrated in the high heat.  It was basically broth with onions, celery, a few chunks of chicken, and globules of melted cheese (that hadn’t burned to the bottom) floating around!

I was still going to try to pass it off as edible…
It didn’t work.
They were on to me…

I had Michael come in and taste it again… after he tasted it he said: “Mom, what is going on with you?  I always tell my friends how awesome your soups are, but if they tasted this, they’d be like ‘dude, what’s up with your mom’s soup?’  This is really bad”. 

Now, that normally would have made me feel bad, but what stuck was the fact that he tells his friends that my soups are awesome…

Luckily I had a beautiful loaf of country bread from my beloved Wegmans, and I sliced that up to go with the “flavorless, disintegrated potatoes and carrots, burned cheese on the bottom of the pan” chicken soup. Apparently I sliced the bread into what Mike called “mini loaves of bread” and “mom, you better get out of the kitchen NOW before you hurt yourself..”.

He was right, and after I skimmed the salvageable flavorless soup off of the top of the pan and served it to everyone; I walked away from the mess in the kitchen, and didn’t look back until I got up this morning, when I was ready to face the war zone to clean up the burned on cheesy mess…

Honestly? I think they ordered a pizza after I left the room!

Things just happen in the kitchen… sometimes bad….but most of the time good…

Twisted Tuesday…

IMG_8271

I went out to dinner with my friends a couple of weeks ago, and there on the menu, were corn fritters. I really love them. But I know if I order an appetizer, then I’m not going to enjoy the entrée…so I passed.  I’m still kicking myself for that, and have had them on the brain for the last few days.  I’ve also had BLT’s on the brain, and I thought I’d combine the two tonight!  Bacon, lettuce, and tomato on corn fritters should take care of my cravings all in one sitting!

Even Better: Corn and potato pancake BLT’s, with avocados and chipotle mayonnaise.  Now that, my friends, is a beautiful thing…

Life is still good, even though I burned the soup….

IMG_8266

Corn and Potato Pancake BLT’s
Makes 4 “Sandwiches”

Just a quick note:  You really have to eat this with a fork and knife…it’s not a pick up and eat kind of BLT..

The Pancake:
3 large potatoes, grated and drained
Juice of ½ lemon
2 cups frozen corn
1 large onion, chopped
2 eggs, beaten
3 tbsp all purpose flour
1 tsp salt
1 ½  tsp white pepper
½ tsp black pepper
¼ tsp cayenne

¼ cup vegetable oil

Grate the potatoes, and mix them with the lemon juice.  Drain them until there’s no more liquid coming from the strainer.

Stir together the potatoes, corn, onion, eggs, salt, white and black peppers in a large mixing bowl until combined.

Heat vegetable oil in large frying pan.  Measure 1/2 cup potato mixture into the pan, and flatten to about ½” thick.  Fry for about 5-6 minutes on each side, until golden brown.  You can keep them warm in a 200 degree oven while you fry the remaining pancakes.

The Chipotle Mayonnaise:
1 cup mayonnaise
4 chipotle peppers in adobo sauce
1 tbsp milk
½ tsp salt
¼ tsp pepper

The Rest of the Ingredients:
1 pound thick sliced bacon, fried crisp
2 tomatoes, thick sliced
Boston Lettuce leaves
1 avocado, sliced
Fresh Chives, chopped

Assemble the BLT:
Place one potato corn pancake on the plate, layer the bacon, tomatoes, lettuce and avocados on top, and drizzle with the chipotle sour cream.  Place another pancake on top. Garnish with fresh chives.

Enjoy!

IMG_8271

44 thoughts on “Twisted Tuesday: BLT with a Twist and a Chicken Soup Disaster Story

  1. I can imagine how you felt. But, hey, we all feel that sometimes – that we don’t even know what’s happening to us or to the ones we cook even though we have made the same thing over and over again. The thing is, you are not alone. xx And you know what? Sometimes, I cook three different dishes on the same day and all of them went, well, not that appetizing. So, cheer up! 😉 xx

    • I just couldn’t figure out why there was no flavor!! I guess I’ll never know.. with all of the vegetables that I put in there, along with the chicken, there should have been a ton of flavor!! Ah well… such is life. It’s all good, my son and I were still laughing about it last night.. 🙂

  2. I say you redeemed yourself quite nicely Prudy. I am sure your guys didn’t hold anything against you and your “failed” soup. The story is very comical…I can see this taking place right here in my own kitchen! But get a load of these BLT’s! They are fabulous. I have never made potato/corn pancakes before. This one I am going to make for sure. It looks wonderful.

    • Seana, Mike and I were still laughing about it last night. He kept shaking his head at me, like he couldn’t believe that any of that happened the night before! Honestly, there is absolutely no reason why that soup didn’t have flavor… the only thing I can think of, is that I have a cold, so my tastebuds might be on a different flavor track right now… and there’s a possibility that maybe Mike is coming down with the cold, and that’s why he couldn’t taste it. Who knows??
      Yeah, definitely make this BLT…it was really delish.. the corn and the chipotle mayo… and then the avocados… oh, those avocados… they put it right over the edge! 🙂

  3. Hi Prudy, I’m sure your soups ARE awesome! This was such a cute story, and also one I’m sure we have all encountered. I have made extra-salty, extra-bland, and extra-spicy soups that were not meant to be any of those things! Good thing we have 364 other days in the year to remake it to redeem ourselves. 🙂 Your corn and potato fritter BLTs look amazing. I think I would have a hard time assembling this sandwich because I’m liable to eat the fritters as soon as I cook them. Loving your Twisted Tuesday recipes! Have a lovely day.

  4. It was probably defective chicken and stock, had to be! The soup fiasco made me laugh, sorry :o( It is a bit comical and I can say that because you are such an awesome cook one little pot of bad soup does not define you. The BLt is seriously delicious, using those pancakes instead of bread, and the spicy mayo. Totally YUM!!

  5. The sandwich looks Fantasic….but really only 1 pound of bacon…..and I know about burning things.Cooking in the Navy I did it a time or two.The thought of having to clean the pan …well I just couldn’t do it, so I handed it to the mess cook and apologized…. I later found out he took it topside and sent it overboard into the Ocean….Apparently Davy Jones needed a 4 inch pan..

  6. Oh I love honesty so much. Such an undervalued and priceless commodity in such short supply. The honesty in your soup story is just beautiful. I have kitchen disasters too – and often with things I’ve made over and over and over.
    The corn and potato pancake BLTs are inspirational. YUM. 😉

  7. Everybody has it sometimes – its like loosing your mojo…. But the thing that stood out in this story for me is that your son tells his friends your soup is fabulous! Now what bigger compliment could you ask for?!:-)

  8. A housemate once set the oven on fire. Literally, there was a small fire. I freaked out and ran away, so don’t know how he put it out (I hope with a fire blanket). So, whenever I do something stupid, I console myself that at least I haven’t set anything on fire! 😀
    Awesome looking BLT!

  9. Ooooh, yummy! That corn and potato pancake BLT is a brilliant idea and I’ll bet it tastes as good as it looks. Bravo! As to kitchen failures, we all have them once in a while. And with mine, I’m always a bit clueless as to where exactly the train started going off the tracks, but if you don’t have an occasional failure in the kitchen…you’re not cooking enough!

Leave a Reply

