Writing Process Blog Tour

Life is good…it’s a “sometimes it’s not about the recipes, but the people you meet behind the scenes” kind of good…

I decided to start with my “Life is Good….” instead leaving it for the end…as I thought it was truly fitting for this post.

writingI was contacted about two weeks ago by the lovely Dimple, from Shivaay Delights, to join her in what is called the Writing Process Blog Tour. It took me a matter of seconds to know that I wanted to be a part of such a fun tour…So I immediately accepted! I’m thrilled that Dimple thought of me, and am grateful to be given this opportunity.

This tour is supposed to be about the introduction of bloggers, and what we are working on at the moment. I decided to take it one step further, and in the next few days, share something from Dimple who has introduced me… and then in the next week or two, share something from the three bloggers who/whom (Forgive my bad grammar, I really stink at the who/whom thing) I will be introducing…

In my true fashion, I have to digress for a second….. Speaking of my poor grammar…

My father is a stickler for proper grammar; and throughout my childhood (and still today), he would often correct me. I had to be about 10 years old at the time, and I started a very bad habit of saying the word “ain’t”. Now, this was way before Mr. Webster added “ain’t” to his dictionary..

And most likely, my father had corrected me numerous times…and finally lost his temper….
“You will write: ‘I will never say “ain’t” again’ five hundred times”. He announced after he caught me saying it yet again.

So, I sat all day writing “I will never say “ain’t” again”… 499 times. And the very last sentence, number 500, I wrote: “I ain’t gonna say “ain’t” no more”…

Don’t you know… he found that darn sentence!! I mean; what the heck? Did he read every single one? He must have!! Because… as he should have (which I disagreed at the time, and I honestly wondered where the humanity was..) he made me write it all out all over again!! To this day, you will not hear me saying the word “ain’t”..unless of course, I’m joking around with someone! Just please, whatever you do, don’t tell my papa if you ever hear me say it!!

I’m a little smarter now (not much), and the next time he makes me write it out, I’ll stick my ‘improper sentence’ at line 258, or something like that! Eh, who am I kidding? He’d still catch me!

And now, the Writing Process Blog Tour:

DImple , Shivaay Delights 

1966899_10202564522811669_7194486181960797524_nOur lovely Dimple (Click on her photo to visit Shivaay Delights) is such a beautiful soul, and her blog truly reflects that. The love of her family is the foundation of each and every post, and it truly shines with every single meal she prepares. Her blog is actually written in loving memory of her aunt, who, there is no doubt left a lasting and loving impression on Dimple.

She is a master of both cooking and baking. It amazes me how a person can be both a cook and a baker, but Dimple truly is. The meals and treats that Dimple produces from her kitchen always spark a “Yum” out of me when I’m reading her posts!

One in particular that really had me saying “Yum!” was her Cheese, Cauliflower, and Broccoli Patties. I knew that it would be a matter of a couple of days before I tried them….and I have to say, they are fabulous! I hope that they invokes a “Yum!” out of you, and you will give it a try within a matter of days!

I know that once you visit Shivaay Delights, you’ll fall in love with Dimple just as I have… She is truly a joy.

My Writing Process..

I think the biggest thing that I’m working on now, is trying to find a balance between Life-Life, Work-Life, and Blog-Life. I never realized what was in store for me when the very first time I hit that “publish” button. I know that every other blogger out there can attest that there is a definite hesitation before you really do hit that button for the very first time….and quite frankly…many, many more times after that.

Even today, I still hesitate before I publish. I want to make sure that I have all of my I’s dotted, and T’s crossed (You know… grammar and all. I think my father reads my posts, and I just don’t have time to write out another 500 sentences!). And of course, I want to make sure that I haven’t said anything that might be taken the wrong way, to the point in which I might offend anyone.

On that first day, I knew that I was putting myself out there…making myself vulnerable for so many things such as criticism, disapproval, ridicule…and the worst of all… that nobody would notice me…that I’d be writing to zero people. What I didn’t expect was the flood of people to welcome me into the blogging community, and the support of many, MANY bloggers who would almost instantly become my friends.

And now I find myself working on my own blog, the cooking, the photography, the writing, the publishing, and replying to the most wonderful comments… but also trying to keep up with all of my friends blogs as well.

There is no doubt that it’s overwhelming at times…
But there is no doubt that I’m having the time of my life with this blog.
I love sharing the passion of cooking and food with everyone.

And I can’t tell you how much you, my readers, and my supporters… are loved and appreciated.

One of the questions for this tour is “How does my work differ from others of its genre?” I can’t say that my work is any different from anyone else. There are thousands of food bloggers in this community, and although we come from different cultures, or have different food preferences, we all strive for the same thing…to share our love of food and recipes with snippets of our lives in between.

The next question is why do I write what I do…. It doesn’t matter if I’m talking to you in person, or if I’m typing to you on a computer…. I wear my heart on my sleeve. You will always know when I’m happy, when I’m sad, when I’m angry or frustrated (see the Squeaky Wheel). I try to fit my personality and whatever happens to be going on in my life, or in the world at that particular moment.

And finally… my actual writing process… I guess that part comes easy to me. I tend to be a rambler (I know….there’s a surprise…). As I’m preparing a recipe that I’m planning on posting, I start thinking about how it pertains to my life, right at that moment. It might be as easy as Michael walking into the kitchen asking what I’m cooking, and then announcing that he’s not going to eat that….or it might be as easy as a memory of the three hour cooking classes that I love to take up in Ontario, Canada.

It’s kind of funny, I have a drawer in my kitchen in which I throw my ideas into. They’re all over sticky notes, backs of envelopes and whatever little scrap of paper I could find at the moment. When an idea pops into my head, I grab the nearest piece of paper, jot it down, and throw it into the drawer! When I’m struggling to come up with something for the blog, I simply open the drawer! There are times when I look at my notes and think… “What on earth was I thinking??”…but most of them will eventually get posted!

I usually have my laptop sitting right there on my island as I’m preparing the recipe. When a thought or feeling comes to me, I’ll stop and type it out on a document. I guess you can call that my outline of sorts.. and then later on, after all of the photos have been taken, it all just seems to come together.

There are seldom times that I might sit and stare at a blank document for an hour or so until inspiration hits, but as soon as I have two or three sentences typed, the rest just flows, and I find myself typing, and typing, and typing some more! Before I know it, I’ve filled two or three pages of the document!

Again… I ramble. But you already knew that!

Introductions….

I’d like to introduce three lovely people (in no particular order) who have become a big part of my blogging life…

Suzanne, A Pug in the Kitchen 

square_225First up is, lovely Suzanne (Click on her photo to visit A Pug in the Kitchen), from A Pug in the Kitchen … Suzanne was one of the first few people to welcome me into the blogging community…and honestly… never missed a beat commenting on my posts. I truly look up to Suzanne, and want to be just like her someday… She tends to share much about what’s going on in her life and in her neighborhood, just like I do.

She is a true humanitarian…always looking out for others in need, and such a caring and kindhearted person. When Suzanne is not looking out for others in need, or taking care of her pugs, Izzy and Nando….she is whipping something up, and tempting us with so many delights from her kitchen. One of her recipes that really stands out to me is her award winning Whipped Chocolate Caramel Ganache. Yeah, I’m going to try my hand at that one…. I know, I know… I can’t bake to save my life… but with Suzanne’s winning recipe, I think I’ll be ok! Stay tuned!

In the meantime, stop by and say hello to Suzanne…. You will know exactly what I’m talking about as soon as you read her blog. I know you will love her. I do.

Nancy, Nancy Creative

aboutphoto-10croppedbw6Next up is lovely Nancy (Click on her photo to visit Nancy Creative) from Nancy Creative. Nancy is truly an inspiration…

Now here is a lady who does it all. I’m serious. This amazing lady is a photographer. She cooks. She bakes. She does crafts. You just never know what Nancy will be posting next, and I love that. If you are ever in need of some sunshine…just tune into Nancy’s blog… She shares the most uplifting posts that will have you walking away smiling, whether it be a scripture, quote, photograph or a recipe such as an absolutely delicious chocolate chip banana bread…

Yes, it was a week ago or so when I was flipping through Pinterest to find a chocolate chip banana bread recipe. One caught my eye, and I clicked on it, and guess whose recipe it was? Yep..Nancy’s! So I made it last Sunday, and I’m not kidding when I say that it lasted a matter of five minutes after I was finished taking photos! It was so moist, and so delicious…I just knew that I’d be sharing it with you…so stay tuned!

While you’re waiting for that post…stop by Nancy’s blog for a little sunshine. You will love her…just like I do.

Janelle, Bakes in Slippers

1959989_10202764785992862_1198519691_nAnd finally….my very new friend, lovely Janelle (Click on her photo to visit Bakes in Slippers) from Bakes in Slippers. How cute is her blog’s name? I just love it! I actually stumbled across Janelle on Twitter, stopped by her blog to see what there is to see…and was totally blown away. Her photos are crazy beautiful…and her recipes? Well, they’re fabulous. I mean professional quality fabulous. This girl is going places…quickly. Seriously.

And then on top of her fabulousness…. Janelle has a heart that is bigger than her body. The love for her family is evident as I watch her posts on Facebook, as she shares her daughter’s milestone in graduation. Her dedication and support to her fellow bloggers is above and beyond..

One of Janelle’s recipes that just stood out to me recently, was her Cucumber and Sesame Seed Salad. I don’t know, with summer quickly approaching, I had this strong urge to go and buy the ingredients to make it. I’m glad I did… stay tuned!!

So, before I post that lovely cucumber salad, why not stop by her blog, and get blown away? I’m just happy to know Janelle, and when you visit her blog, you’ll understand why I fell instantly in love with this girl.

Thanks again to Dimple for sharing this tour with me, it’s been a pleasure introducing you to four wonderful bloggers who I look up to, and I’m honored to call my friends.

27 thoughts on “Writing Process Blog Tour

  1. What a wonderful post! Thanks so much for all the sweet compliments! You are an inspiration yourself, you know–always coming up with great recipes and fun stories about your family–I’m so glad you decided to start your blog and also thankful that I have you as a special blogging friend! 🙂

  2. What a lovely post, Prudy!! 🙂 It’s so nice to know more about you. Life-life, work-life, blog-life – ahhh! How could we balance them?? And I might need your dad to correct my grammar, Prudy!! 😀 I missed you!

  3. What a great post, Prudy! So interesting to hear more about the creative process of our blogger buddies! I love the drawer idea! I tend to have sticky notes everywhere and it ain’t too easy to keep track of!! 😀

  4. I love this! I love what you wrote about Dimple, she’s lovely ☺️ And I loved reading about you – I’m glad I’m not the only one with post-it’s full of recipes and ideas all over the place!! Have a great day xx

  5. Prudy so nice to read more about your blogging life, everytime you post I feel as though I am standing with you personally and we are chatting face to face. You have a talent for making sure we all feel welcome and then your delicious recipes, well I am in awe of your creativity and also the gorgeous photo’s. Thank you so much for your kind words. The baton has been handed to me I better get busy writing.

  6. What a wonderful post Prudy, love the way you write, you have others feeling they are in the same room with you talking about what we talk about day to day. I should do the drawer, I write on little bits of paper here and there and can never find it again. Again, great post!

    • Thanks so much Liz… I agree, this is a great way to meet new bloggers…and there are so many wonderful and talented people out there… I’m happy to be a part of this. 🙂 It’s so nice to meet you, and I look forward to visiting your blog!

  7. I think it’s safe to say, Prudence remembers, who helped and supported her…and I’m happy to see how the wallflower has blossomed..🌼

  8. I love the idea of a drawer full of ideas! Loved reading about your writing process (and the 500 lines, haha, you are too funny). This Tour is such a good idea! 😀

  9. Pingback: Writing Process Blog Tour | apuginthekitchen

Leave a Reply

