A Chocolate Chip Cookie By Any Other Name Would Taste As Sweet…

IMG_1199
Have you ever had a craving so bad, that it calls out to you all day?  I mean, I get cravings… but then I get cravings.  Take last week for instance, I wanted cookies. But I didn’t want just any cookie…I wanted a chocolate chip cookie with nuts and raisins.  It was one of those cravings.  No other chocolate chip cookie would do.

Now, you know that I cannot bake to save my life…but what else could I do?  I had to have the cookie.  I had to bake the cookie.

I’m actually quite famous with my kids for my lack of baking skills. I want to be a baker, it’s just not meant to be.  I’ve accepted that.   But once in a while…it just has to be done…knowing full well that I’m walking down the path of possible ridicule and rejection.

IMG_1049

And while I was very pleased with my cookies in both taste and appearance…. My son Mike came walking into the kitchen and took one look at them…and then turned around and took one look at me, shaking his head…

I braced myself for the worst…

He grabbed a couple of them, and walked out of the kitchen. I think you know Mike by now…he’s so fussy…it was a small miracle that he even tried them! A few minutes later, he comes back into the kitchen..

IMG_1257

“These are really good for being as ugly as they are” he said, grabbing a couple more cookies.
“I don’t think they’re that ugly, Boy” I replied.
“Yeah, they’re pretty ugly, I don’t know why you keep trying to bake” he said.
“I hope you burn your tongue” I answered as he walked out.

Let me translate that conversation for you:

“These are really delicious cookies, mom…” is what he really meant.
“Thank you Boy, I had a feeling you’d like them…” is what I really meant.
“Your perseverance in baking is really paying off..” is what he really meant.
“I love you too, Boy” is what we both really meant.

IMG_1245

Anyway…getting back to the cookie craving… I’m glad I made these cookies. There is something about that creamy milk chocolate, with a bite of toasted walnut, a chewy sweet raisin, and a sweet glaze that just makes a cookie complete.  It makes the cookie complete…and it makes me happy.

The next time you get that craving…I hope you try these cookies. They’re foolproof for the non-baker, and they’re delicious enough to please even your biggest critic! And…they’re not ugly.

Life is good, it’s a “Warm chocolate chip cookie right out of the oven with an ice cold glass of milk” kind of good…

IMG_1056

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Makes Two Dozen Cookies

Just a quick note: This recipe was adapted from Crisco’s Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookie. I changed up a couple (ok… a lot) of things to suit my taste (baking skills).

3/4 cup Crisco® Butter Flavor All-Vegetable Shortening
1 1/4 cups firmly packed dark brown sugar
2 tablespoons milk
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 large egg
2 cups all purpose flour
2 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup milk chocolate chips
1 cup chopped walnuts, toasted (See below)
1 cup raisins

Line one or two cookie sheets with parchment paper.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Combine shortening, brown sugar, milk and vanilla in large bowl. Beat at medium speed of electric mixer until well blended. Beat in egg. Combine flour, salt and baking soda. Mix into shortening mixture until just blended. Stir in chocolate chips, nuts, and raisins.

Using a 2 tablespoon scoop, scoop the dough into a ball, and place each ball about 3 inches apart.

Bake for 11 minutes for chewy cookies, or 13 minutes for crisp cookies. Cool 4 minutes on baking sheet on a cooling rack. Remove cookies to rack to cool completely.

Drizzle with vanilla glaze. Store in an airtight container, or leave them on a plate on your table. They won’t last long!

Toasted Walnuts:
So simple…. place the walnuts in a single layer on a cookie sheet.  Bake at 350 degrees for about 6-8 minutes, watching them closely so that they don’t burn.

Vanilla Glaze
1 cup powdered sugar
2 tbsp melted butter
1 tsp vanilla
1 tbsp heavy cream (or more, until it reaches desired consistency)

In a small bowl, combine the powdered sugar, melted butter, vanilla, and heavy cream until smooth and glaze consistency.

Enjoy!

IMG_1049

28 thoughts on “A Chocolate Chip Cookie By Any Other Name Would Taste As Sweet…

  1. There’s nothing like the craving for a chocolate chip cookie. Nothing in the world. I think these look and sound marvelous, Prudy. You keep saying that you’re not a baker, but I haven’t seen you bake anything yet that I wouldn’t GLADLY devour! Great job 😀

      • I was set to make them (in my head) but had few of the things needed once I started my crazy cooking dance; dessert always cooks last. I did follow the recipe as a template of sorts and was enormously thrilled with the results so, big thanks! Had it not been for your post, right then, in the moment, John would have been munching (by then stale) store bought again.

  2. How ironic, I was just thinking that I need to bake cookies for my Cookie Monster guest who will be staying the weekend with us.,,I am certainly NOT a baker (like you actually ARE…baking just fine) so I needed to find a cookie recipe to bake. Thanks, this one will be just the ticket for him.

    • Thanks so much Lori…Sometimes I worry that people will think that Mike and I have some sort of disrespect for each other…but that couldn’t be further from the truth.. I just asked him last night if I could actually write a post about him… and he agreed. So, watch for it. It’s going to be a silly recipe…but one of his favorites. ❤

  3. I love those cookies. I don’t know why you soooo often have to choose between the raisin nut cookie AND the chocolate chip cookie. So good to have it combined. It’s the same with granola though. I always buy the fruity one and the chocolate one and use them half and half. I guess you really have to bake the cookies yourself in order to have what you really enjoy!
    Also, I love the conversation with your son. It’s the same everywhere, you just have to translate those words that don’t sound too nice into what’s really meant. 🙂 Sounds like he really loved them. Well done, Prudy. But I do think that you are not allowed to say that you are not a baker anymore. That time is over. 🙂
    Have a great day!

  4. I didn’t grow up with these so don’t really crave them with the intensity that I might otherwise, but they look great and I’d tuck into a few if my nose picked up the scent! Mmm…

  5. At that first picture I might have actually had to quickly wipe some drool from my mouth. These look incredible, and why is glaze on cookies not more of a thing?!? Brilliant, my gorgeous friend; just brilliant.

  6. Well done! They are deliciousssss looking. Someday you’ll learn how to bake Prudy… 😉 My mom used to bake with Crisco and I have never in my life bought a can. I have heard it really makes a difference in the the consistency of your baked goods. What do you think? All I know is someone brought some fantastic cinnamon rolls to work last week and she said her secret was shortening! Beautiful post! Gorgeous photographs.

  7. These look amazing, and YES I definitely know what you mean about that kind of incessant craving that bugs you all day long! And these are totally good-looking cookies – what was your son thinking?!

Leave a Reply

