Molten Lava Cakes for Fiesta Friday

IMG_9908

This Fiesta Friday is especially special for me this week…

Imagine my surprise when I found an email sitting in my inbox from Angie at The Novice Gardener…. and now… imagine my delight when she asked me to co-host Fiesta Friday #13 with the lovely Indira at I’ll Cook, You’ll Wash!

Of course I happily agreed… Many of you know Angie and her artistic culinary talent (understatement)… and that combined with her charming wittiness and ability to draw her audience in with the first sentence or two of her post, you will understand why I am so thrilled and honored to co-host this lovely event!

IMG_9920

This is our 13th Fiesta Friday, and my-oh-my, how it has grown!! Every week, there are more and more people joining in the fun! I cannot wait to see what everyone brings this week…I’ve been blown away with the fabulous contributions these last few weeks, so I know that this week will be no different!

I know that I’ve said this before, but I have never met a more welcoming, supportive and loving group of people than this wonderful group of bloggers. I urge you to visit Fiesta Friday at The Novice Gardener and join in on the fun.. and if you’re new to the blogging world, this is a great way to meet other bloggers, and gain more followers!

All are welcome to visit!

I wanted to make something flowery this week…you know….because it’s Angie. So I decided on Molten Lava Cakes with strawberry roses. Yeah, I know… what on earth was I thinking? First of all, I can’t bake to save my life…we all know the disaster which came from the strawberry cupcakes I attempted a couple of weeks ago… but I really wanted to make them.

IMG_1345

Although molten lava cakes have been done over and over again, and are probably old news for most people… I still love them, and wouldn’t turn one down if offered to me! One of my most favorite things to do is to order one for dessert to share when I’m out for dinner with my friends. I never get tired of that warm chocolate oozing out of the center of the cake, mixed with whipped cream.

The recipe for molten lava cake is pretty much universal. The ingredients and measurements are always the same, except that one person might add some orange liquor, while another might add coffee. Me? Mine is adapted from Betty Crocker’s recipe.. I like to add a little coffee and a little bit of Chambord. The Chambord gives it a lovely raspberry flavor, and this time I chose to make a raspberry sauce with a little added orange juice which gave it a wonderful raspberry citrus flavor… the whipped cream and the strawberry were just an added bonus!

IMG_1379

This is definitely a dessert that needs to be shared… just make sure that you get your fair share!

I’d like to thank Angie for thinking of me…and I’m so happy to be co-hosting with Indira. Indira is a lovely girl..and her blog is so beautiful..with recipes that are pure perfection. I hope that you take the time to stop by I’ll Cook, You’ll Wash to visit! I know you’ll enjoy her blog as much as I do!

If you’d like to join the party, and I really hope you do…please click the link below!  I look forward to seeing you there!

fiesta-friday-badge-button-click-to-join1

Life is good…it’s a “Co-hosting Fiesta Friday with Indira” kind of good…

IMG_1357

Molten Lava Cakes
Makes Six 6oz Cakes

Just a quick note: I use 6 oz ramekins, and this recipe makes six cakes using them. Most recipes call for the oven to be preheated to 425 degrees and bake them for 10 minutes, but I found with my oven that it’s better to bake them for 17 minutes at 375 degrees. I would try just one in your oven before baking all of them to see what works best for you!

The Molten Lava Cakes:
1/2 cup bittersweet chocolate
1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate
1 stick, plus 2 tbsp butter
1/2 cup flour
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
1/4 tsp salt
3 eggs
3 egg yolks
1 tsp instant coffee granules
2 tbsp Chambord
1 tsp vanilla

Preheat oven to 375 degrees
Grease and flour six 6 oz ramekins.

In a microwave proof bowl, melt the bittersweet chocolate and semi-sweet chocolate with the butter in the microwave until smooth. I start out with 30 seconds at a time, stirring each time. It usually only takes a minute to fully melt the chocolate.

In a large mixing bowl, mix the melted chocolate with the eggs, whisking until completely combined. Add the flour and powdered sugar, and stir until blended. Stir in the salt, coffee, Chambord and vanilla just until blended.

Divide the batter between the six ramekins, and place on a baking sheet. Place in preheated oven, and bake for 17 minutes. The outside will be firm to touch, while the inside will be melted chocolate runny.

Invert onto a plate, or leave in cup to serve. Serve with fresh whipped cream and raspberry sauce, and garnish with raspberries or strawberry roses and mint leaves.

Raspberry Sauce:
1 pint fresh raspberries
1/2 cup orange juice
1/4 cup granulated sugar
2 tsp cornstarch

In a small saucepan over low heat, bring the raspberries, orange juice, and granulated sugar to simmer..and cook for about five minutes. Whisk in the cornstarch and cook for about two more minutes. The sauce will thicken upon standing. Serve over the lava cakes.

I found out how to make the strawberry roses from Debbie, at One Little Project at a Time.

IMG_1388

78 thoughts on “Molten Lava Cakes for Fiesta Friday

  1. I have never tried to make a molten lava cake, but you seem to have done it very well. Congratulations and consider making one for me? enjoy the rest of the week!

  2. I have a weakness for these beautiful cakes Prudy, what a great job and beautifully presented too. I just tried sending you an email, following your email button on another subject, but it looks like I had to make up another username and password? Anyway, loved your post 🙂

Leave a Reply

