Pepper Pasta

 

IMG_0807

This dish came up at a moment’s notice… There was a display of these gorgeous colorful peppers at my beloved Wegmans last week. I was looking at bananas, when out of the corner of my eye, I saw them. It’s my “sidetrack disorder”…you know… the one that makes me distracted when I see a pretty display… Everything falls to the wayside…

And there they sat…glistening from the mist of the produce rain…
Orange, yellow, red, green…
Beckoning me…

And I had to have them.
They weren’t on my grocery list..
But that didn’t matter.
It never does…

IMG_0819

Bananas forgotten…It was a matter of seconds, and they were in my cart. I knew at that point exactly what I was going to make. Pepper Pasta. I haven’t made it in ages, and to be honest, I just don’t know why. Maybe it’s because the kids hate when I make it. The smell of the peppers just wafts throughout the entire house. They hate the smell of it. Jessica gets the hardest hit, because her bedroom is above the kitchen! Needless to say, I’m the only one who eats it, so I eat it for days. …And that’s probably another reason why I don’t make it that often.

But none of that is neither here, nor there. Kids? What kids? I had the peppers, and the wheels were in motion. I ran around the store with the mental ingredient list..and picked up the rest of the stuff I needed to get this pasta made.

There is something to this sauce that is just so delicious..it makes you want to take another bite, and then another, and then another…. I know exactly what it is…it’s the banana pepper rings. They add a wonderful zing to the flavor. Not a spicy hot zing…but just that pop of flavor that makes you go back for another forkful.

The beauty of this pepper pasta, is that you can eat it hot, as a main dish… or cold, as a side salad! I’ve brought it to many parties as a cold salad, and it’s always a tremendous hit! The dish always comes home empty!

IMG_0816

Pepper Pasta

Just a quick note: You know how I tend to add things at the last minute, right? Well, this time around, I thought it might be good to throw some chicken in with the pasta. I’m going to be honest here… it was good, but I definitely prefer this as a meatless dish, and I probably won’t add chicken again.

I normally use Farfalle for the pasta, but this time around I used the Campanelle. They’re both a beautiful pasta, and both equally hold the sauce well for this dish.

2 boneless chicken breasts, sliced into medallions (your choice, use the chicken or not)
1/3 pound Campanelle pasta (or your choice)
2 tbsp olive oil
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 shallot, minced
1 red pepper, cut into 1″ squares
1 yellow pepper, cut into 1″ squares
1 green pepper, cut into 1″ squares
1 orange pepper, cut into 1″ squares
1 jar mild banana pepper rings, (or hot, your heat preference)
1/4 cup of the banana pepper ring juice, discard the rest
1 – 14.5 oz can petite diced tomatoes with garlic
Salt and pepper to taste
4 oz feta cheese, crumbled
Fresh basil

In a large frying pan, sauté the chicken in the olive oil until fully cooked and browned. Remove from pan onto a plate lined with paper towels. To the pan, add the red, yellow, green, and orange peppers, and shallots. Saute them until they’re browned and semi-softened. Add the garlic, and sauté for another minute or two. Add the banana pepper rings, the 1/4 cup reserved juice, and the petite diced tomatoes.. Simmer on low for about 20 minutes. Salt and pepper to taste.

While the pepper sauce is simmering, bring a pot of water to boil and cook the pasta according to the directions on the box. You want it to be al-dente.

Add the cooked pasta to the sauce using a wire skimmer, and let simmer for about 3 minutes.

If you are planning on serving this as a cold salad, stir the feta and chiffonade of a few leaves of fresh basil into the salad right before you serve it.

If you are serving it hot, garnish the top of the pasta dish with the feta and chiffonade of a few leaves of fresh basil.

Enjoy!
IMG_0819

53 thoughts on “Pepper Pasta

  1. Alright, you got me there girl! I have a sidetrack disorder too ;). Lol..:)))))
    If I nail it through my eyes, it makes to my refrigerator automatically, I dint know how and then on the plate.
    I am a big fan of peppers and your combination of mixing banana peppers to the combo is awesome. Loved it :).

  2. These impromptu purchases are my favourite part of shopping in a good market or green grocers! Though my husband rolls his eyes every time I oooh and ahh over a new find, he would agree those dinners are some of the best we’ve had. 🙂
    The pepper pasta looks lovely!!

  3. One of the things I enjoy most is about your site is that you get “side tracked”, great post. I believe when you are cooking and tasting as you go along, adding things along the way is the right way to approach things, natural veggies and things do not always taste the same.

  4. Even though we are a “non-pepper’ household I have to comment on the uniqueness and originality of this pasta. It’s lovely. My guys are tired of pasta. 😦 I made a very small serving just for me today, and I happily ate it all by myself while they were busy doing other things!

    • Thank you Seana! I’m surprised that you’re a non-pepper household! I’m always amazed at the wide variety of food that you can get Talent to eat…. If I could get Mike to eat half of what Talent does, I’d be thrilled!! I hear you on the pasta… I do the same thing. It doesn’t take long to throw some pasta in a small pan of boiling water…and it satisfies that craving. xx

  5. Your Pepper Pasta sounds great! There aren’t any Wegman’s where I live but I’ve heard it’s a wonderful grocery store–I would probably get sidetracked there, too! 🙂

    • I’m sad for you Nancy! Everyone needs a Wegmans!! It really is a wonderful store…I swear they see me coming from a mile away! They have these bins right at the register which are filled with all kinds of stuff. Usually soap or toothpaste for like 69 cents… I’ll buy one or two every time I’m there. You should see my bathroom cabinets… filled with soap and toothpaste!

  6. Haha, this “distraction disorder” of yours is what other people call creativity 🙂 What a fabulous dish. I can just imagine that bell pepper sweetness mingeling wonderfully in that sauce!

  7. It´s always a little frustrating when the people who share a meal won´t follow your cravings, but sometimes this sort of sidetrack cooking is simply a must! By the way, I would´t mind being served this great pasta dish – any leftovers?

  8. Yum! I love how peppers always add a bit of colour to a dish! This pasta sounds delicious! Also, they’ll grow to appreciate peppers – in the mean time, savour having this dish to yourself!

  9. This is a wonderful dish of pasta that you’ve prepared. Love your use of peppers in this dish. They not only add color but a sweetness, too. Perfect for the feta cheese.

  10. I’m so horrifically allergic to peppers that I normally bypass even photographs of things containing peppers – but this is you and you are irresistible so I stopped by anyway! I love your sidetrack disorder. Beyond adorable. xox

  11. I think I would enjoy this as a room temperature salad while dining outside this summer. It sounds delicious, especially with the addition of the banana peppers.

  12. Pasta and pepper is always a welcome combination for me. This looks mouthwatering and the photography is great. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

