It’s Fiesta Friday #19, and I’m Co-Hosting and Bringing My Smoked Baby Back Ribs!

IMG_1834

I’ve been looking forward to this Fiesta Friday #19, because I have the honor of co-hosting this week with the lovely Sue O’Bryan from Birgerbird! I’m thrilled to be co-hosting with Sue… she’s such a sweet, sweet girl, and the recipes and stories that she shares are always delightful!

A special thank you to Angie for hosting Fiesta Friday; and I cannot believe that we are at week number 19 already!! How time flies when we’re having fun, and Angie certainly knows how to put on a fabulously fun party! I hope that you’ll stop by and see all of the delicious recipes that everyone has brought to the table this week!

….AND….If you are a blogger and haven’t had the chance to link up, now is the time! If you are new to this party, or even new to blogging…we welcome you to join us! It is a wonderful way to meet other blogger friends, and gain exposure and views! Please feel free to contact me, Sue, or Angie if you have any questions! We are here to help, and look forward to meeting you!!

Please be sure to link your posts to Angie’s blog, as well as my blog so that we know that you have arrived! It’s as simple as clicking on the “Click to Join” button right here…

fiesta-friday-badge-button-click-to-join1

So, I have been working on mastering the art of smoking. Like I mentioned the other day….not the nicotine or cannabis type… but the art of taking a beautiful cut of meat, and rubbing glorious spices all over it, and placing it in a box in which wood burns and smokes to create a most delectable and juicy inside, but yet that crispy black bark on the outside that we all adore.

I am by no means a certified professional smoker. When it comes to the art of charcuterie…well…let’s just say I’m no Picasso. Far from it. But I’m learning.

It has taken a good year to figure out how to properly smoke baby back ribs. Ok, I use the word “properly”, but maybe I should just say that I figured out what works the best for me when it comes to smoking ribs.

IMG_1836

I have spent so much time researching and reading up on rubs and smoking, you’d think that I’d know what I was doing by now, but there is no doubt that it takes patience and a little bit of experience to get it perfect.

Low and slow.
Nope.
That just cooks shoe leather.

185° for “x” amount of hours… That’s what everybody says. And that truly did not work for me. I don’t know if it’s the smoker that I use, but every piece of meat that I tried that method on, dried out. Maybe I kept it in too long. I tried the method of smoking it for 6 hours, and then wrapping it in plastic wrap, and then again in foil, and throwing it in the oven for another 2 hours. It burned.

IMG_1831

And then finally, I stumbled upon this 3-2-1 method. If you Google 3-2-1, a ton of links will pop up. It works, it really, really works!! Rub the piece of meat with spices, and smoke it at 225° for three hours. Wrap it in foil; throw it back in the smoker at 225° for two more hours. Remove the foil, slather it with barbecue sauce and place it back in the smoker at 225° for one last hour. I don’t know if it’s because I’ve become really comfortable with this method or what, but it seems to me that this is the easiest method that I’ve ever tried (aside from leaving it in the smoker for hours and hours, only for it to become shoe leather!).

IMG_1832

As for the rub, I’m sharing mine with you, but you’ll find that you probably change it up to suit your taste. I tend to like mine sweet, and a little on the spicy side. It’s a simple rub, but does the trick.

If you are thinking about buying a smoker, I highly recommend it. I went back and forth for the longest time, unsure if I’d really use it….would it be one of those things that I buy, but ends up sitting in the back of the garage filled with junk? I can promise you, I use mine all the time. It’s right at the front of the garage, ready to go whenever I’m ready! ..And clean up isn’t as bad as I thought it would be… it isn’t instant clean up, but I soak the racks overnight, and by the next morning, everything just washes right off! Trust me, I think everyone who owns a smoker, will attest that it’s one of the best things that they ever bought.

While I finally feel confident in smoking baby backs, and sharing them with you… there is still so much that I have to learn… brisket being my next challenge! So, stay tuned!!

I’m taking these ribs to Angie’s Fiesta Friday to meet up with Sue, and welcome everyone who has brought something to our table. I hope to see you there!

Life is good…it’s a “Friends getting together, sharing and laughing, and meeting new friends… just a happy and fun time” kind of good..

IMG_1825

Smoked Baby Back Ribs
Six Really Generous Portions

Just a quick Note: The recipe for the rub is just the right amount for three racks of baby backs. Adjust it accordingly to the amount of ribs you will be making.

Plan on preparing the ribs the night before you’re going to smoke them. You will need jumbo zipper disposable plastic bags to brine them in.

The Night Before:
3 racks baby back ribs
3 cans Coke, Pepsi, Dr. Pepper, or Root Beer
Your favorite flavor wood chips. I tend to use Apple, Jack Daniels, Cherry, or Maple

Remove the ribs from their packaging. On the back of each rack, you’ll find a silver membrane that you’ll want to remove. You don’t have to, but you’ll find it more of a yucky inconvenience if you don’t. Been there. Done that.

Take a sharp knife, and beginning at one end of the rack, slice just beneath the membrane so that you can get your fingers underneath it. Once you do that, you’ll be able to peel it away from the ribs with your fingers. Just continue to work it up until you’ve removed the whole thing. It’s pretty easy to do.

Once you have the membranes removed, cut the ribs in half, by finding the middle, and cutting in between the bone. Place the rib halves into the jumbo plastic bag, and place the bag in a very large bowl (just in case it decides to leak, you won’t have a huge mess all over your fridge!). Pour the three cans of pop or soda, (Yes, I say pop, I’m a Western NY girl) over the ribs. Seal the bag, and refrigerate overnight.

In the morning, prepare your smoker per manufacturer instructions and heat it to 225°. Remove the ribs from the brine. Discard the brine. Generously rub the spices all over the rib halves, and place on the racks of the smoker. Add the wood chips to the smoker per the manufacturer instructions. Close the smoker, and leave it for 3 hours. Continue to add wood chips as often as the instructions indicate.

After 3 hours, remove the ribs from the smoker and wrap each one in foil. Place the foil wrapped ribs back into the smoker, and leave for 2 hours.

After the 2 hours, remove the foil wrapped ribs from the smoker, and remove the foil. Generously slather your favorite barbecue sauce all over the ribs, and place the ribs back into the smoker for one last hour. Continue to add the wood chips as the instructions indicate.

After that last hour, the ribs will be absolutely juicy, fall off the bone perfect!!

Serve immediately with your favorite picnic sides, such as this German Potato Salad, these potato chips, and these Buffalo Chicken Deviled Eggs!

The Rub:
1 cup brown sugar
1 tbsp garlic powder
1 tbsp black pepper
1 tbsp paprika
2 tsp salt
3 tsp ground mustard
¼ tsp cayenne

Blend the brown sugar, and all of the spices together until combined. Generously rub all over ribs. This is delicious for any type of meat that you plan to smoke!

Enjoy!!

IMG_1836

99 thoughts on “It’s Fiesta Friday #19, and I’m Co-Hosting and Bringing My Smoked Baby Back Ribs!

  1. oh Prudy, dear Prudy, what must I do to entice you to visit me here in Swizerland and to bring your smoker and make me ribs???? they look so amazing – luscious on the inside, crunchy on the outside – what devastation I feel at not being able to grab them off the screen – Poli

  2. So happy to see you hosting and those ribs look amazing. I am also bringing ribs, I saw your post and was like OH WOW those look great but then oh no, I’m bringing ribs also. Mine are a little different so I think it will be fine. Your ribs look fall off the bone tender and moist,

  3. Wow, now I’m the one that needs to propose. Ribs are my all time (since childhood) favorite thing, I have perfected my favorite but am now convinced to buy a smoker and try these. Hats off to ya!

  4. I would take one of the six portions, Prudy!!! This is sooo good!!! I am thrilled to know that you are co-hosting with Sue! Enjoy and happy FF19! 🙂

  5. I want, I want, I want! This looks delicious, Prudy. If this were a real party and you brought these ribs, there will be a fistfight for the first and last bites! YUM. I love the low and slow method, but have also done something similar to the 3-2-1 method; I found both worked well, but I have never heard of wrapping it in clear wrap and then foil – that sounds dangerous to stick that in the oven!

  6. Thanks for co-hosting this week, Prudy! I am such a rib lover and your recipe is amazing. Thanks for sharing your tips on using a smoker, too. Happy Fiesta Friday! 🙂

  7. Hi Prudy, these look amazing, the pop marinade is very interesting, I bet it makes this so tasty and then they are smoked. Oh my goodness my husband would go gaga over the this. Happy week-end!

  8. Yeah ribs!!! Cool!! Brilliant thing to bring to the party! Cooking meat with soda really works.. Full fat though!! I agree with your method also.. I attended the national pork bbq championships in Washington, D.C. Once.. The winner used a method not far from yours I think.. Oh! And I got to get into the wiener mobeele .. Cool huh? Happy fiesta!

  9. Looks amazing! You’ve really mastered it ☺️ I know I’m vegetarian but I can still appreciate what you’ve created 😀 enjoy Fiesta Friday, you and Sue will have great fun xx

  10. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #19 | The Novice Gardener

  11. Prudy…. Oh my goodness, Prudy! These look so fabulous. My stomach growled and my eyes popped out of my head when I clicked on the post. These look so good!!!! Please serve me up a few, and accept my entire life savings for another rack!

  12. Is it not a weird coincidence that I was #45 and you #46? This plate has everything I want right now but cannot have (tooth surgery): sticky messy chewy ribs, cruncy potato chips, and ice cold sparkling Pellegrino. Plus an orange napkin — my favorite color. I suppose I will have to pack a few ribs for the road. Delicious! Hope you are having fun at the party and you have been a fantastic co-host!

  13. Thank you so much for co-hosting the fiesta this week! I look forward to FF each week. The rub sounds delicious, and I’ll be sure to check back for more advice on how to smoke ribs later. Thanks for sharing, and have a wonderful weekend! 🙂

    • Thank you so much Kaila! I had a great time co-hosting with Sue! I look forward to FF each week too…and I’m actually getting better at preparing for it! I’m always the one that comes walking in late, after everyone has already eaten!! 🙂 It’s so nice to meet you… I look forward to catching up with you.. 🙂

  14. Wow. This is impressive. All of it! Must feel great to know you can turn out such a meal fit for kings, and you are masterly with the smoker. All your research and time has surely paid off because this is finger licking/lip smacking good, I can tell! 🙂 Nice to see you are having warm weather too, lovely photographs! Absolutely perfect!

  15. Ugh, of course you’re co-hosting on a week I can’t make it to the party. 😦 Your ribs [well not YOURS of course…some little piggy’s] look absolutely perfect! We love using a smoker for all things bbq, and from the photos you’ve shared, it appears you’re a a real pro! Do I spy a deviled egg on that plate too? Ugh…you’re killing me here! 🙂

  16. I’m going to say what I said to Suzanne, OMG! I’m partial to ribs myself. The grilling and the smoking are usually left for the grill master to attend to, but your simple and easy-to-remember method convinces me that I can do this. Nice one to bring to the fiesta, Prudy. I’m actually drooling right now. Yes, and it’s almost 11 pm. Your intro, btw, is perfect. A model co-host post! You’re the co-hostess with the mostess. ❤

    • Haha! Isn’t it funny that Suzanne and I both brought ribs?! I have to say that Suzanne’s looked fabulous…She definitely made me hungry for ribs again! Thank you so much Angie…for the opportunity to co-host with Sue. We had a lovely time…and I hope that you think of us again sometime! ❤

  17. Wow, smoked baby back ribs, absolutely marvelous. Thank you for co-hosting FF#19. As the number of participants have grown with such fabulous recipes, making the rounds ia taking me all day! 😀 )))

  18. Well, Prudy, our hostess with the Most-ess! I am in awe that you would take on a smoker. I say to heck with the virtual party! Let’s have a real party, because I want to try these ribs right now…but since we are in virtual mode, thanks so much for hosting us tonight. You and Sue are awesome! 🙂 Still… I can’t wait to try these ribs…

  19. Prudy, I really like how you prepared your smoked ribs, it looks delectable and perfect with potatoes on the side. It’s nice to see you at Fiesta Friday, thank you for co-hosting again:)

  20. Oh my! I can see that you’re just a wonderful cook! You did it perfectly! I love ribs, and with potatoes is just the perfect combo! Nioce to meet you!Cris

  21. Oh Prudy your ribs look so good – thanks for doing all of the research – trial and error for us. I would love to have a smoker again, one of our gas grills had a built in smoker. As Karen mentioned above the rub would be great on any ribs 🙂

    • Thank you so much, Judi!! How nice would it be to have a smoker built into your gas grill? I love that idea.. It’s actually really good on lots of cuts of meat…I’ve been using it on brisket too. If only I could get the brisket right! 🙂

    • You are such a doll, Lori…. thank you so much. I’m so behind on accepting all of my awards…. one of these days I’ll get my act together and get them done! In the meantime, I’m so grateful to you for thinking of me. It means the world to me. You mean the world to me. ❤

  22. I’m drooling!!! These look so darn good. We made ribs a couple weeks back, and while they were good, they didn’t look this good!!! I love smoking things (on the grill, that is ;0) )!

  23. These look so good Prudy! I’m impressed you stuck with it, i would have given up long ago! It definitely paid off though, my mouth is watering just looking at them!

  24. That rub sounds fantastic! I feel like I could rub it on just about everything, and those ribs are gorgeous looking too. I’ve never tried smoking before but I’ll have to keep that method in mind if I ever get the chance because it sounds super easy 🙂

    • Thank you so much Sarah! It really is a great rub, and to be honest, I use it on pretty much everything. If I want it a little sweeter, I add more brown sugar…and if I want to tone down the sweetness and make it spicier, I add less sugar and more cayenne! I’ve actually even added some jalapeño juice to the rub at times… Made it more of a paste, but it was delicious!! 🙂

  25. This is something my hubby might get into! I think I’ll just have to mention that he read your post… 😉 . Thank you so much for co-hosting this week. You are a marvelous hostess.

  26. Pingback: Lipsmackin' Barbecue Baby Back Ribs Recipe | Nosh My Way

Leave a Reply

