Citrus-Ade

IMG_0970
I have the weeding just about finished around my house. I’m so happy, and so relieved…but I am also very aware that it’s just in time for the next round.  I’m so good at growing weeds, that I’ve given it some strong consideration to pull the flowers, and just grow weeds! And I do admit…some weeds that I grow are very pretty. They’re highly invasive and destructive, but some of them do have a beautiful flower on them!

You know, it’s funny… up to about ten years ago or so, I could have started the weeding on a Saturday morning, and would have pulled all the weeds, planted flowers, and mulched by Saturday night. One day is all I would really take to blast through those pesky weeds, but now it takes me a full day to do just one side of the house! And then it takes me another full day to get rid of the aches and pains that my body has suffered from all the bending and pulling the weeds!

IMG_0963

There is such a feeling of accomplishment and satisfaction that I enjoy when it’s all finished, I just love to sit out on the porch on a warm summer’s evening, and appreciate the . Yep, I pop three Ibuprofen; sit on a pillow with my arms wrapped in ice bags, my neck wrapped in a microwavable heated neck thingy, an over the counter pain patch on my lower back, and my feet soaking in the foot bath!

Ok, I exaggerate…the Ibuprofen is the only true thing from that whole paragraph… but at the rate I’m going with this whole weeding gig…I can see all  that stuff  in my near future!

IMG_0978

Seriously though, I do love to sit out on the porch on that warm summer’s evening, with a platter of cheese and fruit…and something cold and refreshing to drink. Sometimes it’s wine..sometimes it’s iced tea..and sometimes it’s this citrus-ade.  I’m going to be honest here, I’m not very good at making lemonade.  I’ve tried it throughout the years, and it always tastes bitter. Not tart, but bitter.  So I got myself into the habit of mixing citrus fruits together,  and it always comes out perfectly tart, perfectly sweet…and perfectly refreshing!

I think what I love the most about this “ade”  is that you can use whatever citrus fruits that you happen to have on hand that day!  When I made this, I had grapefruit, lemons, and limes, so that’s the recipe that I’m giving you today.  Honestly though, it’s so easy, and it’s so quick to make, that you won’t mind throwing it together after a long day in the weeds… just add about five cups of water to the fruit juice, add the amount of sugar to make it your desired sweetness, and then sit back, relax, and enjoy your flowers (or weeds, in my case) in their glory!

Life is good, it’s a “Where the heck do those weeds come from anyway, and when did I get so old that it takes me four weeks rather than one day to get rid of them?” kind of good…

IMG_0968

Citrus-Ade
Makes About 1-1/2 Quarts

3 pink grapefruit
4 lemons
4 limes
5 – 6 cups water (Use 5 cups if the fruit doesn’t have much taste. Use 6 cups if the fruit is juicy and flavorful)
1 to 1-1/2 cups sugar (This all depends on how tart or sweet you like your beverage)
Ice
Strawberries for garnish

Juice the grapefruits, lemons, and limes into a pitcher. Add the water and sugar. Stir until the sugar is dissolved. Refrigerate until ready to serve….and then add ice. Garnish with strawberries.

Enjoy!

TuesdaysTable150x150-horiz peppers

IMG_0970

69 thoughts on “Citrus-Ade

  1. Hi Prudy, I seem to be having the same kind of problem here too, hmmm…..well I know were not getting old maybe the weeds are multiplying more and more with all the climate change and all. Wink. Your citrus ade sounds very refreshing.

  2. Mmm looks tasty and refreshing! I tried homemade lemonade for the first time on Father’s Day and loved it! I’ve been dreaming up variations since then, and will certainly have to try this one!

      • I haven’t posted it! Part of my gift to my boyfriends family when making the dinner was not only to make it, but to not stop to record or photograph any of it (only a blogger knows what a true gift this is lol). But I’ll certainly make it again and send you the link! It was spectacular, as I’m sure yours was! 🙂

  3. I did some digging yesterday, not just weeding. Oh, boy, did I need my Tylenol! I know exactly what you were saying. I would have loved to have a couple glasses of citrus-ade to keep me hydrated and feeling fresh. Looks just so refreshing and cooling. Yum, Prudy!

  4. Looks fantastic. So cool and refreshing. I want to sit on your porch with you and enjoy a nice glass of citrus-ade! Tell me about the weeds…I have some serious work to do outside. My back yard is perfect because I have double glass doors off the kitchen that open up to it and I’m a bit obsessed with making it beautiful. The front..different story. I like the idea of just letting it go to weeds, however, my pride gets in the way. Lovely post Prudy. Your photographs are seriously beautiful. Especially that pour shot!

    • Seana…I would be so happy to have you sitting on the porch enjoying a glass! I had to laugh about your back yard….I do the same thing! I focus on where I spend most of my time, rather than the front where everyone can see! I think I might get some landscaping done after we finish the kitchen, because that’s where we will be putting a new window… in the front, and then the landscaping can be done. But until then, I’ll have a prettier back yard! 🙂 Thank you so much. It’s about a six hour flight from your house to mine… just sayin’. ❤

  5. The drink looks refreshing, strawberries are everywhere a beautiful garnish…oh yea you have become quite the story teller….should I be worried

  6. LOL Prudy!! My remedy for the weeding aches and pains is Advil! I can so relate to your story!! I love to garden, but my body makes me pay for it too! Your citrus- ade is perfect for this time of year! Such inspiring photographs too! 😀

  7. This citrus-ade sounds wonderfully refreshing Prudy! I can picture you sipping it after a long day of weeding! I just recently started gardening and still remember how sore my body was after I planted the flowers. Way to go on the weeds!

  8. This reminds me I need to starting weeding my pathetic little garden! First, I’m going to make some citrus ade, so I can have it ready for the post-weeding session. 🙂 Lovely photos, as always, Prudy.

  9. Omg Purdy, I’m so thirsty with all the yard work and staining. A tall glass of this would be perfect! I tell you what, I weed your garden I’d you stain my deck, and we’ll drink this and eat turkey burgers on the charcoal grill.

  10. Pingback: Watermelon Citrus-Ade with Frozen Kiwi Balls | PeanutButter and Onion

Leave a Reply

