Mini Strawberry Ice Cream Cups

IMG_0086When I was younger, chocolate was the only flavor ice cream that existed in my little world. I never dreamed in a million years that I would ever even consider vanilla, maple walnut, butter pecan, chocolate chip, or strawberry. I can remember going to birthday parties over the years, and they would serve Neapolitan. Do you remember Neapolitan? That beautiful chocolate ice cream, desecrated by vanilla and strawberry… it was truly sacrilege in my little mind…and I didn’t even know what sacrilege meant.

That all ended the minute I tried homemade ice cream. I mean, it tastes real, you know? …And that’s because it is real.

The real deal.

IMG_1869Why did it take me all my life to taste fresh homemade ice cream? While it’s a shame that all of those years have been wasted…you can be sure that I’ll be making up for those years now..

Starting with strawberry… We’re almost into strawberry season, and I thought it would be nice to bring in the season with this fresh strawberry ice cream.

It’s sweet.
It’s creamy.
It’s strawberry-ie.
It’s delicious.

And it’s so darn easy to make, I really don’t have to go back to store bought again. Ok, I probably will, but I know that I don’t have to if I don’t want to!

IMG_1866

I’m heading over to Angie’s Fiesta Friday at The Novice Gardener with my strawberry ice cream… and thought that you might enjoy the ice cream in mini chocolate cups, topped with toasted marshmallow, and then topped off with fresh strawberries.

Mini ice cream cups.
Perfect!

IMG_0099

A special thank you to Angie for hosting Fiesta Friday #18. I can’t believe that it’s been 18 weeks already! I’ve missed the last couple Fridays, and can’t tell you how happy I am to be back! I’ve missed  you…Terribly.

This week, Angie has asked  Mr Fitz from Cooking with Mr Fitz, along with Justine from Eclectic odds n sods  to co-host, and it should be a wonderful time! A special thank you to both Mr Fitz and Justine…I know that they’ll be the perfect hosts for this wonderful party! I hope that you stop by and join the party…it’s always a good time, and everyone always has something wonderful to share! Just click on the link to the right, and it will take you right to the party!

LIfe is good…it’s a “Homemade strawberry ice cream is good, but homemade strawberry ice cream in mini chocolate cups with toasted marshmallows on top is just the bomb”…kind of good…

IMG_0074

Homemade Strawberry Ice Cream

1 quart fresh strawberries, reserving about four strawberries for the topping
2 cups heavy cream
3 egg yolks
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 tsp salt
Seed from 1/2 vanilla bean

Mini chocolate dessert cups
Large marshmallows, each sliced into thirds

Chocolate curls for garnish
Blueberries for garnish

Heat the heavy cream, vanilla seeds, and salt in a medium size saucepan until it just begins to boil.

While the heavy cream mixture is heating, whisk the egg yolks and sugar together until light and fluffy. Once the heavy cream mixture has come to a boil, begin making the custard by whisking the heated heavy cream into the egg yolk mixture until completely blended.

Pour the custard mixture into a double boiler, and cook until thickened, or until it coats the back of a wooden spoon. Pour through a sieve to remove any lumps that might have formed. Cool completely in the refrigerator, at least 8 hours.

After it is completely cooled, pour the custard into the ice cream machine and begin churning according to the machine’s directions.

While the custard is churning, crush the strawberries, and drain them in a colander. When the custard becomes the texture of whipped cream, add the drained strawberries to the ice cream machine. Continue to churn until it is complete. Transfer the ice cream to a freezer container, and place in freezer until ready to serve.

When ready to serve, scoop the ice cream with a cookie scoop to form a ball, and add to the chocolate dessert cups. Place a slice of marshmallow on top of each, and torch the marshmallow with a kitchen torch until melted and browned. Top with chopped strawberries, chocolate curls, and blueberries.

Serve immediately and Enjoy!!

IMG_0079

64 thoughts on “Mini Strawberry Ice Cream Cups

    • Thank you Cheri! Oh yeah, you wouldn’t believe it, but the one that I am currently using cost me $20. It’s just a cheap little thing that I found. I bought it just to see if it was something that I’d use all the time, before I put the money out on a more expensive one. I’m thinking that this one will work just fine for the summer! The only thing I wish I had would be another bowl, so that I could make a couple of different batches at a time. 🙂

  1. Toasted marshmallows on top–what a great idea. One summer when I was young, my mother made me homemade banana ice cream. It was heavenly. She only made it once but I think of it often. It was that good. There is no comparison to home made ice cream. It is one of the pleasures of summer. Now I’m dreaming of banana ice cream in one of your cute little chocolate cups. Oh, the humanity….

    • Oh, you know it’s really REALLY good when you still think about it so many years later! I had that same experience with a piece of Bananas Foster Cheesecake a few years ago. I’ve never been able to find it, or replicate it!! You should make some banana ice cream, I’m guessing it’s just as easy as this strawberry! Just substitute bananas for the strawbs!! 🙂

  2. And the ice cream finally came! I’ve already told the guests the lots and lots of ice cream is coming. 😀 These look gorgeous, Prudy. And the cups are so adorable. I did not buy an ice cream machine when my friend told me to and now I want to slap my face. 😐

    Thank you for taking these beauties to FF. We are really happy that you are here today. Have a wonderful weekend, Prudy!

    • Thank you so much my lovely Jhuls! As far as the ice cream machine… I have to tell you that I”m using a $20 machine right now. I thought I’d buy a cheap one to see how much I’d use it before I invested in a larger one! Honestly? This one works just fine!! I might hold on to it for a while! I’m so happy to be here too… I hope your weekend was a lovely one! ❤

  3. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #18 | The Novice Gardener

  4. Oh YUM!! You always bring something amazing. You brought back memories of Neapolitan Ice cream. I was a chocolate ice cream lover too and sliced off the chocolate end and left the pistachio and strawberry. Since I’ve grown up I’ve come to appreciate other flavors, like your delicious strawberry ice cream. Love those chocolate cups, best of both worlds Prudy, you are a marvel!!

    • Thank you so much Suzanne! Then we grew up feeling the same way about Neapolitan! 🙂 Nah..no marvel. I just made the custard, and let the ice cream machine do the rest. I admit to eating one chocolate cup before it was even filled with ice cream! I couldn’t even do the “Oops, I broke it” thing… I just took a bite and enjoyed. 🙂 ❤ xx

  5. Looks amazing!! I’m not even a fan of strawberry ice cream, but perhaps that’s because I’ve never had *homemade* strawberry ice cream…this is making my mouth water!

  6. It has been much too long since my last visit, but I have been doing a little traveling and have not even seen a laptop for days. But now I am happily back on my couch browsing my favourite blogs. You really have been cooking up some fabulous treats – loving this recipe! Yum!

  7. Oh my goodness I have got to get myself an ice cream machine. I never replaced my old one and I keep putting off buying a new one. This recipe is just the kick in the pants that I needed to go shopping. Wonderful! 🙂

    • Definitely get a new machine! This one is just a cheap $20 machine that I have…and I have to say that it’s doing more than I thought it would! It’s a decent little machine. I can only imagine what it will be like when I finally upgrade to a bigger one! Thank you so much! 🙂 xx

  8. I remember not understanding why adults ordered anything but chocolate!! I also remember there never being any chocolate left in the Neapolitan. Not all I eat is everything but chocolate.

    I love strawberry ice cream… I’m firing up my ice cream maker for sure!

  9. Where you been, Prudy? 🙂 You sure know how to stage a comeback! This looks screamingly luscious. It’s so funny the way you described Neapolitan. I used to think the same way. Why even bother with the other flavors. At my house, we always left off the strawberry, after first finishing the chocolate and vanilla second. But that was before I knew homemade! The chocolate cups add a touch of haute cuisine. So fancy, Prudy! Great to have you back! XOXO

    • Thanks so much Angie… I’ve been a little under the weather for the last couple of weeks… and then trying to catch up on everything that I didn’t do when I wasn’t feeling all that well!!
      You wouldn’t believe how many weeds I have, and how huge they are! My poor daisies were being choked out..I think I finally got them cleaned up today, but they’re looking mighty sad. It makes me sad, because daisies are my most favorite flower. Oh well.. 🙂
      It’s good to be back, my friend…I’ve missed all of you! I have so much to catch up on from the last couple of weeks! I did a quick look, and there were some amazing photos! Hope all is well with you.. xx ❤

      • Sorry to hear you weren’t feeling well. Thank goodness you’re better, coz we sure missed you! I hear ya on all the chores and errands needing to be done, and weeds don’t wait for you. There aren’t enough hours in a day to do everything we want. I’ve been trying to catch up on my reading and getting updated on everybody’s post as well. Time…don’t we all need more. ❤

      • Thanks so much Angie.. I truly feel the love. ❤ Ahh…time. If we could get away without sleeping…or add an extra 10 hours to our day, it would be perfect! I always say that I'd love to have a "friendly" chat with the man who decided that we only needed 24 hours in a day! 🙂

  10. For the last month I’ve been looking at Icecream makers, I believe this to be a sign that I need to act…Looks great Prudence, Sorry about the daisies

    • Definitely get an ice cream maker Henry… they’re just so much fun! This particular one that I have I bought for $20!! It works just fine… although now I’ve kind of set my sights on a Cuisinart. They’ve had some really good sales on them lately…offering a free extra bowl and all..

      Yeah, my poor daisies. I’m tempted to go to the nursery and get some more to fill in. Oh well.. 🙂

  11. Welcome back Prudy. These look so amazing, I’ll have a dozen please, I can just taste the rich dark chocolate cup with a dollop of that yummy ice cream.

  12. How stunning, they look amazing. Like Angie, I remember us having Neapolitan ice cream as kids and leaving the strawberry bit! Your ice cream looks a whole world away from that stuff!! Lovely 😍

  13. Strawberry ice cream is my favorite over vanilla and never chocolate. I love everything chocolate, including those cute chocolate cups, but not ice cream – strange, huh? Your recipe looks very simple but delicious; now I need to invest in an ice cream maker. I use to have an old-fashioned one and gave it away some time ago 🙂

    • It really is easy Judi, and if you like strawberry ice cream, then I hope you do invest in an ice cream maker. This one is so creamy, and tastes just like strawberries in whipped cream! Honestly, the ice cream maker that I’m using right now is a silly little $20 one that I bought not too long ago! It works like a charm. I have one of those old fashioned ones too, I think I used it once, and decided that just going out to the store and buying ice cream is much easier!! I think it’s still sitting in my basement!

      Thanks so much Judi…it’s great to see you, I really missed everyone while I was under the weather. ❤ It's nice to be back!

  14. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #19 | The Novice Gardener

Leave a Reply

