Layered Peach Rice Pudding

IMG_0599

A couple of months ago, I had Jessica run to my beloved Wegmans for me to pick up a few groceries. One of the items on my list was a bag of rice.

Ok.
It was my fault.
I didn’t specify.
Jessica came home with a 10 pound bag of rice.

Yes.
10 pounds.
Of rice.

Well, in her defense… I did say “bag” of rice.

What does one do with 10 pounds of rice?
Well…one cooks it.
And cooks it…
Aaaannd…cooks it.

I laughed, of course, and started cooking rice….and have been cooking it ever since. I’m almost down to the end of it; and I surprised myself at how quickly I actually did use it up!

Much to my son Michael’s dismay, I made rice quite often as a side for dinner. He’s not a fan. In fact, he hates it. (I know…there’s a surprise….)

IMG_0617

I also made quite a bit of rice pudding. Jessica loves it, and so do I. It’s definitely a wonderful dessert; or a little snack for the evening…. But I find myself taking a little container of it to work for lunch…or grabbing a few spoonfuls for dinner.

I think that a lot of people underestimate rice pudding. There isn’t much you can do to it to make it pretty. So it’s a dessert that many people might not serve to their guests simply for aesthetic reasons.

It’s boring.
I mean, let’s face it…if you’re not a fan, then rice pudding can be very boring.
I totally get that.
But I also get that those people are totally missing out on a very delicious dessert.

IMG_0583

So, I’m going to be that person. I’m going to be the one that serves rice pudding to her guests… and with confidence….because I know that they’re going to love it. I’m going to pretty it up a little, and serve it with fresh peach jam, and fresh peaches on top…all layered on top of a graham cracker crust.

Delicious.
A perfect summertime dessert that even the “non-rice pudding fans” will even love.

Except for Mike. He still hates it.

IMG_0605

I’m bringing my Peach Rice Pudding to Angie’s Fiesta Friday to share with all of you. I hope you love it as much as Jessica and I do!

We have reached a milestone at Fiesta Friday! It is our 20th week! And this week, we have two larger than life bloggers co-hosting the party! The lovely Suzanne from APugintheKitchen,  brought an ice cream cake to the party.  I mean seriously… she made an ice cream cake!!  And the lovely Fae from Fae’s Twist and Tango made Nazouk  which is an Armenian Pastry ! I know, right? Beautiful!!  I am so looking forward to this….I know that they’ll make this party memorable!  As for Angie… Everyone loves Angie!  She’s polished. She’s sophisticated.  She’s hilarious…and she’s the kindest host you’ll ever want to meet.  A special thank you to Angie, Suzanne, and Fae for hosting this milestone event!

If you have never visited Fiesta Friday, I hope that you do stop by to see what everyone has to offer…there’s always something delicious cooking from so many people from all around the world! If you are a blogger..or new to blogging, please feel free to link up with us! This is a great way to meet other bloggers, and gain more exposure! We are always happy to welcome new people into the mix!  Just click here  to get there!!

Life is good, it’s a “You can never have too much rice in the pantry” kind of good…

IMG_0587

Layered Peach Rice Pudding
Eight 5oz Servings with a Whole Lotta Rice Pudding Left Over

This is my mom’s recipe for rice pudding. It’s one of those recipes that comes from a telephone call, that really had no measurements …. “Mom, how do I make rice pudding?” … “Oh, throw some rice in the pan, throw some milk on top, throw a can of sweetened condensed milk in….” It took me a while to learn how to make a decent rice pudding… but I do have to say that it’s never as good as my mom’s. She makes it the best.

3 cups cooked long grain white rice
1 quart whole milk
1 – 14 oz can sweetened condensed milk
¼ tsp cinnamon
¼ tsp salt
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla

In a medium saucepan, mix the white rice, the milk, sweetened condensed milk, cinnamon, and salt. When it comes to a boil, reduce the heat to low, and simmer gently, stirring frequently so that it doesn’t brown on the bottom. A browned bottom means brown flecks all throughout your pudding. It’s still edible, just not pretty. Cook until it has thickened.

There really is no time frame for me to tell you exactly how long to cook this. It takes a good hour or so to thicken, maybe to a runny yogurt consistency. Remember that the rice will continue to absorb the liquid, so you don’t want it too thick, or it will dry out. I have found a quick remedy to dried rice pudding… just stir some heavy cream in until it becomes the thickness you desire!

While the rice mixture is simmering, crack the egg into a bowl, and whisk it with a fork. Once the rice mixture has thickened, remove it from the heat, and you’ll want to temper the egg before you add it to the saucepan. Add about a cup of the hot rice mixture to the bowl with the whisked egg, and stir it quickly so that the egg doesn’t cook from the hot mixture….and then add the egg mixture to the rest of the rice mixture in the saucepan. Stir it until it is well blended. Add the vanilla, and stir until blended.

Pour into a large bowl, cover with plastic wrap, and refrigerate. Serve when cooled.

Peach Jam:
2 cups fresh peaches, peeled and diced
1/3 cup granulated sugar
2/3 cup water
1-1/2 tsp lemon juice

Cook the peaches, sugar, water, and lemon juice in a small sauce pan over low heat until the peaches have broken down, and thickened. This doesn’t take long…about ½ hour. Remove from heat, and refrigerate until ready to use.

Fresh Peach Garnish:
1 peach, skin on, diced
1-2 tsp granulated sugar

Mix the peaches and sugar in a small bowl. Refrigerate until ready to use.

Graham Cracker Crust:
1 cup graham cracker crumbs
3 tbsp melted butter
1 tbsp sugar

Mix the graham cracker crumbs, melted butter, and sugar in a bowl until well blended. Set aside.

Assemble the Dessert:

Add 2 tablespoons of graham cracker crumbs to the bottom of each glass.
Layer 2 tablespoons of peach jam on top of the graham cracker crust.
Fill with rice pudding to the top of the glass.
Garnish with fresh peaches.

Refrigerate until ready to serve. Enjoy!!

IMG_0592

100 thoughts on “Layered Peach Rice Pudding

  1. I really love rice pudding and yours looks wonderful with the peaches and graham cracker crust. It’s funny because I don’t really like rice all that much (probably because I don’t know how to make it very well). But rice pudding reminds me of ice cream, just not quite as cold. By the way, I have a Jessica, too! Thanks for sharing your yummy rice pudding recipe. It is definitely pretty enough to serve company!

  2. What gorgeous clicks Prudy! Simply gorgeous! A great presentation combining it with peach jam and fresh peaches on top.
    The Indianized version of this rice pudding, also called kheer, is made with saffron, cardamom, nutmeg and topped with nuts.
    Have to try the fruit version with vanilla.

  3. Hey! It’s like a cheesecake but with rice pudding and peaches, and in a nice single serving glass. Aren’t some of THE best recipes the ones Mom reads to you over the phone?! This is great for right now . . . peach season! Thanks to my former co-host . . . have a wonderful weekend!

  4. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #20 | The Novice Gardener

  5. I’ve actually never had rice pudding Prudy, but I love the flavors that are in yours. I also love the layering of the creamy pudding with the graham crackers- great varying textures. Thanks for bringing this to the party 🙂

  6. Oh, how funny that your daughter would pick up a 10lb bag of rice from the store! I love that! I’ve always wondered who buys those big bags and now I know ; ) Your rice puds look so pretty – my son is a big fan so I will give it a go but I won’t be sending him out to get the rice…xxx

    • Haha Selma! I know..I’ve always wondered who would buy those big bags too! I have to say though, it’s been nice having so much rice in the house. I never run out… my bag runneth over!! 🙂 ❤ Definitely go buy the rice yourself!! I hope you do try it, let me know what you and your son think! Then have him call my son… 🙂

  7. My son is the same way, he’s not fond of rice at all. This is such a delicious recipe, definitely saving this one to make very soon! Happy Fiesta Friday! 🙂

  8. How can anyone not like rice?! Actually, a fair number of my cousins don’t, which has always been a puzzlement to me – my mom used to buy 50 pound bags at Costco when I was growing up! Somehow, though, I’ve never actually had rice pudding. This looks delicious – I’ll have to give it a try!

  9. I’m a fan – of yours, rice, and the pudding! I’d love this rice pudding – I love anything with sweetened condensed milk in it. If only it weren’t for the ten damn pounds I’ve put on in the last 10 months…. argh. xo

    • Lol… you and me both. It seems that since I’ve started this blog, I’m carrying a few extra pounds around…and then I tend to gain weight in the summer (my favorite food season!), so I’m in big trouble…or my hips are in big trouble!! Thank you so much Lindy.. xo ❤

  10. This rice pudding is far from boring, Prudy! Love the layers. 🙂 It’s wonderful how a few simple additions can elevate a humble dish. Your version not only sounds delicious, it’s beautiful too!

  11. Excellent idea Prudy to do a layered dessert with the rice pudding using fruits and a graham cracker crust! Very creative! Btw, a 10 lb bag of rice in my house lasts for less than a month! 🙂 Yes we are ‘rice and fish eaters! 🙂

  12. I love the way you tarted up the rice pudding, it’s a glamour dish now! Beautiful. I always buy basmati rice in 10kg bags, that’s 20lb. It never goes off and there are an infinite number of ways to make delicious sweet and savoury dishes from every culture in the world.

    • Thank you so much… Well..I think I’m going to have to rethink the amount of rice I purchase from now on!! I have to admit, that while it seems overwhelming to have so much rice at once, I really loved having it available whenever I needed it! ❤

  13. Well my my, Trudy. I leave you alone for a few weeks and I come back to more beautiful posts, increasingly delicious looking desserts and great stories! I should go away more often 🙂

  14. Your clever combination of flavours intrigues me! I love rice pudding. And peaches. And rice. Ten pounds actually doesn’t last that long in our family of six. I used to eat it every day in Vietnam and China, and I still could. 🙂

    • Thank you so much! I’m actually finding out that ten pounds of rice isn’t all that uncommon!! To be honest, I liked having that much rice in the house. It was always there when I needed it, and I enjoyed the different dishes that I could use it in. I wouldn’t be surprised if when the time comes, that I buy another 10 pound bag! ❤

  15. If I wasn’t a fan of rice pudding before, I would definitely be the minute I taste this. How could you not? The fresh peaches, jam, graham crackers, are all such ingenious additions to the plain and, according to Mike, boring rice pudding. It just looks so beautiful, Prudy! You’ve managed to elevate rice pudding into haute cuisine. Only you can do that! ❤

    • I know, right? How can anyone not like rice? If Mike didn’t look so much like me, I’d almost have to question if he might have been switched at birth!! Hahaha!! I can’t believe that any child of mine would be so fussy about food!! Thank you so much Margherita!! ❤

  16. Rice pudding, is always a favorite of mine…I love the assembly of this dessert..just wondering if I’ll be hungry for more in an hour…nice job😁

  17. You have successfully made rice pudding look gorgeous! I love putting layered desserts in individual glasses. It’s dangerous having spare rice pudding in the fridge though, it’s so easy to dip in and out of as the day goes on! Also, your flowers are so pretty 🙂

    • Thank you so much Gab! I like to use little individual glasses too… 🙂
      Haha! You’re not kidding about the extra rice pudding in the fridge!! It’s just like having a pan of brownies sitting on the stove, and every time you walk by, you grab “a sliver” and before you know it, half the pan of brownies is gone!! 🙂

  18. wow this sounds so good, and looks just as good too! I love it but I’ve never made rice pudding before, I think you may have just inspired me to give it a go!

  19. Good on you for advocating for rice pudding. I have actually never eaten it – maybe because it doesn’t look great and we didn’t have it growing up. I love recipes that you get over the phone though and I am tempted to try it though I should probably try it once before attempting to make it…

    • Thank you so much… My mom was the rice pudding guru, and her pudding was a highly requested dish for parties and such, and since I come from a very large Italian family, there were a lot of parties! So we had it a lot! I think you should definitely try rice pudding… I highly suggest adding fresh peaches, strawberries, raspberries…etc. 🙂 If you do try it, let me know what you think!

  20. I wonder when I will be able to present my foods like this, Prudy. You are so good in styling your meals/foods – very good photography skills. And I could use one of these enticing pudding. 😀

    • Oh my goodness…my little love… you do present your foods so beautifully… I always admire your photos!! I struggle with photography. I spend so much time reading photography books, and asking for critique from everyone!! And if you were here…I’d make you some of this pudding. ❤ xoxo

      I should add that Selma gave me some excellent advice not too long ago…she said that she sets the whole prop up before the food is actually ready, and puts some “dummy” dishes out, and takes photos, so that she can actually see what it’s going to look like…and then rearranges it all to her liking, so that when the food is ready, the props are too!! I’ve been doing that ever since, and it really is a tremendous help!! ❤

      • Hmm, nice tip, Prudy. I will try that next time. And thank you so much for admiring my photos, too. 😀 So glad that someone appreciates the little effort you put in your photoshoot. 😀 ❤

  21. I must confess I’m much like your Michael – childhood trauma in my case, I think. But I don’t think the rice puddings I ate were ever made with condensed milk. Everything is better with condensed milk 😉 So maybe I’ll muster up the courage yo try it again.

    • I hope you do muster up the courage… and I agree, I’ve had rice pudding made with just milk, and to me, it is definitely lacking something. The sweetened condensed milk gives it a creamy sweetness that goes so well with the rice. If you do make it, let me know what you think!! ❤

Leave a Reply

