Writing Process Blog Tour, Part II: Suzanne’s Whipped Chocolate Caramel Ganache

IMG_2549
I’m finally home from vacation! It was a nice relaxing time, but I was pretty homesick the last couple of days, so it’s nice to be back, and into my regular routine. I’ll get caught up with all of your lovely comments in the upcoming week!

This is the very last post for my Writing Process Blog Tour, Part II…. I had the wonderful opportunity to participate in the tour a little over a month ago, and had the honor of introducing you to some outstanding bloggers, including Suzanne, from A Pug in the Kitchen.

IMG_2537

I went ahead and opened my big mouth during the first day of the tour…and said “Oh yeah, I’ll give Suzanne’s Whipped Chocolate Caramel Ganache a try!” It’s not enough that her recipe is a winner in a Food52 contest…Nope… I said that I was going to make it, and then post it for all the world to see.

Yep. Me.
The non-baker.
The un-bakeable-ist.

IMG_2616

So…when I put all of the ingredients in front of me, I’m not kidding when I say that I think I broke out in a little sweat. Panic set in. I stood there looking at everything… reading the recipe over and over again, and then looking at everything again.

I really wanted to make Suzanne proud.
Because, well…it’s Suzanne, you know?
She is one of the most highly respected bloggers in our blogging community.
We love her.

IMG_2545

Honestly, there was nothing to worry about…she made the instructions so clear, that this absolutely beautiful and delightful ganache is a breeze to make!

And seriously…this stuff is good. I mean really, really good… and when you make this ganache, be prepared for burned fingers and tongues. Because that’s exactly what’s going to happen the second you add the butter to the amber colored liquid sugar. You’re going to start dipping your finger in, knowing full well that burns and discomfort will happen… but you’re not going to care. That delicious caramel with the chocolate is completely and utterly burn worthy.

I mean…look at it…how could you not take that chance??

IMG_2512

IMG_2513

And while it was whipping in my mixer, I was so impressed at how quickly it all came together, to produce such a perfectly fluffy and delicious ganache. This is definitely a recipe that quickly became one of my favorites, one that will be my go-to whenever I need a chocolate frosting.

IMG_2614

I’m so pleased to share this with you today, and I hope that you’ll stop by Suzanne’s blog to visit her, and to see what she has cooking up her sleeve. I can guarantee that it will be amazing!

Life is good…it’s a “Finding a new favorite chocolate frosting, and totally knowing that you can rock that frosting out of the house!” kind of good…

IMG_2592

Whipped Chocolate Caramel Ganache
Copied from Suzanne’s blog: A Pug in the Kitchen

Makes enough frosting to fill and frost a 9-inch cake

Chocolate Caramel Sauce:
1 cup sugar
6 tablespoons salted butter cut into tablepoon-size pieces
1/2 cup heavy cream
2 ounces dark chocolate (I used bittersweet)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Put the heavy cream in a glass measuring cup and microwave on high for 45 seconds, add chocolate and microwave another 30 seconds Stir until its smooth, add the vanilla extract and stir to combine, set aside so that it will cool before adding to the caramel.

In large saucepan add the sugar, turn heat to med/high and let sit until it starts to liquefy. Start stirring with a heat proof spatula. The sugar will crystalize but that’s alright — keep stirring until its all liquid. Stop stirring and let it cook until it turns amber in color, then add the butter and stir to combine.
Remove from heat and add the chocolate cream. Stir until its incorporated. Store in a container at room temperature until ready to use. Note: If you make this ahead of time, simply place the bottle or jar in hot water to warm the caramel so it’s pourable.

Ganache :
4 ounces dark chocolate broken into small pieces
4 ounces milk chocolate broken into small pieces
1 cup plus 2 tablespoons heavy cream
1 tablespoon liquor (I like cointreau or kahlua) or vanilla extract
1/2 cup chocolate caramel sauce

Heat cream to scalding (not boiling). Pour over the pieces of chocolate that are in a mixing bowl. Let sit 5 minutes then stir until there are no pieces of chocolate and it’s smooth and shiny, then add the chocolate caramel sauce and stir to combine.
Place bowl in an ice bath and stir or whisk until it’s cool but not cold — it will stiffen fairly quickly if it gets too cold. Remove from the ice bath and beat with a mixer or whisk until the ganache is fluffy and spreadable. Frost the cake immediately. Best served at room temperature.
IMG_2545

 

Enjoy!

44 thoughts on “Writing Process Blog Tour, Part II: Suzanne’s Whipped Chocolate Caramel Ganache

  1. Prudy you blew it out of the water, you made me so proud I am absolutely beaming, I have to say though, you don’t give yourself enough credit you are amazingly talented and girl, you can bake, yes you can!! That frosting and cake is to die for, has me drooling and wanting a big slice NOW. Thank you s much for all the nice things you said I am humbled and so honored that you made my recipe. Thank you.

  2. That is some serious ganache! How could I have missed it on Suzanne’s blog?! I’m clearly falling apart here. Suzanne’s recipes always work, I’m a big fan of hers. Will definitely try this caramel ganache. It already sounds incredible just saying it! You did good, Prudy, you did real good! Watch out, you’re quickly turning into a baker, maybe even a pro baker! 🙂

  3. Welcome back form vacation. Hope you enjoyed every moment there. The chocolate caramel ganache looks so delicious. Oh I wish I could taste it!!!

  4. This is stunning Prudy! I can’t believe you are supposedly not good at baking! Wonderful recipe Suzanne! So fun that you did this Prudy! Hope vacation was good…glad you are back!

  5. Prudy, this is such a wonderful post. You are the sweetest, really! I love Suzanne and all of her amazing encouraging words and incredible posts she shares with us. This is not like any cake I have ever seen before…I mean, look at that frosting job! You are incredible yourself! Love this…it’s beautiful. 🙂 xx

    • Thank you so much Allison! I’m so happy to meet you, and so happy you stopped by. I just found your comment in my spam folder, and I’m relieved that I found it before I cleaned deleted everything, otherwise, I wouldn’t have had the chance to visit your absolutely beautiful blog. Wow… just beautiful! ❤

  6. Pingback: Chocolate Intoxication | The Culinary Journey

Leave a Reply

