Orange Sherbet

workding bb favorite sherbet with spoonPicture this…

It was a Saturday morning. The skies were blue. The sun was shining, and there was zero humidity in the air. There were no sounds except for a light breeze through the trees, and little bird singing the prettiest song, because even she felt the beauty in the day.

It was a flawless summer day.
A glorious day.

I had nowhere to go…
I had nothing to do…
Well…I had lots to do, but decided that it was too beautiful to spend my time worrying about things that needed to be done. There was plenty of time for that on a day not so beautiful.

Laundry could wait.
The house could wait.

I was happy.
I was content.

Gilbert Markham, a character in Anne Bronte’s (1820-1849, British Novelist and Poet) novel, The Tenant of Wildfell Hall spoke these words (although he wasn’t feeling very happy, nor was he content at the moment..):

“A light wind swept over the corn; and all nature laughed in the sunshine. The lark was rejoicing among the silvery floating clouds.”

And it does… I truly believe that sunshine brings laughter, and that nature laughs in its own way…like that little bird in my yard…singing her heart out.

I took a walk around the yard, trying to find that little bird. She was content to stay where she was, out of sight, safe…and from the sound of her song, I believe that she was happy too. My guess is that she thought the same thing… her nest could wait, she had to be out enjoying, and rejoicing in that most perfect day.
wording bbb close up of sherbet
At that point in time, I didn’t think that there was anything that could make that day more perfect. Until a thought popped into my head…

Fresh orange sherbet.
The quintessence of sunshine.
The perfect way to celebrate the day.

And it was.
wording bbb cute sherbet
This sherbet is so refreshing, and so pretty, you wouldn’t think that the prep time is only minutes…and so very easy to make. The fresh orange flavor will make you wonder why you’ve been buying your sherbet from the freezer section all your life, when you could have been enjoying the real deal all along..

It didn’t take me long to realize that there are a lot of orange sherbet recipes out there…and I had to laugh that day, because as I was reading all of the recipes, I realized that they’re basically the same, except this person added a ¼ cup more heavy cream, while that person added ½ cup less sugar…and then they called the recipe their own. And as much as I’d like to, I can’t tell you who came up with the original of this most perfect recipe. But I can tell you that the recipe I used came from  The Brown Eyed Baker, who found her recipe from The New Best Recipe Cookbook  which I just ordered a copy for myself!

IMG_2821

Let me get off track here for one second… I ordered The New Best Recipe cookbook from Amazon.. It is about $20 brand new…. But underneath the price, there is a used book option starting at $4.99. I clicked on that… and there were quite a few of these books offered at a much lower price. Yes, they’re used…and unless you’re really bent on having brand new…then by all means…order new!  But the one that I ordered said that it has notes and sections highlighted in it. For me? That’s perfect! Why not take the knowledge of someone who has already tried a recipe in that book? I look forward to seeing what the person had to say… her/his thoughts and suggestions. You never know… they could be priceless! My cookbooks never stay pretty anyway… you will recognize a favorite cookbook in my kitchen, from the written on, worn, stained, and sometimes torn, pages!

Ok, back to the sherbet…

wording bbb spoon ful of sherbet

In the true fashion of everyone else, I changed the recipe up a bit. While Michelle (The Brown Eyed Baker) called for a tablespoon of orange zest, I added three tablespoons, minced fine. She strained her sherbet mixture, and I decided that the bits of orange zest would be an added “oomph” to the sherbet. They did. I only used ½ cup of sugar, whereas she used 1 cup. She used two cups of fresh squeezed orange juice, I used about three cups. Hers called for Triple Sec, and all I had was Chambord on hand, so I used that instead. And of course, Prudence had to make it even fatter… I added ¾ cup of heavy cream instead of her 2/3 cup!

It’s delicious. It’s more than delicious. It’s pretty, a pale orange color, it’s creamy, it’s refreshingly delicious! Deliciously delicious! And…it’s one that I plan to make over and over again. I can’t wait to try different flavors now! Maybe even a rainbow sherbet!! Stay tuned…

Life is good, it’s an “even now when I look back on that day, a calmness comes over me.. a happy remembrance of the perfect day…” kind of good.

wording bbb shertbet with three spoons

Orange Sherbet
Makes About 4 Cups

This recipe was adapted from The Brown Eyed Baker
3 cups fresh squeezed orange juice (about 4-5 pounds oranges)
1/2 cup granulated sugar
3 tbsp. finely minced orange zest
2 tbsp. lemon juice
1 tbsp. vanilla extract
2 tbsp. Chambord
Pinch sea salt
3/4 cup heavy cream

Place the orange juice, sugar, orange zest, lemon juice, vanilla, Chamord, and salt in a blender. Blend until sugar is dissolved. Add the heavy cream, and blend until smooth.

Place the sherbet mixture into a glass bowl, cover with plastic wrap, and place in the freezer for at least two hours, but don’t let it freeze.

Don’t worry if the orange juice and heavy cream have started to separate. It’s fine! Just give it a good whisk, and pour the chilled mixture into the bowl of your ice cream maker, and churn according to the manufacturer’s directions. I use the KitchenAid ice cream bowl for my mixer, and it took about 1/2 hour to churn into a soft serve sherbet.

Place the soft serve sherbet into a freezer container, or ice cream container…and freeze for about 3 hours, or until it can be scooped out with an ice cream scoop.

Enjoy!
workding bb favorite sherbet with spoon

63 thoughts on “Orange Sherbet

  1. I love sherbet and your orange sherbet is wonderful, I felt like listening to that REM song “shiny happy people” reading your post, It was so happy!! I need to make some of that sherbet.

  2. For some reason orange sherbet used to be the only type of ‘ice cream’ that I would eat when I was little. I don’t know why, but I was just convinced that everything else was going to be nasty lol

    Nice recipe and post, Prudy- it looks divine ❤

    • Thank you so much! They’re so cute, aren’t they? When I ordered them (especially for this sherbet) I thought that they were going to be the actual cups…but they turned out to be the “fold around” kind…so I ended up putting the sherbet into regular cupcake wrappers, and then wrapping those around! Anything for a pretty photo… 🙂 ❤

    • Oh my gosh, Sally…. the book just came yesterday. Holy smokes…you’re not kidding!! I couldn’t believe how huge it is! Like yours, mine is sitting on my nightstand too. It’s an awesome book…but it’s going to take me some time to get through it! ❤

  3. Orange flavour is one my preferred in dessert, one of the best flavours for ice-cream or sherbet. Since this one has been made by you I bet it was divine. Laundry can always wait, even during a snow storm!!!
    P.S We have the same polka dots cups, and it’s very funny because I bought mine in Italy!!!

    • Thank you so much Margherita! Your kind words mean so much to me… you know…those cups. They actually turned out to be a wrap around type of paper… it wasn’t an actual cup like I thought it was going to be. I’m certain yours are much much nicer… ESPECIALLY because they came from Italy.. ❤

    • Thank you so much Amanda! I’m so sorry that I’m so late in getting back to you… why this happens, I’m not sure, but I just found a whole bunch of comments in my spam folder… this one included. I’m so happy to see you here… and thanks so much for your kind words…. they mean so much to me! ❤

  4. I love it, your description of the perfection of the day is beautiful 🙂 and I love the description of nature laughing, it makes complete sense xx and beautiful sorbet, Madame Prudence 🙂 xx

  5. Prudy,

    Wow!! I just used my ice cream maker for the very first time the other day. For sure
    This will be the second time!! Amazing recipe, story and pictures (as always). Reading your story about the day, etc brought a sense of calm and content. Thank you!

  6. Sounds SOOOOO yummy! I found you on Tuesdays Table & would like to invite you to my recipe link party The Yuck Stops Here. Stop by my blog, Hot Momma’s Kitchen Chaos anytime before Sunday at 8pm ET this week to linkup. I really hope to see you there! HUGS

  7. I couldn’t agree more about the book, I buy almost all my cookbooks at fleemarkets used book stores and jumble sales (but then again I’m most interested in cook books older than 1980 as my blog clearly shows 😉 ) Love the photos on this post by the way 🙂

  8. Oh my gosh – lovely Prudy – you just get better and better. I would never buy a book that somebody else had highlighted. Until now – now I want one. You have the best attitude ever. Honestly. And the sherbet is gorgeous. I could taste it as I read your beautiful, sunny, happy post. xoxo

Leave a Reply

