Creme Filled Chocolate Eggs and Mary’s Secret Ingredient

It’s not very often that I have the drive or even desire to do anything crafty. While some might argue these next few words…I have to say that I’m not even remotely crafty. I’m not… Anymore. But something caught my eye last week, and I fell under its spell.

IMG_9810

These adorable eggs.
I mean, do they count as crafty?
I don’t think so…
They’re candy.

But somehow in my mind, they fit in the crafty category…

I had the pleasure of stumbling upon Lorraine’s blog: Not Quite Nigella last week while I was visiting Mary Frances’ blog: Love, the Secret Ingredient to buy a limited edition culinary surprise box.

There, on Lorraine’s blog, were the most adorable chocolate eggs that I’ve ever seen, and I knew right then and there that it would be a matter of time before I tried my own version, and that turned out to be today. Well, technically, I started them the other day..but it takes a couple of days to prepare the eggs for this.

Don’t get too panicky… I say a couple of days to prepare…but it’s a matter of an hour to empty the eggs, wash, sterilize (per Martha Stewart’s instructions), and color them. I let them sit for a couple of days to make sure that they were completely dry before I poured the chocolate into them.

So…the other day…I came across a box of Cadbury creme filled eggs that I had bought for Easter, and I wondered if I could make the eggs creme filled instead of solid chocolate. The hardest part, I thought, would be doing a thin lining of chocolate around the inside of the egg without it running down the sides to end up in a hardened mass at the bottom of the inside of the egg.

IMG_9793

Surprisingly, it worked! I poured a little bit of chocolate into the eggs, and swirled it around the inside of the egg until there was a very thin layer of chocolate covering the sides. I put the eggs in the refrigerator until the chocolate set, about 15 minutes. After the chocolate hardened, I poured a little more chocolate inside, and swirled it around until it covered the sides, and then put them back into the refrigerator to harden for a few more minutes.

While the chocolate was hardening for the second time, I made the creme out of butter, powdered sugar, vanilla, and light corn syrup. It only took a few minutes to mold the creme into the eggs, and top it off with more chocolate to seal the hole in the bottom of the egg.

I was really surprised at how easy they were to make (just plan a couple of days for prep). It worked out nicely, because I just hard boiled the eggs I wanted to color for Easter, and did them all at the same time! And…they’re so cute. They’re a perfect project to do with your kids!

Like I said, the whole reason I found Lorraine’s blog was because I was visiting Love, the Secret Ingredient for Mary’s new product…Mary’s Secret Ingredient (MSI), which is a limited edition culinary surprise box. Culinary and Surprise in one package?? Oh yeah, I’m all for that!!

I really thought this was a cool idea, and wanted to see what it’s all about. Mary offers these boxes (100 available each time) four times a year… Spring, Summer, Fall, and Winter. I love the surprise element of these boxes…with the promise of gourmet and artisanal ingredients! And who knows? Maybe there will be something in there that I’ve never heard of before! I’m always up for finding new products to use in the kitchen.. and this is truly a fun way to do just that!

Mary's secret ingredients

And…Mary will share a recipe on her blog featuring the ingredients. Speaking of Mary’s blog, I urge you to stop by and visit. It’s such a great blog, and her talent goes way beyond her kitchen, with her wonderful heartwarming stories. She’s such a great lady, and I think what finally sold me on MSI, is the fact that Mary will donate 10% of the annual profits from this whole venture to the worldwide Feed the Children! Because in Mary’s words…”No one should go hungry”..

We need more Mary Frances’ in the world to do their part in ending hunger. We should all do our part to help end world hunger….

Life is good… it’s a “creme filled chocolate egg and culinary surprise boxes that are not only fun, but aid in the fight to end world hunger” kind of good.

Creme Filled Chocolate Eggs
Makes One Dozen

A quick note: While the creme filling starts out as a putty consistency, it will soften inside the egg to more of a creme consistency.

I know I probably don’t have to say this, but I need to: Watch young children with these eggs, especially with the eggshell! The eggshell is not meant to be eaten, and could become a choking hazard!!

1 dozen eggs, uncooked
2-3 quarts water
1 tbsp white vinegar

2 cups chocolate (such as Valrhona, that is good for tempering)

2 1/2 cups powdered sugar
3 tbsp melted butter
3 tbsp light corn syrup
1 tsp vanilla extract, or almond extract, or orange extract

Using a sharp paring knife, begin tapping lightly on the bottom of each egg until there is a hole large enough for the whites and yolks to pour out. Carefully rinse the eggshell under warm water until cleaned. Repeat with all eggs. Save the egg carton.

Place the eggshells in a pot of water with white vinegar. Bring to a boil, and boil for 10 minutes, skimming off the foam as it appears. Remove from heat.

Color the eggshells using your favorite egg coloring kit, or food coloring.

To dry them, I placed each eggshell on a skewer that was placed in a jar..and let sit for two days.

IMG_9779
After the eggs are completely dry: Melt the chocolate, and pour about a tablespoon inside the eggshells. Swirl the chocolate around inside the egg, put each egg back in the egg carton, and place in the refrigerator to harden.

Repeat step five with another thin layer inside the eggshell. Place in the refrigerator to harden.

IMG_9773

While the chocolate inside the egg is cooling, mix together the powdered sugar, butter, corn syrup, and extract until well blended. The creme will be very close to a putty consistency.  Remove eggs from refrigerator, and begin packing the creme inside each egg until filled.

IMG_9775

 

 

IMG_9777

Cover the hole on the bottom of the egg with more melted chocolate. Put the filled eggshells back in the egg carton, and place in refrigerator to harden for two hours to overnight.

Use for table decoration, seating markers, or gifts!

Enjoy!!

IMG_9810

55 thoughts on “Creme Filled Chocolate Eggs and Mary’s Secret Ingredient

  1. Oh yum!! These are really good! I WAS also a little crafty, not now! 😀 Uh, what did you do with the eggs you removed from the shells? 🙂 The egg colors are so cute, too! Very creative, Prudy!

  2. Purdy, These are such a crafty idea. Your right they do seem easy to make. You are definitely my go to place for original and yummy things. Thanks for the recommendation to Mary’s site.. heading over now..;)

  3. The eggs are adorable! Easter candy is the best, takes me back to my childhood, coloring eggs and lots of candy! Can’t wait to get my box from Mary Frances and get cookin, it’s such a wonderful idea. So glad you highlighted.

  4. Beautiful and inspiring Prudy! They resemble a work of art… kudos to you for not only giving these a whirl but finding success too! Are you taking orders, Lol??

  5. I absolutely love this idea. They eggs turned out adorable! I might just try this one myself!
    P.S. I love how beautifully you display everything – your pictures are the best!

  6. Iiiiii’m gonna be one of the ‘some’ that argue that you ARE in fact, very crafty Prudy. I know I don’t have the skills (or frankly, the patience) to make these. But they are lovely; well done, you 🙂

Leave a Reply

