Writers Process Blog Tour, Part II: Janelle’s Cucumber and Sesame Seed Salad

IMG_1714
A few weeks back, I participated in the Writers Process Blog Tour. I took it a little bit further, and said that I wanted to share something from each of the girls who I introduced to you. Today, I’d like to share Janelle, from Bakes in Slippers. Seriously, how cute is her blog’s name? I’ve only known Janelle for a couple of months now, but feel like I’ve known her for much longer than that, and that’s because she shares not only her delicious recipes on a daily basis, but I’ve enjoyed watching her share her life, her daughter’s milestone in graduating from high school, to searching for a college to attend.. She’s funny, she’s loving, she’s dedicated… I’m honored to know her, and so happy that I stumbled across her on Twitter…

IMG_1712

I’ve come to the conclusion that Janelle never sleeps. I don’t know how she can possibly sleep with all of the food that she keeps cranking out of her kitchen on a daily basis! I swear, she posts so many wonderful and beautiful photos of food…I wonder how she does it. It’s not just preparing the food, but she still writes about it, and then produces gorgeous photos too! Oh, and then runs a Facebook group on top of all of that!! Unless she has cloned herself, I would say she is a Super Blogger!

IMG_1702

While all of her recipes catch my eye, there was one that really caught my eye, and that was her Cucumber and Sesame Seed Salad. At the time, I had so many cucumbers in my fridge, and I knew that this would be the perfect salad to use them in. A change of pace from the sour cream cucumber salad that I normally would have made. I’m so happy I tried this… it’s delicious. It has a bit of an Asian flair to it from the sesame and green onions. It’s sweet and it’s nutty. The longer you let it sit, the more flavorful it becomes!! I love to eat it as the main dish, with a piece of crusty bread…. Last night, I made it yet again, but this time after I let it sit forever, I threw it over some leaf lettuce. Delicious. You really need to try this.

I hope that you stop by Janelle’s blog, Bakes in Slippers. I know that you’ll be captivated just like I was…

Life is good, it’s a “Having a friend who you’ve only known for a couple of months, but feel like it’s been a lifetime” kind of good…

IMG_1710

Cucumber and Sesame Seed Salad
I’ve copied this recipe from Janelle’s blog: Bakes in Slippers

*This amount serves two, so just keeping going up until you have enough to fit your needs.

1 large cucumber shaved long or sliced thin
½ tsp salt
½ tsp sugar
3 T red wine vinegar (rice vinegar would work well also)
½ tsp minced garlic
pinch of crushed red peppers
½ tsp sesame seeds
2 green onions diced thin
1-2 tsp toasted sesame oil

Combine cucumber, salt, and sugar into a bowl mixing well until cucumber is coated. Let marinate for 30 mintues
While marinating, combine remaining ingredients (except green onions) into a bowl and stir together, set aside
Drain and rinse cucumbers and put into a bowl, mixing in the marinate. Top with green onions and let sit in fridge for 1-2 hours or overnight.

Serve cold, topping with toasted sesame oil. Can be kept up to three additional days.

Enjoy!

IMG_1714

18 thoughts on “Writers Process Blog Tour, Part II: Janelle’s Cucumber and Sesame Seed Salad

  1. Much more exiting than the traditional Scandinavian cucumber salad which only contains super thin slices of cucumber in a vinegar/sugar dressing seasoned with freshly ground pepper. It tastes great with poached salmon or trout or fries sole though 😉

  2. Great salad. I love cucumber salad and I actually have everything to make this right now, so, I think I’ll add it to the menu for tonight’s flank steak dinner. Thank you for the bright idea and it truly is kind of you to feature Bakes in Slippers. Delicious Prudy.

  3. I have wondered when Janelle sleeps – she has a job as well! I make a version of this salad which includes shavings of carrot and a sprinkle of crushed salty peanuts too. Love those flavours!

Leave a Reply

