100th Post Celebration with Chocolate Swirl Ice Cream Sodas!!

IMG_0907Well…here we are.

100 posts.

I know that so many people have hit this milestone a long time ago…and have gone above and beyond already….but I still feel the need to celebrate my 100th post…with you…because it’s you who have helped me get to this point in my blog…

When I started this blog, I wondered what it would be like when I reached 100 posts. I wondered how long it would take to hit 100, I wondered if I’d even make it this far, and most importantly, I wondered how many people I would meet along the way…

And, boy oh boy… did I meet people! So many wonderful people…so many new friends!

IMG_0920

I’ve learned one very important thing along the way… that this blog really isn’t about me. It’s about you. I reached out, and you took my hand and walked down this path with me. With your kind encouragement, and sometimes friendly critique, you’ve helped me to learn and grow. So now, when I prepare a recipe, or write a post, it’s always with you in mind..

So this celebration is for you…
To you, wonderful readers…I am forever thankful.
It is because of you, I’m here.

And it’s because of you, that I plan on 100 more posts, and 100 more posts after that, and even 100 more posts after that… I still have so much to learn…and so much more growing to do… and I look forward to doing just that…. with you.

IMG_0922

So, you’re probably thinking…”Why on earth would you celebrate with ice cream sodas, when you could have made cake, or cupcakes, or something like that??”

Well…first of all…..you know full well that I can’t bake to save my life…. and second…there are actually a couple of things going on today…not only is today my 100th post, but it’s also National Ice Cream Soda Day, and it’s Fiesta Friday!

So what better way to celebrate, than with Ice Cream Sodas, on National Ice Cream Soda Day?! And what better party than Angie’s Fiesta Friday to celebrate this milestone?

There is no better way!

IMG_0895

The ice cream soda, (float, snowball, or spider) was invented in 1874 by Robert McCay Green, who owned a small soda fountain in Philadelphia. There are a couple of different stories behind his creation. The first is that his big selling cream sodas were selling quickly on a warm summer’s day, and he ran out of cream. In order to meet the demand of his customers, he used ice cream in place of the cream, and it became a big hit!

The second story that I found was that Mr. Green’s soda fountain couldn’t compete with the larger soda fountains down the road, so he came up with this new concoction to pull some of the competition’s customers to his shop. He succeeded, but for a short timeframe, because his competitors started serving ice cream sodas soon after!

IMG_0913

Fast forward about 30+ years, to when there was a ban placed on ice cream sodas because prohibitionists were working really hard to sober the country up, so they started with Sundays and Holy Days. It was believed that soda contained medicinal ingredients, containing what we now consider controlled or illegal substances such as cocaine, cannibus, and opium.. which they placed in the same category as booze. Because booze couldn’t be consumed on a Sunday.. well, then neither could ice cream sodas.  So what did they do?  They served the ice cream sodas without the soda, and that’s when the ice cream sundae was born!

People had no idea that they were actually getting high, they just thought that soda was a great medicinal tonic that was good for them, because it made them feel good!

Reality was, they were hooked on narcotics.

Druggies.
Junkies.
Victorian Smackheads.

IMG_0940

My ice cream sodas don’t contain any narcotics of any kind. Just fresh ingredients that I can’t promise make a healthy ice cream soda, but they do make a wholesome one.

They’re a special treat once in a while… a refreshing drink that you eat with a spoon! The next time you decide to treat yourself to an ice cream soda, think of me while you’re enjoying it…knowing that I thought of you when I wrote this post.

A special thank you to Angie, our beautiful host of Fiesta Friday….and to Julianna from Foodie  on Board, and Elaine from Foodbod for co-hosting this great event!  I hope that you stop by, and if you are a blogger…then please…link up with us!  We welcome you to our party!!  It’s always a great time…and I’m always blown away by the wonderful things that everyone brings to the table!  Click here to go to the party!

Thank you for 100 posts of pure bliss… I look forward to the next 100…

Life is good, it’s a “Celebrating 100 posts with my wonderful readers” kind of good…

IMG_0941

Chocolate Swirl Ice Cream Sodas
Serves Four

Just a quick note: If you are planning on making homemade ice cream, then plan for it! Make the ice cream early in the morning so that you have enough time to cool the custard and churn the ice cream!

Vanilla Ice Cream (Recipe below)
Hot Fudge Sauce (Recipe below)
1 liter Club Soda
Whipped Cream
Sprinkles (Not optional. Necessary. This is a fun drink, for goodness sake!)
Maraschino Cherries (Again. Not optional. Necessary. Let your hair down, man!)

Brown Eyed Baker’s Vanilla Ice Cream:

Another quick note: The best homemade vanilla ice cream recipe, hands down, is the one that I found on Brown Eyed Baker’s blog. It’s foolproof, and it’s delicious! This is Michelle’s recipe, copied from her blog…and…this recipe makes the perfect amount for four ice cream sodas.

1 cup whole milk
¾ cup granulated sugar
2 cups heavy cream, divided
Pinch of salt
1 vanilla bean, split in half lengthwise
6 egg yolks
¾ teaspoon vanilla extract

1. Warm the milk, sugar, 1 cup of the heavy cream and the salt in a medium saucepan over low heat, stirring until the sugar is dissolved. Scrape the seeds from the vanilla bean into the milk mixture and add the bean to the mixture as well. Cover, remove from the heat and let steep at room temperature for 30 minutes.

2. Pour the remaining 1 cup heavy cream into a large bowl and place a fine-mesh sieve on top. Whisk the egg yolks in a medium bowl. Slowly pour the warmed milk mixture into the egg yolks, whisking constantly. Scrape the mixture back into the saucepan.

3. Place the saucepan over medium heat and stir constantly with a rubber spatula, being sure to scrape the bottom of the pan as you stir, until the mixture thickens and coats the back of the spatula, a few minutes. The mixture should register 170 to 175 degrees F on an instant-read digital thermometer.

4. Pour the custard through the fine-mesh sieve and stir it into the cream. Place the vanilla bean into the custard, stir in the vanilla extract, and place the bowl over an ice bath. Stir occasionally, until the mixture is cool. Cover and transfer the custard to the refrigerator until completely chilled, at least 8 hours or overnight.

5. When ready to churn the ice cream, remove the vanilla bean from the custard and freeze the mixture in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions. Transfer to a freezer-safe container and store in the freezer.

Hot Fudge Sauce:

This recipe is one that I have written on an index card in my recipe box.  I don’t know where it came from, or how long I’ve had it.  I just know that it’s well used, one of those tattered and stained recipe cards!  It’s so easy, and so delicious!

1 cup chocolate chips
1 can sweetened condensed milk
1 stick butter

Melt the butter in a small saucepan. Add the chocolate chips, and stir until melted. Add the sweetened condensed milk. Whisk until combined, and cook on low for a couple of minutes. Remove from heat, and store in a glass jar in the refrigerator for up to four weeks.

Assemble the Ice Cream Sodas:
Add about 1/4 cup of the hot fudge sauce into the bottom of four tall glasses.  Using a fork, start whisking the hot fudge in the glass, while pouring the club soda into the glass, until it’s about 2/3’s of the way filled.  Add two scoops of vanilla ice cream on top of the soda (yes, it will sink).  Top it off with another dollop of hot fudge sauce, and whipped cream (yes, the whipped cream will float on top!).

Garnish with more hot fudge sauce, sprinkles, and a cherry on top!

Enjoy!

IMG_0941

96 thoughts on “100th Post Celebration with Chocolate Swirl Ice Cream Sodas!!

  1. SUPER FESTIVE! What a great post to celebrate your special milestone! You have all the right to celebrate, it means you are having FUN with the blog, paying attention to its path, and savoring each phase… that is so cool!

    Congrats, and here is to the next 100!!!!

  2. Congratulations Prudence, I’m so glad that each day brings you closer to all the goals that you set when started your blog….ice cream sodas WOW!!! 🎉 much success with all you do ! I can’t wait to see what you do next 😁

  3. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #21 | The Novice Gardener

  4. Congratulations, Prudy. I’m so happy for you in reaching this milestone. It’s a big deal. (10 posts away from 100 myself). Thanks for bringing these sodas to FF too, they look wonderful 🙂

    • Thank you so much Jess… I felt like it was a big deal too. Thank you so much for all of your kind words and encouragement…it means so much to me. It truly does. ❤ That's so great! I can't wait to see what you do for number 100! ❤ I know that it will be spectacular…because that's all you know how to be. xoxo

  5. I so enjoy you and your blog Prudy! Yay for 100 posts! Ice cream soda! Can’t think of a better thing to bring this summer to FF! I am so thirsty just thinking about it! 🙂

  6. Ice cream soda with home made ice cream? You sure know how to celebrate in style! Here’s to the next 100 posts Prudy, it’s been wonderful following your journey so far. 😀

  7. Congrats on 100 posts!! These ice cream sodas look marvelous, and I enjoyed reading the various stories/versions of the history of ice cream sodas and sundaes. This also made me realize…I don’t think I’ve actually ever *had* an ice cream soda!

    • Thank you so much! I found it to be interesting…that people were being drugged and didn’t even know it! But then I think that the druggists probably didn’t know the extent to which they were drugging the customers. Most druggists didn’t even need any schooling…Pretty scary! I hope you try an ice cream soda soon! They’re pretty good! ❤

  8. “Druggies. Junkies. Victorian Smackheads.” hahahaha! Congrats on the 100th post. I just recently made it over that hump too and was in disbelief that I made it that far. Keep on writing, sharing, and learning 🙂

    • Haha!! I wondered if anyone would actually read this… thank you so much. I was cracking myself up when I was writing that… not making fun, or making light of those people who are struggling with drug abuse today… not at all. I hope people don’t take that the wrong way! Just hard to imagine people back in those days using drugs. It’s hard to wrap my brain around it. ❤ Thank you so much..

  9. Happy 100th post, Prudy! Those ice cream sodas look fantastic and refreshing. I love the story/history of the soda — it’s hilarious! But what more do you need in an ice cream soda than all these delicious ingredients? I don’t need anything else, except for an extra dash of hot fudge! Wishing you 100 more happy posts and a great fiesta Friday!

    • Thank you so much Ngan. I truly appreciate your kindness and support over these last few months.. it means so much to me. ❤ Haha, isn't that crazy? I guess it just goes to show you that things weren't so innocent even back in the Victorian age! ❤

  10. Wow Prudy! This 100th post is a complete party unto itself! You have fed us, told us stories, made us laugh and made us sentimental! You are a star, my dear! A very bright light at our party! Not only that, but you made your own ice-cream and hot fudge sauce? You have outdone yourself! Well, congratulations on your 100th post! Some of us still have that goal to look forward to and you to inspire us to get there! Here’s to you and all you do for the blogosphere! ❤

  11. Lovely Prudy, congratulations on your 100th post 🎉🎉 your posts are all wonderful, and nows there’s 100 of them for us all to read 🙂 🙂 I love the background as well as the outcome, your ice cream sodas look amazing, and I absolutely agree with everything you’ve said about blogging, it’s a goat you never expected to receive isn’t it? Have a great weekend babe xxx

    • Thank you so much, Carrie! Ahh… then we have something in common, kind of, but not really… I’m a history nerd, but pretty much only retain the useless knowledge, like strung out people from the victorian age! I so appreciate your support and encouragement… it means so much to me… truly. ❤

    • Judi…thank you so much. I so appreciate all of your support and encouragement these last few months…I can’t begin to tell you how much it means to me! I feel like you have it all together…and I’m totally overwhelmed with balancing blog life and life life….so I always appreciate your comments and support! ❤

  12. Prudy, darling, I’m so honored you decided to celebrate your 100th post with us at Fiesta Friday! I happened to have a bad day today at work, and I was complaining to Elaine about it, but now I don’t feel so bad anymore. Between your ice cream sodas and Elaine’s goat, I pretty much got myself happy again. So, thank you, thank you! 🙂 🙂 I LOVE ice cream sodas and yours are the BEST, THE BEST! And from now on, I will also love goats! Lol… Congratulations on reaching the milestone, BBF (Blogger Buddies Forever).

  13. Belated congratulations! Apparently I’ve become a binge blogger – catching up all at once. This post really caught my eye. I’m trying to cut back but narcotics or not I am now CRAVING one a chocolate soda. And can you believe – I’ve never actually had one. Time to rectify that! I’m so glad to be part of your blogging world. ❤

Leave a Reply

