Maple Bacon Streusel Muffins with Maple Bourbon Glaze

I have a question…it’s really an age old question….
Why does the squeaky wheel always get the grease?

IMG_1435

Honestly, I’m really trying to figure this one out. All of the other wheels don’t have a problem doing their thing…so they don’t squeak at all. They wouldn’t even think of squeaking because they are decent, hard-working wheels. But yet, they don’t get grease. My question is…. Why don’t they get grease? Don’t they deserve the grease too?

Unfortunately, there is no more grease to be had at the moment.
That’s because the squeaky wheel just got greased.
Once again.

IMG_1422

In a perfect world, the farmer would get rid of the squeaky wheel.

But, in the real world, squeaky wheels cannot be gotten rid of so easily. Why? Well… because they’re squeaky. Try to get rid of them, and they get squeakier.

Better yet, in a perfect world, there would be no squeaky wheel at all. Daily life would be peaceful… squeak free…

But, in the real world, there are squeakers all around us..and we have to deal with them, but figure out a way to find a happy balance.

IMG_1437

My remedy for that is to bake muffins. Maple bacon streusel muffins with maple bourbon glaze, to be exact. With a little extra shot of bourbon on the side for the cook!! That always does the trick..and very soon, that squeaky wheel just might be forgotten… Ok, I exaggerate… not forgotten… because they never let us forget they’re there… but tolerated.

Until the next time…when the squeaks start again.
And we know that they will..

IMG_1458

I was so pleased with the way these muffins turned out..each bite so moist, with smoky bacon and nutty pecans… cinnamon and brown sugar…all mingled with that sweet bourbon and maple glaze.

As you know…I’m not a baker… can’t bake to save my life…but I used the Better Homes and Gardens cookbook recipe, and I changed it up to suit my style… I also found some pointers from The Kitchen Whisperer and she said that the best way to get nicely domed muffins is to spray the top of the muffin pan with cooking spray, fill the liners to the top with batter, and bake them for the first few minutes at 425 degrees and then drop the temperature to 350 degrees for another six to ten minutes.   It really worked! The muffins came out with nicely rounded tops, perfectly baked…

Who knows? Maybe there is hope for me as a baker after all…

So…in the end.. who really needs the grease when there is a plate of these muffins  sitting on the counter?
Not me.
Let the squeakers have the grease, and enjoy a maple bacon streusel muffin instead.

Life is good…it’s a “The squeaky wheel can keep the grease, because a maple bacon streusel muffin with maple bourbon glaze is so, SO much better…” kind of good…

IMG_1453

Maple Bacon Streusel Muffins with Maple Bourbon Glaze
Makes 14 Muffins

Streusel:
6 tbsp all purpose flour
6 tbsp brown sugar
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
3 tbsp butter, softened
1 tbsp maple syrup
6 tbsp chopped walnuts or pecans
4 slices crispy bacon, chopped

In a small bowl, mix the flour, brown sugar, cinnamon, butter, nuts, and bacon until well combined. Set aside.

Muffins:
3  cups all purpose flour
1 cup sugar
2-1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup butter
2 beaten eggs
2 tbsp maple syrup
1 cup buttermilk

Preheat oven to 425 degrees, and place the oven rack to the upper third part of the oven.

Spray a muffin tin with cooking spray, and line with paper liners.

In a large bowl, mix the flour, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon, ginger, baking soda, and salt together. Cut the butter into the dry ingredients until it is course crumbs.

Stir eggs and buttermilk into the dry/butter mixture just until moist.  The batter will be lumpy.  Spoon into the prepared muffin tins, filling each about halfway full of batter. Sprinkle some of the streusel onto the batter. Top with the remaining batter, filling the liner to about 1/8” from the top. Yes. Really fill it that full.  It will be ok! Sprinkle the tops with the remaining streusel.

If there are empty muffin cups, fill them with water. Seriously, do it. I never used to, but The Kitchen Whisperer said to do it, and it really helped!  I know, if the Kitchen Whisperer said to jump off the Empire State Building, would I?  After taking her advice on how to bake muffins, yes, I think I would… well, maybe strapped to a bungee… oh who am I kidding?  I’d be scared to death to jump.  Just forget the jumping part, and fill the empty cups with water… it really does work..

Bake at 425 degrees for about 6 minutes. Reduce the heat to 350 degrees (Do not open the oven door at this point!) Continue to bake the muffins for another 10 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean..don’t confuse the streusel on the toothpick for raw batter.

Cool in muffin tin for 2 minutes, but no longer so that the muffins don’t get soggy in the pan. Cool completely on cooling rack. Drizzle with maple bourbon glaze.

Maple Bourbon Glaze:
1-1/2 cups powdered sugar
2 tbsp milk
2 tbsp bourbon
2 tbsp maple syrup
1/4 tsp salt
1 tbsp melted butter

In a medium mixing bowl, mix the powdered sugar, milk, bourbon, maple syrup, salt, and melted butter with a hand mixer until smooth. If necessary, add more milk to make it the drizzling consistency that you prefer.

Enjoy!!

TuesdaysTable150x150-horiz peppers

IMG_1435

62 thoughts on “Maple Bacon Streusel Muffins with Maple Bourbon Glaze

  1. Hi Prudy, these are probably the prettiest muffins I’ve ever seen and the combination of ingredients is like a match made in heaven. Great job!

    • Lol.. Selma, that squeaky wheel is just too much to handle at times. 🙂 Thank you so much, and I’m so impressed with the tips from The Kitchen Whisperer… I never filled the empty muffin tins with water before…and never believed that the muffins wouldn’t run all over the oven if I filled them right to the top! 🙂 Have a lovely evening.. ❤

  2. Mmm, Mmmm….scrumptious sounding muffins, Prudy. Don’t even get me started on the photos! 🙂 They look positively delicious! Great tips, too. Never heard the one about starting off with the hot oven, then decreasing temp before, I’ll have to try that!

    • Thank you Nancy! I was really happy with the muffins… they turned out so moist! And so, SO Delicious right out of the oven!! Oh yeah, I’ve made these muffins twice now, and both times they turned out perfectly just by starting it off hot, and then decreasing the temp. Honestly, try it. You’ll be so surprised as I was! ❤

    • Haha…Lisa, I admit to tasting that darn glaze more than I should have! And I also admit to pouring the bourbon into the tablespoon a little “heavy” so that it ran over a little more than it should have! That squeaky wheel really ticked me off that day! 🙂

  3. Wow, these are just gorgeous! I love the flavor combo you used, savory but just sweet enough. That’s an interesting technique you used to get the muffins so nicely domed, I’ll have to remember it next time I’m baking!

    • Mary…thank you so much. I know, right? I didn’t believe it at first, but it really worked! Life has kept me away from visiting everyone, but I want to get over to your blog to tell you how thrilled I was with the box!! Wow, I didn’t expect so many things… I need to buy the summer package!! I can’t wait to read your recipes too… Thank you so much…it is beautiful! ❤

  4. OMG you had me at bourbon…
    Then you made me pack my bags and want to move in with you at bacon! After all #baconislove!

    These look GORGEOUS and just sinful! Thank you so very much for referencing my site. I really appreciate it when my hard work is acknowledged. You, and the others, know what this is like. So truly, thank you.

    Man these seriously look incredible! I have to save this!

    Best Kitchen Wishes!

    • Lol. Aww…thank you so much Lori! I do understand exactly what you are saying.. I’m happy that it made you happy.. 🙂 Thank you so much for stopping by, and I’m glad that you like the muffin recipe…and bourbon. 😉 It is so nice to meet you, and I look forward to catching up on your blog!

  5. I knew you were a baker, and again with the bacon…woohoo!!!…very proud of how much your blog has matured with each post…your going places kid!! 😁

  6. I think you are very much the baker, Prudy, and these delicious maple bacon streusel muffins are evidence of that! I could do with one of these right now. I feel like you are talking about something else in your post here, about the squeaky wheel and all. 🙂 Great post, and lovely photos!

    • Thank you so much Ngan… but honestly… if you could see the ratio of fails to successes, you’d know that what I say is true about my baking! I appreciate your kind words.. ❤ Yes, you caught a little sarcasm there? It was a very bad day with a very squeaky wheel. 🙂

  7. I agree with Ngan. Time to face the facts Prudy…you CAN bake! 🙂 These are proof of that. Man! They look so good. The drizzling is perfectly done. (you can bake!) I have to make these for my guys.

    • Haha Seana.. It’s funny you say that..because honestly, I cannot bake. Like I said to Ngan, if you could really see the ratio of failures to successes, you’d know what I mean!! I hope you do make them for the guys. I have to tell you though, the second time I made these, I accidentally added 1/2 cup butter too much… and man, were they delicious. They were gone in a flash!! ❤

  8. I hate those darn squeaky wheels! Lol. But all is right with the world when there are amazing things like these maple bacon streusel muffins with maple bourbon glaze. Ermagawd I need these in my life and in my mouth right.now. What are you talking about, you’re not much of a baker?! I don’t think any of my muffins have ever looked this glorious. Amazing job, lady!

  9. Today is passing as a totally squeak free day but if it earns me one of these muffins I am happy to invent some squeak 😉 These look fabulous!

  10. Pingback: Writing Process Blog Tour |

Leave a Reply

