Fresh Cherry Scones

IMG_1941
About a week or so ago, Katie and I were out shopping. Okay, so the truth is, we were supposed to be picking strawberries, but there were a few factors in the equation that kept us from going… such as:

    1. It was hot outside.
    2. It was late in the afternoon, and we were tired.
    3. It was the very last day of strawberry picking, so we knew that it would be slim pickins’.
    4. Ok, number 3 was just a lame excuse.
    5. We really wanted to go to Christmas Tree Shops and Target.
    6. Emphasis on Numbers 1, 2, and 5…
    7. We knew that my beloved Wegmans actually carried the Coulter Farm’s strawberries in the little green cartons that we would have put them in, and no one would be the wiser when we came home with them from the store.

Honestly, nobody was even home when we got there, and they wouldn’t have thought anything of it anyway….but since we feel like we’re getting away with something here, let’s just go with it!

IMG_1918

This really has nothing to do with the strawberries. We did go shopping at Target and Christmas Tree Shops….and we did make jam with the strawberries… but that’s about as far as that goes. Actually, Katie made an awesome strawberry basil jam, that I’d like to share with you one of these days. Maybe. If she says ok.

But again, this has nothing to do with strawberries, or Katie’s strawberry basil jam. It actually doesn’t have anything to do with Target or Christmas Tree Shops for that matter.

IMG_1891

What it has to do with, is that in between shopping, we stopped at a popular coffee house that is a part of Target. While I was ordering our iced coffees, I noticed a blueberry scone in their little glass case. Now that sounded really appealing, so I ordered one for the both of us to share.

A red flag did pop up in my mind when the girl behind the counter handed it to me in a sealed plastic bag, which says to me that it had been baked a while ago, probably weeks ago, and most likely took a few of them out of the freezer that morning.

It’s not a bakery, Prudence… it’s a coffee house.
Their baked goods are delivered in a big truck, not fresh out of the oven.
I get that. I really do.

IMG_1889This is how bad I am…and please tell me that there is someone like me out there…. I couldn’t even wait until we made it to the car, and I’m opening the plastic bag to break a piece of scone off, to pop in my mouth in the middle of the parking lot!

Dry.
It was so dry.
Dry and crumbly…

….and as I tried to tell Katie that it was dry, I started laughing, because my mouth had become so dry from this scone, that I couldn’t talk! And when I tried to talk, all that came out was scone dust! I mean, it was only a matter of 30 seconds before I took a swig of my iced coffee, and all was right with the mouth environment once again….

But in that 30 seconds of choking on scone dust, I envisioned myself lying in the middle of the parking lot, and the paramedics standing over me, telling the rubberneckers (because you know rubberneckers and their morbid fascination and all)… “It was the dry scone…she couldn’t wait until she got to the car….”

IMG_1955

I firmly believe that while a scone should be on the crumbly side, there is no reason that it should ever, ever be dry!!

So, this past weekend while I was making cherry jam with the cherries that came in my CSA box, along with a bag of black cherries that I bought from my beloved Wegmans, I thought that a fresh cherry scone would be the perfect thing to go with the jam, and I saved about a cup of cherries to use in the dough.

IMG_1977

They’re quick and easy to prepare, and honest to goodness, these scones are delicious. They’re moist. Moist!! They’re sweet. And they’re packed with a cherry in every bite!

They’re great for a “grab and go” breakfast, or to serve on a lazy weekend morning…a brunch…or even a tea party! No matter how you serve them, they’ll be a hit with everyone!

Life is good, it’s an “Emphasis on a moist scone” kind of good..

Fresh Cherry Scones

Just a quick note: Make sure you mix the ingredients just until combined.  The dough will be sticky, so make sure you use a lot of flour on the board before you put the dough down, and then generously flour the top of the dough before you roll them out.

While I have them cut into eighths, you can actually cut them into sixteenths, and make them into mini scones.

I’m sharing the mock clotted cream recipe that I found from Tea Time Magazine.  The cherry jam recipe is from the directions that came from the box of Sure Jell.

2 cups all purpose flour
4 tbsp granulated sugar
3 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup cold butter, cut into cubes
1/2 cup, plus 1 tbsp heavy cream
1 egg, beaten
1 cup fresh pitted cherries, chopped

In a large bowl, combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. Add the butter cubes, and cut in with a fork or pastry blender until the flour mixture and butter are large crumbs.

Add the heavy cream and egg. Stir until just blended. Fold in the cherries.

Place the dough on a generously floured surface, and flour the top. Roll out to a 1″ thick square, or circle. Cut into wedges. (Shown here).
IMG_1746Place on a parchment lined baking sheet. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.

Remove from oven, and cool completely on cooling racks. Drizzle with vanilla glaze.

Vanilla Glaze:
1 cup powdered sugar
2 tbsp milk
1/2 tsp vanilla
Pinch salt

In a small bowl, combine the powdered sugar, milk, vanilla, and salt. Whisk until smooth.

Serve the glazed scones with mock clotted cream and homemade cherry jam.

Mock Clotted Cream:
(From Tea Time Magazine)
1 (3-ounce) package cream cheese, softened
¼ cup confectioners’ sugar
¼ cup sour cream
½ cup heavy cream
¼ teaspoon vanilla extract

In a medium mixing bowl, combine cream cheese, confectioners’ sugar, and sour cream. Using an electric mixer at medium speed, beat until smooth. Add cream and vanilla extract, beating until light and fluffy. Refrigerate until needed.

Cherry Jam:
Recipe from Kraft Sure Jell  ( I didn’t use the almond extract)

4 cups prepared fruit (about 3 lb. fully ripe sweet cherries)
1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
1 box SURE-JELL Fruit Pectin
5 cups sugar, measured into separate bowl
1/4 tsp almond extract

STEM and pit cherries. Finely chop or grind fruit. Measure exactly 4 cups of the prepared cherries into 6- or 8-qt. saucepot. Stir in lemon juice.

STIR pectin into fruit mixture in saucepot. Bring mixture to full rolling boil (a boil that doesn’t stop bubbling when stirred) on high heat, stirring constantly. Stir in sugar and extract. Return to full rolling boil and boil exactly 1 min., stirring constantly. Remove from heat; skim off any foam with metal spoon.

FILL containers immediately to within 1/2 inch of tops. Wipe off top edges of containers; immediately cover with lids. Let stand at room temperature 24 hours. Jam is now ready to use. Store in refrigerator up to 3 weeks or in freezer up to 1 year. (If frozen, thaw in refrigerator before using.)

Enjoy!

IMG_1965

 

34 thoughts on “Fresh Cherry Scones

  1. Oh, these scones look marvelous!! I sympathize with your dry scone encounter…I’m such a scone snob at this point that I won’t eat them unless they were homemade! I’ll have to try these sometime soon 🙂

  2. I couldn’t help laughing at your ‘paramedic’ imagination. I am sorry if that’s rude, but the way you imagined those imaginary paramedics discuss your imaginary problem was way too funny 😀 Thank God for your delicious home made scones. If I was in your neighborhood, I would never ever buy a scone. I would drop in when ever the delicious aroma from your oven would waft in the air and make way into my home. 😀

  3. Prudy – you should be writing comedy sketches for Saturday Night Live. Or something. That scene in the car park played out in my head like a pilot for a new series…Your scones look fabulous as does the cherry jam – so feel like making some now but have compotted (is that even word) all my soft fruit; Jake has eaten the cherries…and it’s raining. Maybe later!

  4. I have a house full of plaster dust so I can totally relate to the scone dust right now!!! And why oh why do scones have to be soooooo dry? You’ve proved they don’t need to be 🙂 but what I love the most, is that you visited Christmas tree shops in July…I love you all over again for that ❤ xxx

  5. Lol, thanks for the laugh!! Dry things are the worst! What about a dry steak? Ever had one of those? But nothing compares to an overripe banana. Ever had one of those? Anyway, Prudy, this is a great post – 3 recipes, moist scones, free laughs, thank you! ❤

  6. Ha, reminds me of my scones and biscuits, I am NOT good at it at all. Your scones look deliciously moist and love the cherries and the glaze. Don’t tell me you can’t bake, the scones prove otherwise. Love the jam recipe also. Lemon is also high in pectin I hear. Cherry jam is one of my favorites.

  7. Now that’s funny! And heck yeah, I am one of those people who wouldn’t wait to get to the car to open the bag and start eating it. I didn’t realize how easy it is to bake scones. I’ve never made them before but looking at your recipe I think I could do it. And my favorite scones are the one’s with a glaze drizzled on top. You nailed it here! Great post.

  8. Hahahaha! I always enjoy reading your write up. How do you write sooo well. The area i struggle the most. Thanks fr that wonderful write up and also fr the recipe of the moist scones. 🙂

  9. Been there…each morning walking in to get a coffee on a long ride to work…I notice Scones and Danish in a display case….I know in my mind there old..so I ignore them…however there is that one time I say it looks good …I buy it …bite it…and realized I should have trusted my instinct… your a true baker and recognizing the mistakes of others is a gift…eating them is a whole different matter…… nice post Prudence

  10. Oh, Prudy, I love this story. Made me laugh early in the morning! Thanks for that… 🙂
    Also I love the scones. The must be great with cherries and I’m longing to try them. Especially as I know that they are not going to be dry! 🙂
    Whenever I am in some coffeehouse I feel that those baked goods look awesome and when I take something I’m never really satisfied. But I keep on doing the same mistake again and again. I guess it still takes many more dry scones for us to really realize! 🙂

  11. I hear ya’ sister. Picking strawberries in the heat or shopping?? No brainer. But I do hope you share Katie’s jam recipe!

  12. Pingback: Tilslørte bondepiker (Veiled Peasant Girls) With Variations | RecipeReminiscing

  13. I fell for one of those scones – the dry kind – at the coffee shop that sells scones for about four times the price they should be. It was pumpkin. In colour and theory – it was pumpkin. I’m hoping I don’t fall for one ever again. I don’t want to end up in the parking lot with the paramedics and the rubberneckers. I would however, like one of those cherry scones of yours. If only I hadn’t eaten two chocolate peanut butter brownie molten cups already today. Tomorrow? xx

  14. Pingback: Travel Theme: Meeting Places |

Leave a Reply

