Embarrassingly Simple BLT Wedge Salad

You know, I want to call this a simple salad.

But what is simple? Exactly what does it mean?

IMG_1117

Sometimes I think I use the word “simple” in the wrong context. It’s simple to prepare, but maybe I want to say that it’s EASY to prepare, because there is nothing simple about this bad boy when it comes to flavor.

But then again, maybe I’m right, because our friend Mr. Webster says that “simple” means that something is easy, as in a “not involved, or complicated”.

True.

Yes, this BLT (Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato) Salad is easy, it is definitely not involved or complicated. It’s perfect for a “simple” summer meal, when the last thing you want to do is cook. There is virtually no cooking involved, and if you have some cooked bacon already in your fridge, or use the pre-cooked bacon, then there is zero cooking involved. It’s a matter of slicing a head of lettuce into four wedges, preparing a “simple” dressing. So yes…it is simple in that way.

IMG_1113

But then Mr. Webster goes on to describe “simple” as “plain and unadorned or not complex”.

Well shoot. That is not true.

If there was ever a salad adorned, it is this one. Ok, yeah…the ingredients are few. But their flavors are strong. Fresh tomatoes, chives, blue cheese, buttermilk, bacon, all work together so perfectly, to create that classic flavor that we all love so much in a BLT, but with that added zing from the blue cheese..and once in a while a little bite from the chives…and then the buttermilk really wants to be sour, but the creamy mayo just won’t let it…your tastebuds just scream for more!

IMG_1116

So in the end..I believe that this is truly a “simply adorned” salad. One that you can throw together in a matter of minutes, but walk away completely gratified…fulfilled….satisfied. And the best part? There is hardly any clean up.. and you have the rest of the evening to do what you want to do..

Life is good..it’s a “SImple, yet complex salad, and Mr. Webster needs to get his facts straight…or maybe I need to get my facts straight…but who really cares, because you’re going to forget all about this after one bite of this salad..” kind of good…

IMG_1116

BLT Wedge Salad
Serves Four

1 head iceberg lettuce, sliced into four wedges
8 slices bacon, fried crisp and cut into pieces
1 pint cherry tomatoes, quartered
4 oz blue cheese
Buttermilk dressing (recipe below)
Chives for garnish
Fresh ground pepper to taste

I was serious when I said that there is really nothing to making this salad, and it’s almost embarrassing to write out the instructions….Almost…This salad is totally worth the embarrassment!

Place each lettuce wedge on individual plates. Divide the bacon, cherry tomatoes, blue cheese, and buttermilk dressing between them. Garnish with chives, and fresh ground pepper to taste.

Embarrassingly simple…easy…whatever. It’s delicious…and that’s all that matters!

Enjoy!

Buttermilk Dressing:
1 cup buttermilk
½ cup mayonnaise
1 clove garlic, finely minced
¼ tsp ground mustard
1/8 tsp cayenne
1 tbsp fresh parsley, chopped
1 tsp fresh chives
½ tsp salt
½ tsp pepper

Whisk the buttermilk, mayonnaise, garlic, ground mustard, cayenne, parsley, chives, salt, and pepper in a small bowl until well blended.

Cover and refrigerate for up to one week.

IMG_1121

71 thoughts on “Embarrassingly Simple BLT Wedge Salad

  1. Oh, simplicity is so very much a favorite of mine. Looks fantastic, especially for the warmer weather we’ve been seeing (although now it’s endlessly rainy!) I love how you turned a modern wedge salad into something so casual.

  2. We love a good iceberg wedge salad. We also love BLT’s. Intermingling the two is spot on. Looks really, really good. Your post makes me think of a picnic. Wouldn’t that be nice with this BLT wedge salad, a crusty baguette and a nice bottle of wine. 🙂

  3. Nice salad!!! I sometimes struggle with denoting a recipe as easy or simple because I don’t want to seem condescending but I do want to let people know if it’s not hard to make!! Ah, the challenge..

    • I’m so glad to know I’m not the only one making embarrassingly simple meals! They’re they best, aren’t they? Don’t get me wrong, the kitchen is my most favorite place in the house… but sometimes I just want to do other things… like be here. 🙂

    • Thank you Peter! I’m so happy you stopped by! I love simple. 🙂 Oh, by the way… We totally failed on the short ribs!! Complete operator error. Well, I can’t say it was a complete fail. I ended up throwing them in the slow cooker the next day, and they turned out delicious. My son really loved them!

  4. I am so glad I finally have time to visit my favourite blogs again. Always love visting yours as I know for certain you have something pretty waiting for me 🙂 Love the idea of serving salad as wedges. Such a lovely look!

    • Thank you so much for your kind words Afra…that makes me happy. I so understand not having the time to visit our favorite blogs… I’m trying so hard to balance life/work/blogging… putting the highest preference on life and blogging.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

