Tenderloin Sandwiches

IMG_1174
There is a wonderful little Italian store, Pellicano’s, about three miles down the road from my house. I know, right? Lucky me!!  I was so happy when they opened up a few years ago… It truly is wonderful… You receive personal attention and care when you go there. I always know that when I stop there, I can pick up a tenderloin; hand it over to the butcher behind the counter, and it will be trimmed perfectly, and cut exactly the way I request. And always…always with a smile, and friendly chat. The wonderful thing is, if I really don’t know what I want to do with the whole tenderloin, they’re full of suggestions… “How about half of it a roast, a few steaks, and the rest ground up?” “Perfect!”

This time though, I knew exactly what I wanted to do with my tenderloin. I wanted it sliced into think steaks. An adorable girl named Nicole happened to be behind the counter to trim and cut my tenderloin for me. She trimmed and sliced this thing into perfection, the whole while chitchatting with me…or maybe it was me chitchatting with her…but either way, that girl did not miss a beat with every slice. And then, when she finished slicing it, she took care to arrange it so perfectly on a tray…a beautiful thing… I just love that store. Everyone should have a Pellicano’s, with Nicole behind the counter, three miles down the road from them!

IMG_1158

The whole reason I bought this tenderloin is because Katie and Ryan were coming over. I’ve been bugging Ryan to come and show me how he makes a certain snack that I wanted to use for a post on Fiesta Friday… he graciously agreed.. so I wanted to make these tenderloin sandwiches to show my appreciation, and of course love…Well, if you are a blogger, then you know the reality of it… and while I cooked and prepared everything, they had to put their own sandwiches together…and of course they ate while I took photos…but they’re getting quite used to that!

I had the best time with those two. Not only did we sit around and brainstorm about this upcoming snack… but they were also cooking down some maple syrup that they had to bottle up. Now that was fun to watch… even more fun because some of the sap that went into that syrup came from my trees!

Honestly, when they asked if they could tap my trees, I had instant pity for the two of them, because I honestly did not believe that they’d get anything from my old trees. But seriously? It was crazy, I couldn’t believe the amount of sap that just poured out of them! I plan to use that syrup in another post, so will talk more about it then…

IMG_1175

Right now, I want to talk about these sandwiches… tenderloin is so perfect for sandwiches.. you can actually take a normal bite without the whole piece of steak coming out of the sandwich with that bite! Have it cut into ½” slices, and it takes no time at all to cook up. I’ll usually grill it for just a couple of minutes on each side, and then start placing the pieces in a large bowl, and it finishes cooking perfectly from the heat of each steak snuggled together in the bowl. A little salt and pepper is all that’s needed while it’s grilling, since it marinates for a few hours in a Worchestershire and garlic marinade. So simple, so quick, so delicious.

For this sandwich, I bought some smoked Gouda.. sautéed some crimini mushrooms and onions, with a horseradish and chive sauce. The first bite is met with the delicious tenderloin and mushrooms, combined with the smokiness of the gouda, sweetened with the onions, but then…it was totally WOWED with the zing of the horseradish and chives…flavors bursting all over the place…and all at the same time!! A beefy, smoky, zingy kind of thing.. You gotta love it!

IMG_1167

I served them with potato wedges that I tossed in olive oil, balsamic vinegar, rosemary, salt, pepper, and paprika. I served them with a little cup of sour cream on the side.

Life is good… it’s a “hangin’ with your kids, and happy because they actually want to hang with you…” kind of good..

IMG_1175

Tenderloin Sandwiches
Makes Six Large Sandwiches

2 lbs beef tenderloin, 1/2” slices
6 thick slices smoked Gouda
2- 8 oz packages sliced crimini mushrooms
2 tbsp olive oil
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 – large onions, sliced thick
Boston lettuce leaves
Marinade (recipe below)
Horseradish sauce (recipe below)
2 baguettes, each cut into thirds or six ciabatta rolls

For the Marinade:
¼ cup Worchestershire sauce
2 tbsp red wine vinegar
1/2 tsp anchovy paste

1 tsp Dijon mustard

½ cup extra virgin olive oil
4 cloves garlic, roughly chopped
1 tbsp Montreal seasoning

Place the steaks and the marinade in a gallon size bag. Seal and place in the refrigerator for about 4-6 hours.

In the meantime, sauté the onions and garlic in the olive oil until golden brown. Remove from the pan and set aside in a bowl. Add the mushrooms to the pan, and sauté until golden brown.

Prepare your grill as you normally would to cook steak… Remove steaks from marinade (discard marinade) and grill steaks for about four to five minutes on each side until they’re cooked to your preferred doneness. I like to put them in a bowl after I take them off the grill, so that the juices are captured in the bowl, and can be used to drizzle over the steak on the sandwich.

Slice the baguette or roll, and place inside down on the grill to toast.

For the Horseradish Sauce:
2/3 cup mayonnaise
3 tbsp horseradish
2 tsp hot pepper sauce
1 clove garlic, minced
2 tbsp chives, chopped
Salt and pepper to taste

In a small bowl, stir together the mayonnaise, horseradish, hot pepper sauce, chives, garlic, and salt and pepper until blended. Store in refrigerator until ready to use.

Assemble the Sandwich:
Add a generous amount of horseradish sauce to the bottom half of the baguette or roll, and place a Boston lettuce leaf on top.
Place the Gouda on top of the lettuce, and a couple of slices of the steak on top of the Gouda. Add the mushrooms on top of the steak, and the onions on top of the onions. Spoon a generous helping of the horseradish sauce over the onions, and close the sandwich with the top half of the baguette or roll.

Serve warm, and Enjoy!
IMG_1174

62 thoughts on “Tenderloin Sandwiches

  1. Oh, how I wish I had a place like this to get my meat! I used to buy a full tenderloin and do the whole job myself – the cleaning, the cutting, but of course, so much waste, and so many mistakes….

    I think this type of sandwich is close to perfection, you can take a nice bite, and savor it… no need to fight! 😉

    great post!

    • Thank you so much Sally… that makes me happy… 🙂 Oh, I know..I’ve tried to trim the full tenderloin myself.. no more! Plus, this guy will take all of the trimmings and grind it up. It definitely needs to be mixed with a sturdier ground meat, but it brings such a great flavor to meatballs, chili..etc! ❤

  2. I just love a good steak sandwich (and that looks like a good one). Always nice to have the neighborhood “shop” where you are sure to get the best.

    How impressive that your kids tapped your trees for syrup – looking forward to that post.

    • Thank you so much Stacey! You know… I’m so impressed with them too. I can’t believe that they actually did it, and that syrup is so delicious. I need to get the recipe finished before we use it all up! It boggles my mind that with about 80 gallons of sap, they ended up with only a gallon and a half of syrup. It’s treasure. 🙂

  3. That is some excellent service, Prudy! Steak sandwiches are so satisfying. What a great way to show someone your appreciation! Now I’m looking forward to your maple syrup post!

    • Haha!! It’s funny you say that…I was just talking about this sandwich today, and I was telling my co-workers that it was the hardest thing to photograph… I said that it might be a long time until I do another sandwich! They’re very hard to make pretty.. 🙂 thank you so much Margherita.. ❤

  4. Beautiful sandwiches. I look forward to seeing what you do with your maple syrup. I understand your surprise at how much sap you gathered. It is astounding what you get from an old tree.

    • Hilda..I know that you did syrup too…I was telling Katie and Ryan about your adventures, and the amazing recipes you made with it! I just could not believe how that sap poured out of the tree! haha! I think next year they’re going to use hoses going from the tree to a bucket. This year, they tried gallon jugs, and sometimes the jugs were just too heavy to hold the sap, and they fell from the tree. I think they would have had even more sap if those darn jugs didn’t fall! 🙂

  5. Wow! That is a fantastic-looking sandwich! How I’d love to have an store like that near hear. I’ve got a great Italian market but they don’t have beef tenderloin like this. Your horseradish sauce sounds tasty, too.

  6. This looks awesome! I bet it tasted just the same – there are days when it´s got to be a huge sandwich, and next time I feel that way, I will remember this recipe – so thanks a lot!

  7. Phenomenal sandwich and as always fabulous photo. Of course I’m going to need to renovate this one for my needs, but…challenge accepted bc that just looks too good. I almost want to suffer the gluten consequences for it. I suspect it would be worth it! (Don’t worry I really won’t tho! Lol)

  8. Tenderloin, a perfect sandwich… and I just rediscovered my taste for mushrooms again, Gouda a great choice…I may sneak some bacon in that horsey sauce.. my complements to the chef!!!

  9. I know what you mean about having a good, friendly butcher around. I moved out of the city and I don’t have ready access to one. The friendly part is more important, it’s hard to get good service with a smile. These sandwhich look heavenly. My family is still not used to me photographing everything I cook.

  10. Oh yes! Best looking steak sandwich I have ever laid my eyes upon! Everything about it. First of all it’s tenderloin! And your sauce sounds amazing. Your photo’s are looking fabulous! Well, they’ve always looked fabulous, just something is different…new camera maybe? 🙂 Great post and I want one of those now.

    • Thank you Seana! ❤ The sauce definitely makes that sandwich…it's a great kick! And as for my photos, thank you so much…I still have so much to learn, but yes…Katie gave me one of the cameras that she uses for her wedding business. I can't believe the difference between a phone camera… and Katie's camera!! A little natural light is the ticket though!

  11. Woo this looks phenomenal! The restaurant I managed just out of college had tenderloin in a sandwich that the chef paired with a boursin cheese spread and a red onion jam. It was my favorite thing in the world! And this looks just as fantastic!!!

      • Inspired by you I made tenderloin sandwiches this week for my boyfriend. Sadly my camera wasn’t working that day so I won’t be able to blog about them today but they were a huge success! He hasn’t stopped talking about them since 🙂 I did tenderloin topped with chopped mushrooms and garlic and an applewood bleu cheese chili sauce that I made to go on top. Thanks sooo much for the inspiration!!!

    • Thank you so much Pam!! It was a good sandwich, one of those that will only do when you want something hearty (and maybe a little sloppy!)…I was just thinking about it today, and thought that I should head back to the butchers very soon.. I’m so happy you stopped by.. and feel bad that I’m just getting back to everyone tonight. Sometimes life gets a little bit in the way.. I hope you stop back soon… and I look forward to catching up on your blog!! 🙂

  12. Hi Prudy, love each component of this sandwich. such a thoughtful combination of ingredients that work so well together. Thanks! will be making this for my husband (me too).

  13. If those sandwiches would pop out of the screen, I would have them. It’s lunch time and I’m seriously hungry right now! Have a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

