Open Face Steak and Radish Sliders

IMG_0756

I know that I’ve mentioned this before, but I cannot bake to save my life. Ask me to prepare a seven-course meal, and I can do that without blinking an eye…but ask me to bring dessert, and that puts me into full panic mode. I mean, I can do the basics, like simple cupcakes or apple pie… but anything else? Forget it.

I had it in my head that I was going to bake strawberry shortcake cupcakes with orange whipped cream this weekend…

Yeah. Right.
What day is it today? Sunday?
I started this project on Friday!

Fail.
BIG Fail.

I thought for sure that this was a winning recipe that I was coming up with. I thought that I’d fill my yellow cupcakes with a strawberry cream cheese mixture, and then top them off with whipped cream loaded with orange peel. I couldn’t get the cream cheese mixture to the consistency/texture I was looking for, and the whipped cream just did not taste good with the orange peel for some reason. Honestly? I think that I tasted the cream cheese and the whipped cream so much, that my taste buds were on over load (once again), and I went to bed last night with that sicky sweet feeling, and a kitchen that looked like a war zone. I had gone through way too many batches of cupcakes.

Before I fell asleep, I was trying to figure out what I could do with the remaining cupcakes…something that would be easy for my very low level of baking expertise, yet pretty enough to post. At that point, my thoughts turned to a banana Boston cream cupcake.

So this morning, I looked at the cupcakes sitting on my island, which were all ready to fill, and I just couldn’t do it…

I just didn’t have it in me to fight the banana cream fight.

IMG_0767

So…I made some chocolate frosting, frosted the cupcakes and put myself into pure heavenly yellow and chocolate filled bliss.. because, as you know (or should know by now..) yellow cupcakes with chocolate frosting and sprinkles are my most favorite. Like…in the whole wide world, favorite.

And, on my yellow cupcake with chocolate high, my brain turned to what I know best…

Savory.

I bought a beautiful bunch of radishes the other day, with the plans of sautéing them. And as I was pulling them out of the fridge, my eye caught sight of a half of a container of baby spinach that should be used up. Hmmm… did I want to throw that in with the radishes? Sounds good, but I decided instead that I’d try to cream the spinach in a pepper jack cream, and put that with the sautéed radishes on toasted baguettes.

IMG_0758

A little tenderloin, cut into bite size pieces, and sautéed in garlic would make a perfect addition to this…and that’s how I came up with open face steak sliders.

They’re delicious. They’re perfect for a light dinner, for lunch, for appetizers…

Life is good. Well, it wasn’t good for the last two days while I was trying to pretend I know how to bake, but life is good now because  I finally admitted to myself that I’m not a baker, and I got to eat my YCWCF, and came up with a rockin’ slider…
kind of good.

IMG_0749

Open Face Radish and Steak Sliders
Makes 12 sliders
(They’re about 2” x 1-1/2” in size, so figure about four sliders per person)

Not into beef? Change it to chicken! Or for that matter, make them completely meatless by using sautéed zucchini or summer squash, or even tofu! The beauty of these sliders is that they’re very versatile!

1 mini baguette, sliced
Olive oil for drizzling

1 8 oz filet mignon (or your choice of steak)
1 clove garlic, roughly chopped
1 tbsp butter
salt and pepper to taste

2 cups baby spinach, stems removed
1 cup heavy cream
2 tsp butter
2 tsp white pepper
1/2 tsp salt
4 oz pepper jack cheese, shredded

6 radishes, sliced thin
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 tbsp chives
2 tsp butter
salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Place the baguette slices on a baking sheet, drizzle with olive oil. Place in preheated oven, and bake for about 10 minutes, until golden brown. Remove from oven and set aside.

Thinly slice the steak, and cut the slices into bite size pieces. Melt 1 tablespoon butter in a small skillet, and add the 1 clove of roughly chopped garlic. Saute for about a minute, and then add the steak. Fry the steak until just cooked, leaving it a little pink if you prefer. Season with salt and pepper, remove from heat, and set aside.

Melt 2 teaspoons butter in a medium frying pan. Add the heavy cream, 2 teaspoons white pepper, 1/2 teaspoon salt, and whisk until blended. Cook until thickened, about five minutes. Remove from heat, and add pepper jack cheese. Stir until the cheese is completely melted. Add the spinach to the cheese mixture, and stir until the spinach is wilted. If you find that you need a little more heat to wilt the spinach, go ahead and turn the heat back on for a minute or two. Not too long, so that your cheese doesn’t turn gritty. Remove from heat, and set aside.

Melt 2 teaspoons butter in a medium frying pan. Add the garlic, and sauté for about a minute. Add the radishes to the pan, and sauté for about 10 minutes. At the last minute, stir in the chives. Season with salt and pepper, remove from heat, and set aside.

IMG_0757

Assembling the sliders:
Start by placing about a tablespoon of the spinach/cheese mixture on top of each baguette. Add a few pieces of the steak on top of the spinach. Layer three slices of radish on top of the beef.

Bake for about 5 minutes at 350 degrees, or until heated through. Garnish with chives.

Enjoy!!

IMG_0748

75 thoughts on “Open Face Steak and Radish Sliders

  1. Wonderful tale. You know, for one of these Fiesta Fridays we all should band together for a “reality” post and feature a slide show of our war zones after the cooking and before the clean up! And mug shots of our faces and clothing would be great too, don’t you think???

  2. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #9 | The Novice Gardener

  3. Both your cupcakes and sliders look great, Prudy! But I’m so curious to see the strawberry shortcake ones! Teehee! I made strawberry vanilla cupcakes today. My photo session was cut short because my reflector fell over and smashed the cupcakes. No worries, only the frosting suffered, but still. I normally take photos of my cooking fails, but I was just too irritated by this one to even bother. 😉

    • Patty….I am trying not to laugh, but it is slowly creeping out! 😉 I laugh, because you know this is me totally! The other day I made such a crazy mess with the cinnamon that it somehow even got into the silverware drawer and I had to take the silverware out to clean up all the cinnamon. I still have no idea how it got in there….ROFLOL. You & Me….we could make awesome messes together….even when we are trying hard not to! 🙂 Love it! And those cupcakes….wow, they sound good!

    • Oh no, Patty!! That’s such a shame… Were you able to get some photos at least? I can’t wait to see your cupcakes..
      So it was the weekend for strawberry cupcake disasters! I hear you, I was so irritated..I mean, how hard is it to make a cream cheese filling?? Obviously for me, very hard… lol.
      I don’t know…maybe I’ll give it another shot! I really hope to see your cupcakes!!

      • Yes, I was able to get some photos! And you should absolutely give it another shot! Was your cream cheese at room temperature? Let me know how your next attempt goes! I’ll post my cupcakes for the fiesta this Friday. They aren’t as pretty as they usually are, and that irritated me too!!

    • Hahaha! Guess what? It was March 29 and I was preparing whipped cream frosting for my friend’s Boss’s (is that even correct?) birthday and when I tried to spoon out the frosting (well, to try it), it fell over my leggings. 😀

  4. I loved reading this Prudy! Your story resonated with mine way too many times! 🙂 I start trying one thing and it doesn’t turn out right and I end up making something entirely different! 🙂 This looks absolutely delicious! Truly! And I don’t even like radishes, but I would definitely try this! Great job!

  5. I’m glad to hear that I’m not the only one who changes her mind while she’s cooking… sweet or savoury… it’s always a big dilemma! Both look great, but the steak an radish sliders have my first vote!

  6. Oh Prudy, I can really relate to your story about the baking! It’s really not my thing either and I have made so many flops!! Today my husband asked me about one that was in the fridge – I told him to just put it in the garbage can!! However, your steak sliders look perfect! I would eat them in a heartbeat!

  7. Love the sliders and I am SO with you on the cupcakes, yellow cake with chocolate icing is heavenly and one of my all time favorites, next is chocolate cake with white (cream cheese) frosting. Beautiful photo’s too!

  8. The radishes are lovely right now aren’t they! I went to the Sunday Market up the street yesterday and the only thing the farmer’s had out were radishes and potatoes. Open face steak sliders sound like my kind of sandwich. I always get so full from the bread and so I like the idea of only one slice of great looking bread. Great recipe Prudy!

    • I’m back because I totally forgot to say something about your new masthead! It’s awesome! I bet you are so happy with it. It’s so “cute” and inviting. And also the “about me” drawing. Someone did a gorgeous job Prudy.

    • Thank you Seana! I think for every radish I sliced, I popped another into my mouth! They’re so crunchy and fresh..
      Yes, me too. I love open face sandwiches, mostly because while I love bread, I usually love what is inside the bread more… 🙂

  9. Ohhhhh these look fantastic! I was just thinking I should plant radishes the other day and now I am convinced. I am CERTAIN you were on sweet tooth overload with the orange whipped cream because it sounds perfect. Chocolate is good too! Love these sliders the most though. Pinning!

    • Thank you so much for stopping by, Heather! I’m so glad you did… 🙂

      Oh yes, definitely plant radishes!! You can do pretty much anything with them, and they just scream summer.. which is what we are in dire need of at the present moment… I wonder if you can freeze radishes.. I bet you can.
      Haha..I might give it another try with the orange whipped cream. But doggone it, I could not get the strawberry filling right. Maybe in a couple of weeks.. or days… you just never know! 🙂

  10. I’m so far behind on my blog reading…but I LOVE your new header! Adorable 🙂 Oh my gosh, these sliders look amazing. I’ve been craving steak and savory things lately and I know this would hit the spot!!

    • I saw a pop up from WordPress on my phone, and saw that it was from sweet Amy..and I had to pop over here really quick to say hello! It’s so good to hear from you Amy!! I can’t wait to see what’s going on with your house!
      Don’t feel bad, I’m so far behind on blogs too… I’m actually so bad that I’m still responding to comments on my grilled strawberry ice cream sandwiches!! That’s actually what I was doing when I saw your name pop up!
      Thank you…the sliders are really good..and I think I’m with you on the savory thing. Sweets are ok, but I definitely want savory more right now. 🙂

  11. Lol… Prudy! You always make me laugh! Thanks for that! As I mentioned recently to another blogger, a day without laughter is a day squandered. That’s what makes visiting your blog such a joy. I don’t want you to think I’m laughing at you, of course, but it was all so funny. Who knew cupcakes could be so vexing. Love that word vexing! The end results are beautiful, though. Something to be proud of, even if they’re not strawberry cream cheese. The open sandwiches look ah-mah-zing! There’s something gourmet and haute cuisine about them, with sautéed radishes and all. YUM!

    Love, love, love the new header, btw!! I’ve been working on mine sloooowly… also hand-drawing, but it won’t turn out as beautiful as yours, I know that already.

    • Haha…Angie.. laughter is truly the best medicine. I don’t take it as you’re laughing at me, and if you were, it would be ok, because I’d probably be laughing right along with you!
      You’re not kidding.. they’re so vexing. Little “vexons”, cupcakes are! Excellent word choice. 🙂
      Thanks so much for your kind words! It means so much to me..
      Silly girl..there is no doubt in my mind that your header will be absolutely gorgeous. I’ve only known you a little over a month, and everything that I’ve seen that comes from you is nothing but perfection. Artistic and beautiful perfection. I can’t wait to see it!

  12. Haha, yes all that piping and decorating malarkey is not my thing either. I stick to the basic: take a bowl, throw some stuff together and tip into one large (or several small muffin) tins. Max I stretch to is to sprinkle with seeds 🙂 But to be honest: I’d also much rather eat one of those fabulous sandwiches and a sugary, forst coverd cupcake 🙂

    • Haha Lorraine! I wish that were the case…. I still cannot resist sweets, especially when someone else makes them for me!! Unfortunately, I buy a lot of the baked goods in this house! I’m totally going to try your chocolate eggs though! Hopefully I can properly temper the chocolate! Thank you so much for stopping by, I’m so glad you did! 🙂

  13. Well the sliders look and sound amazing but honestly – I’ve made a couple of your desserts – your Mexican wedding cakes, your plain white cookies, and those wicked brownie in a jar extravaganzas – and I’d have to say – I absolutely disagree that you can’t bake! Love your new look blog too.

    • Lol..Lindy… thank you so much. You are way too sweet, and it is totally appreciated. I bake what I know I can bake…and usually get myself on a mission when there is something that I know I’m not so good at…like chocolate chip cookies….forget it. I cannot bake a chocolate chip cookie!
      I have Marielle Reuser to thank for my new look… she’s an awesome artist. Love that girl. 🙂 xoxo

      • Prudy – interesting. I just posted my all-time favourite recipe – for chocolate chip and crystallized ginger cookies. Now I really want you to try these because yes you can bake a chocolate chip cookie. YES YOU CAN! And if you won’t bake them – I’m sending you some. Seriously.

  14. I’m not sure if the mail I sent you from your aboutme page was sent so to be sure I post it here as well:

    Annie in NOLA has been kind enough to nominate me for a Libster Award and now I’m nominating you

    There are some rules to being nominated: • Answer the questions you were given by the person who nominated you • Keep the ball rolling and nominate 11 new blogs with 500 followers or less • Post 11 new questions for your nominees to answer • Tag your nominees and be sure to leave a comment on their blog letting them know they’ve been nominated.

    My questions to you is:
    1 Country side or city, what do you prefer?
    2 Cats or dogs, what do you prefer?
    3 What were your hobbies when you were a kid?
    4 Why did you start to blog?
    5 Favourite holiday destination?
    6 Favourite kind of music?
    7 Favourite kind of food?
    8 Favourite book of all times?
    9 Wine or beer, what do you prefer?
    10 Hiking or luxury hotel, what do you prefer?
    11 Watching TV or surfing the net, what do you prefer?

    If this has no interest for you just forget the whole thing, if it sounds interesting start answering the questions and find 11 blogs you like to nominate

    Greatings from Ted at Recipereminising

  15. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #10 | The Novice Gardener

  16. Ahh, I can relate with going to bed with that kind of feeling, Prudy!

    But, you know what? You could make more cupcakes or cakes or whatever you want to bake. Fail and try again, yes? Well, it’s good to try. Uh, even so many times. Am I right?

    The cupcakes look yummy and beautiful. The sliders, too. ❤

      • Well, I did get some fight with the yeast beast few weeks back. 😀 I thought I will never have to see that beast again but I guess I will have to face it some other time – when I am ready… again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

