Lemon Chicken Linguine

I love lemons.
And I want a lemon tree.

IMG_1318

I’m trying to find out exactly how small a dwarf lemon tree is. So far, everyone (friends, websites, etc) tells me that a dwarf lemon tree will reach about six feet tall, and if I wanted one in my house, I’d need to dedicate a room solely for the tree. I’m starting to wonder if I really even need a living room…

I use lemons all the time… pretty much on a daily basis…well…almost on a daily basis. Frequently. So, a lemon tree would be so wonderful to have growing in my yard..or in my lemon room (a.k.a. living room)..

IMG_1309

What I wanted to hear was that the tree would reach about four feet tall. And that I could keep it in a little pot, bring it outside in the summer, and then bring it back inside during the winter months. Unfortunately, it’s not meant to be.

Unless I move someplace warm…there are no lemon trees in my future.
I don’t like those words.
I don’t like those words at all.

While that’s a real bummer, it’s not the end of the world, because there are lemons always readily available to me whenever I need them. A lemon tree just would have been fun, you know?

I’m not going to give up, and will continue my search for that perfect little lemon tree.

But in the meantime, I’ll continue to use the lemons that I can buy at the store, and that’s ok, because they do exactly what a fresh lemon would do for me… like this Lemon Chicken Linguine.

Despite my fame for posting heavy creamy dishes ( I really don’t eat that way all the time), this dish is definitely on the lighter side…not laden with sauce, but the lemon truly makes up for that! A squeeze of lemon over the chicken at the end gives this such a refreshing taste! And the asparagus? Well, it’s asparagus…it just belongs in this recipe.

IMG_1315

This is actually one of the meals that I make often, but I felt like it wasn’t worthy of the blog…maybe “not worthy” is being a little too harsh…maybe I thought it was too easy, a no brainer… because it is a common meal that I make. But just like the Embarrassingly Simple BLT Wedge Salad I posted the other day, I started to think that it’s ok to post ordinary meals that I make for my family. After all, my promise to you was simple, rustic and delish, right from the very beginning. This dish truly fits that bill.

It’s quick. It’s easy. It’s delicious. And everyone loves it. Well, maybe not your pickiest eater, but that’s why you have chicken nuggets stashed away in the freezer, right?

Life is good.. it’s a “Not giving up on the lemon tree, and thinking that I really don’t need a couch…” kind of good…

IMG_1293

Lemon Chicken Linguine
Serves Four

For the Chicken:
8 chicken breast tenders
1 cup flour
1 tbsp black pepper
1 tbsp white pepper
1 tbsp garlic powder
1 tbsp salt
1 tsp cayenne
Olive oil
Juice of ½ lemon

The Pasta:
½ pound linguine

For the Sauce:
½ cup butter
3 cloves garlic, minced
2 shallots, minced
1 lb fresh asparagus tips (save the stalks! Use them for another meal…chop them up in eggs! Make soup! Just don’t toss them!)
2 cups chicken stock
Juice of 1 lemon
1 cup Romano cheese
3 tbsp chopped fresh parsley
Salt and pepper to taste

Garnish:
Fresh lemon zest for garnish
Fresh parsley for garnish
Fresh ground black pepper
Lemon wedges for garnish

Mix the flour, black pepper, white pepper, garlic powder, salt, and cayenne in a medium size shallow bowl. Dredge the chicken breast in the flour mixture until well coated.

(While the chicken is cooking, bring a pot of water to boil. Cook the linguine per the instructions on the box. )

Pour enough olive oil in a large frying pan to coat the bottom. Sauté the chicken about four minutes on each side, or until fully cooked and golden brown. Right before removing the chicken from the pan, drizzle with the lemon juice (1/2 to 1 full lemon, depending on your lemon preference) Remove the chicken from the pan, and set aside. Save the pan with the oil, you’ll use that for the sauce.

Immediately after taking the chicken from the pan, add the butter, garlic, and shallots. Sauté for about two to three minutes, or until golden. Add the asparagus, and sauté until tender (not mushy, but tender), about three to five minutes. Remove the asparagus from the pan, and set aside. Add the chicken stock and the lemon, and simmer for about 5-10 minutes. Salt and pepper to taste.

As soon as the pasta is cooked, transfer it from the water to the pan of sauce with tongs or a wire strainer. Mix the pasta around in the sauce until it is fully coated, and then add the asparagus back to the pan. Add the Romano cheese and parsley, stirring until the pasta is fully coated.

Serve with the chicken and lemon wedge. Garnish with a little more parsley, fresh lemon zest, black pepper.

Enjoy!

IMG_9946

35 thoughts on “Lemon Chicken Linguine

  1. I love lemons too, Prudy. My neighbor right behind me has a lemon tree and I really, really want to climb the fence and just pluck some lemons because they never use them and just let them rot! Oh the horror – can you believe that?! I love simple and elegant lemony pasta and chicken. I’ve made lemon chicken with lemon-parm pasta before and will do it again soon this spring or summer. I think it is a dish worthy of showing off and am glad you did!

  2. Easy is good… Easy is real life on most days… Easy makes me happy. Thanks for sharing your easy, yet elegant and delicious meal. 🙂

  3. The lemon really makes the chicken pop.. I love this recipe all the way around..I always have lemons in the house…great for tea , flavoring water, or highlights in my hair…very nice post..😁

  4. Don’t give up your dream! I have seen dwarf Meyer lemon trees that are just a few feet tall. You can control the growth if needed with careful pruning. I love the idea of a lemon room and believe you need one. And this pasta looks super yummy! Thx for sharing 🙂

    • WooHoo Sheri!! Now those are the words I’ve been wanting to hear!! Lemon tree / few feet tall!! I could handle that! A lemon room would be so awesome.. Thank you so much for stopping by…I’m so glad you did, and hope you come back soon! 🙂

  5. Please don’t ever stop posting the simple meals your family loves. Those are the best meals ever! I love seeing what an “ordinary” dinner looks like in your home and oh my…your family eats well Prudy! I looked at your photo’s in this post and thought wow, I know cooking a meal like this is effortless for you! Sigh. A lemon tree eh? Well, how about a bonsai lemon tree? Is there such a thing? Or a kumquat? Just trying to help…

  6. What a lovely dish. 🙂
    I love lemons as well and many times I find myself trying not to use them in a recipe, as it’s becoming too repetitive – though I would still use lemon in the side salad, and serve it all with fresh lemonade…
    Yes, I too am a lemonholic! 😀

  7. What you need is what the French call an “orangerie”. A heated plant nursery to put your lemon tree in in the cold season 😉 It was quite a fashion in the beginning of the 19th century in Europe. There were even quite a few among the high society here in Norway where I live and those nurseries needed some heating in the winter. 😀

  8. Yum…I love anything with lemons! I’ll give this a try. Sometimes those simple, rustic dishes are the best dishes. I have a hunch that this one ranks up there!

  9. I use lemons all the time too, love this recipe, the sauce and the asparagus tips. Actually this really is a perfect meal. Thanks for sharing!

  10. I’m totally with you Prudy, I love lemon! When I was living in Italy I had 2 lemon trees, 1 orange and 1 kumquat tree.Even though I used to keep them in vases (since my garden has the semblance of a balcony ) they were really in good shape. During the winter I used to cover them with special plastic “sheets”. I know that there’s someone that keeps the lemon trees in log cabins in their garden… Maybe you can try??? By the way, your pasta is really tempting… believe or not I’ve never eaten pasta with lemon sauce… I have to catch up lost time!

  11. I was also going to suggest a cumquat tree, or, maybe (and this shows I shouldn’t be a botanist) a miniature lemon tree that bears juicy cumquat-sized lemons…. so we can either use them in recipes like yours, or eat them for a sour-sweet-citrusy pop! 😀
    Impractical citrus daydreams aside, this recipe is just lovely! Please post more of your daily family meals, as well as your creative twists… actually keep posting your stories too! 🙂

  12. I’d like to have a lemon tree in my backyard (that is, if I had a backyard- apartment life for me) if only because I think it would smell really awesome lol)

    This dish looks great Prudy, I love all the stuff you post. You could cook for me any day and I’d be a happy camper. ❤ ya 🙂

  13. This looks great and I’m glad you posted it Prudy! Sometimes you want to find your new favorite go to recipe and I think this might be it for me :). I love that it just screams spring. Also… Do you also save the lemon zest from the lemons? I have been trying to find a way to store mine but it always seems to dry out if I don’t use it within a week or so.

  14. I had a lemon tree in my backyard when I lived in Australia. I miss that. And this winter especially – I’ve missed Australia. Have to remember though that I’m lucky to be where I am and surely someday it will start to warm up?!
    I love this pasta – perfect flavour combination and bang on season with the asparagus. YUM.

  15. Lemons are delicious, I completely agree with you! A lemon tree would be amazing, and an orange tree as well 🙂 The chicken, the pasta and the asparagus with lemon sounds like a delicious combination! 🙂

  16. Lemon pasta is such a great dish. Your adding chicken, especially once you’ve hit it with lemon juice, is a great idea. I’d love to see this for dinner anytime. 🙂

Leave a Reply

