Asparagus and Mushroom Frittata

They say it takes a village to raise a child, and that may be true… but in my little world, I can honestly say that it takes a village to build a frittata…

IMG_0717

I’ve always avoided making frittatas. I’m not sure why, I just have. Maybe the word “avoided” is a little exaggerative…maybe it’s more like “shied away from”…. But that ended the other day when I made my very first one…It was made up of sautéed mushrooms, onions, asparagus, parmesan cubes, and Italian sausage. I sliced a few potatoes, and made a crust with them in the bottom of the pan by frying them until they were golden brown and crisp. I thought for sure those ingredients would have made a frittata filled with flavor, but instead, I found it to be very bland.

Because I cannot post a recipe unless I’m absolutely confident that others will love it, I brought it to work with me the next day and left a note on it asking my friends, who are also my co-workers, to try it and tell me what it needed…

Yes, I’m comfortable enough to ask them to be my guinea pigs…and yes…they’re comfortable enough to be completely honest with me!  Honestly?  I don’t think they mind..

IMG_0713

All in all, they liked it…The majority said to leave it as is, that it was delicious. But then some of the suggestions were that I sauté the asparagus and potatoes in bacon grease, sharper cheese and more of it…possibly using a couple of different cheeses, more black pepper, and maybe a little more onion and garlic.  Oh, and chives and scallions.  Chives and scallions?  Brilliant!!   So really, I wasn’t really way off track… they only had a couple of suggestions; and maybe it wasn’t as bland as I thought…

You know…sometimes that happens. You spend all that time cooking, and it’s hard to taste the food after a while.. maybe it’s because we smell it so much as we’re cooking, our taste buds are on overload. Kind of like when you go on a wine tour, after the third or fourth winery, all of the wines taste the same!

I was kind of glad that they didn’t suggest green or red peppers, because while I LOVE them, I really don’t care for peppers and eggs together. I mean, I’ll eat it, but I’ve always thought that the peppers overtake the eggs.

IMG_9658

I went home that same night and made another one using their suggestions…I decided to keep the parmesan, but added it to the eggs as I whisked them.  I added some sharp cheddar, too.  Another small onion, a clove of garlic, and a sliced scallion. I sautéed everything (except the scallion, which I added right before I poured the eggs in) in bacon grease, and added more black pepper. I garnished it with raw scallions and chives. It was delicious!  And honestly? I think that the garlic was the main factor that was missing from the first go round.. and the sharpness of the cheddar, and the bite of the scallions and chives gave it that oomph that I was looking for…and I received all thumbs up from my friends, because they got to try it again the next day!!

And now? I’m totally hooked on these things. Who knew that they were this easy? I don’t know why it took me so long to make one.. and I LOVE that the possibilities are endless! And now that we’re heading into asparagus season… we’ll be eating a lot of frittatas!

Life is good…. It’s all about learning how to make frittatas and asparagus coming into season kind of good…

IMG_0708

Asparagus and Mushroom Frittata

1 pound asparagus, woody ends discarded
10 eggs
½ cup heavy cream
Bacon grease (or olive oil)
½ pound bulk Italian sausage
1 large onion, chopped (about 3/4 cup to 1 cup)
1 clove garlic, minced
1-2 scallions, sliced thin
2 large potatoes, thinly sliced
2 cups sliced mushrooms (I used baby bella)
8 oz sharp cheddar, grated
4 oz parmesan, finely grated
Salt and pepper to taste
Scallions and chives for garnish

Just a quick note: I know that it’s the general rule that you use a cast iron skillet to make a frittata. I didn’t. I used my Calphalon pan, and it worked just fine. You want to use a pan that you can take right off of the stovetop to put right into the oven. I have to say that the frittata slid right out of the Calphalon.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

You’ll be sautéing everything separately, so make sure you season it all properly with salt and pepper!
Melt about two tablespoons of bacon grease in a large frying pan (or skillet). Saute the onions and garlic. Remove the onions and garlic from the pan, and set aside. Saute the asparagus until it’s partially cooked. Remove from the pan, and set aside. Saute the mushrooms until they’re golden brown, about five minutes. Remove from pan, and set aside. Add the sausage to the pan, and cook thoroughly.

If you think you need a little more grease for the potatoes, add about another tablespoon to the pan. Begin laying the potatoes in the pan, around the edge, overlapping the potatoes until the bottom of the pan is covered. Season with salt and pepper and cook on medium high, covered, until the bottom of the potatoes are golden brown, and they’re tender. Remove from heat.

Take about one half of the asparagus, and cut into one inch pieces. Save the other half for the top of the frittata.

IMG_9639

IMG_9640

Begin layering the ingredients on top of the potatoes (in the pan): sausage,onion mixture, mushrooms, asparagus, cheddar, raw sliced scallions.

Whisk the eggs and heavy cream together in a large bowl until light and fluffy.  Mix in the grated parmesan.  Pour over the layered ingredients in the pan. Season the top with salt and pepper.

Arrange the remaining asparagus stalks on top of the frittata (as pictured). Place in preheated oven, and bake for about 15 minutes, or until the eggs are set.

IMG_9643

 

IMG_9650

 

Cut into wedges, and enjoy!

IMG_9662

56 thoughts on “Asparagus and Mushroom Frittata

  1. I bet this frittata was delicious, Prudy! I love that you had your coworkers try the first one and give you feedback. As long as you trust them and feel comfortable, I think feedback from a group outside the house is invaluable. Because, let’s face it, no one sitting at my table would give me completely honest feedback because I’m feeding them!

  2. I love frittata and this is a great combination for one. Great feedback from your co-workers and I love how you went home and tried again. Very persistent you are! 😉 I agree with you about bell peppers…in my opinion they don’t belong in eggs. Lovely photograph with your toast!

    • Thank you Seana! Yes, I just think that peppers overtake the eggs, and that’s all I can taste then. Oh yeah, I have wonderful co-workers…they’re great about giving me honest feedback. Yep, there are times that I’ll redo a recipe a few times before I get it right to post! Lol.. 🙂

  3. I’ve always referred to it as the ultimate omelette.Eggs are one of my favorite foods, and I enjoy seeing them incorporated in your dishes.

  4. I want that slice right there, right now, the one served with the perfectly toasted toasts! Then, another for dessert. Is that allowed? It is some kind of a pie and sliced like a cake, isn’t it? 🙂

  5. Love the team effort that went into this recipe! We have waaaay too much cheese, so cheesy frittata will be making an appearance at our house this week, with your tips and tricks.

  6. We eat frittata at least once a week, mine is far simpler, with much less fat. No cream at all, no added oil either except to grease the pan. I simply mix chopped cooked vegetables, potatoes and spinach, asparagus is always a favourite and sometimes bacon, with the eggs, season it well with salt and pepper, slip it into the heated pan, top it with shredded cheese then cook the bottom half on the stove. I put the pan under the broiler to cook the top. It takes 15 mins to make and cook

  7. Oh I love frittata, is your calphalon non stick? Frying in bacon grease is a great idea and I love the addition of garlic, have never done that before. I like my frittata cheesy so the parm and cheddar is wonderful. It turned out perfectly!

    • Thank you Suzanne! Yes, it’s non stick. I admit to not being a very good egg cooker in anything but non-stick pans. I know, right? I originally thought of garlic, but then decided against it the first time around because I was afraid that it would overtake the eggs. I was wrong. It was exactly what this frittata was calling out for.. 🙂

  8. Oh my gosh…. that cheesy perfection! I am completely and utterly drooling right now! I love frittatas but I hardly ever make them. I need to change that quick smart… with this recipe. Thanks Prudy!

  9. This looks seriously yummy (minus the mushrooms – I am not a fan!) but I am interested especially in the bacon grease – do you buy it or render it yourself? Sounds a lovely idea, and I am jealous of your colleagues!

    • Thank you! Mushrooms are a “love them” or “hate them” kind of thing… so that’s totally ok!! 🙂 I render the bacon grease, save it every time I cook bacon for breakfast. I usually don’t use a lot of it, but it’s nice to have on hand when you want a rich flavor in a dish.
      Come work with us! 🙂 I’ll feed you!

  10. You always manage to make me smile. Love the opening – the bit about taking a village to make a frittata. Frittatas are my go-to meal. I make them so often my family groans about them. I turn out frittatas like most people turn out pasta. There are seriously ten million variations but NO red or green peppers in mine either since I’m horribly allergic and am so glad you said they overtake the eggs. Spicy sausage and feta is one of my favourite combinations. Pancetta and blue cheese is also pretty amazing. Cremini mushroom. Garlic scapes. Asparagus. Potato and cheddar. Bacon and tomato. Arugula and romano. Etc. etc. etc. You got me so excited that I’ve written an entire blog post write here in your comment box. ♥

  11. Pingback: A Forager’s Feast | The Novice Gardener

  12. Pingback: Summer Plate With Scrambled Eggs And Cured Ham / Sommertallerken Med Eggerøre Og Spekeskinke | RecipeReminiscing

Leave a Reply

