Writing Process Blog Tour Part II: Sharing Shivaay Delights’ Cheese, Cauliflower, and Broccoli Patties

IMG_0113I had the wonderful opportunity to join Dimple Makani from Shivaay Delights on the Writing Process Blog Tour a couple of weeks ago, and wanted to take it just a step further. I want to share one recipe from each of the girls that I introduced to you in my Writing Process. Today, I’d like to share Dimple’s Cheese, Cauliflower, and Broccoli Patties.

I am still a rookie blogger, but a blogger nonetheless, and I know the hard work that goes into just one post….It isn’t just preparing a recipe and posting pictures.

Nope.
That would be too easy.

Sometimes you’re preparing a recipe. Then preparing it again. Then changing it up, and preparing it the new way… and that repeats until you feel as though you have it right. Then it’s a matter of setting it up to photograph, usually with props of some kind….and then taking pictures….and taking more pictures. And then a few more until you’ve exhausted every angle you could possibly imagine.

And then once you have your photographs all set, then you have the task of writing a post to go with it. What can one say about a piece of broccoli? You want to draw people in from the first couple of words. You want to be witty, you want to be interesting, and you want them to crave that piece of broccoli. But you also want them to know how easy it is to prepare…. And most of all, you want your readers to come back.

And that’s what bloggers like Dimple do, time after time after time…and that’s okay, because we love it. And that love truly shines in every single one of Dimple’s posts. She has that ability to draw you in, not only with her delicious recipes, but her stories as well.

IMG_0122

The minute I set eyes on these Cheese, Cauliflower, and Broccoli Patties, I knew that it would be a matter of time before I tried them…and I’m glad I didn’t wait long, because they are fabulous! I do have to say that I was heavy handed on the broccoli, so mine are definitely more green than Dimple’s…but green or not, they’re still absolutely delicious!!

They don’t take long to prepare, and the cheese melts in with the cauliflower and broccoli…They’re crispy on the outside, and moist on the inside with that gooey cheese…pure deliciousness! They are perfect as the main course, but could also be served as a side dish! Add a fried egg on top and have them for breakfast! This is such a great recipe, so versatile…

I hope you stop by Dimple’s blog for a visit. I know that you’ll keep going back if you do!

Life is good… It’s a “crispy on the outside, moist and cheesy on the inside” kind of good!

IMG_0106

Cheese, Cauliflower, and Broccoli Patties
Recipe copied from Dimple’s Blog: Shivaay Delights

INGREDIENTS
Cauliflower florets half
Broccoli florets half
1 onion
2 to 3 cups self raising flour
1tbsp oil
1 tsp salt
1/3 tsp garlic granules
1/3 tsp chilli powder
2 tsp coriander and cumin powder
Handful of mature cheese
Fine semolina for coating
Sunflower oil for shallow frying.

METHOD
Boil the cauliflower, broccoli and onion. Once soft after about 5-8 minutes, drain and then blitz all three in a food processor.

Season with the salt and spices. Add the one tablespoon of oil and blitz to combine, stir in the cheese.

Gradually add the flour until you get a soft thick runny batter.

Heat up 1cm depth of sunflower oil in a non stick frying pan on a medium heat.

Take one tablespoon of cauliflower batter. Roll in some semolina and flatten to form a patty. Gently place in the frying pan and shallow fry for a few minutes each side until both sides are golden brown.

Serve with barbecue sauce or a chutney of your choice.

I served mine with a tzatziki sauce, more shredded cheese, and a sprinkle of fresh parsley.

Enjoy!

32 thoughts on “Writing Process Blog Tour Part II: Sharing Shivaay Delights’ Cheese, Cauliflower, and Broccoli Patties

  1. Cauliflower and broccoli, a great mix , and the light frying makes it a little naughty, nice job Dimple…ty for sharing Prudence

  2. What a lovely way to honour our fellow bloggers, Prudy! I love what you have done here and the recipe looks right up my alley! Very yummy! Thanks to you and Dimple both! 😀

      • You are both amazing women – thanks for a fabulous recipe. Cheesy, ooey, gooey and crispy – I am in!! Though with my irrational loathing of frying indoors, these would have to be baked…

    • Elaine! You’ll never believe this, but I just found this comment from you, and a comment from Selma in my spam messages!! Normally I just delete them without checking, but for some reason I scanned through them today! I’m so glad I did…

      I completely agree… lovely Dimple…and lovely patties from Dimple! ❤ Thank you so much..

  3. Hi Prudy – posting is a lot of work there is no doubt about that! I have started to write up recipes that I am familiar with in drafts when I have time. Then it serves as a reminder that I want to blog about it and it’s one less thing to do on top of the backstory and the photos…all I have to do is make any adjustments to the method if needs be. Also, I read that it’s better to start setting out your props when the food is cooking – use a dummy in place of the food and start taking photos to see how it all gels together… then the food isn’t hanging about getting cold or too warm. I’ve started editing pics (crops, text, collages, etc) on my phone and do that when I am waiting in queues…x

    • Oh Selma! Do you know that I was just going through my Spam messages, and one caught my eye, because my name was mentioned in it. It was you!! Somehow you and Elaine from foodbod ended up in my spam! I’m so happy I actually looked at the spam today, usually I just delete.

      I love this, such great advice! I always set the props up afterward, but now I’ll be setting up while everything is cooking. Brilliant. 🙂 Starting the drafts and dummy photos? Genius!!! I love everything about this. Thank you so much for sharing… ❤ That is so appreciated. Truly. ❤

Leave a Reply

