Twisted Tuesday… Grilled Strawberry Ice Cream Sandwiches

IMG_9548

I have a lot of happy memories from my childhood, some of them are real… and I’m sure that some of them are probably embellished by a little girl who thought that those things happened, but maybe not exactly the way she thought they did…and sometimes different things going on in my life spark bits and pieces of those memories for a fleeting second or two.

My memories of my Grandpa Bucolo are just snippets in my mind… Grandpa passed away when I was about 8 years old, so while I have memories of him, they’re vague…But strawberries tend to spark strong memories of Grandpa…and I envision me in a strawberry patch eating strawberries, and him in his metal patio chair saying in a stern, yet joking…Italian laden accent:  “Get outta my strawberries..”  Now, whether he was actually sitting in a chair, I don’t know… but his words are a strong memory…

IMG_9529

But then again…
I was a little girl, it was years and years ago…
And sometimes my memories aren’t that accurate…

Like this memory… I must have been about five years old… and I remember falling out of bed.  I can remember that my mom came in to my bedroom and helped me back into my bed… and then I can remember hearing her say to my father: “She must have hit a tree”…

I don’t know why, but that has always stayed with me….and I  brought it up to my mom quite a few years ago, because over the years, I couldn’t understand why she would have said “She must have hit a tree”… when obviously, there was no tree in my bedroom!  She sat there and thought about it for a minute… and said: “Could it be possible that maybe I said: ‘She must have had a dream..'”….   Oh, my gosh… yeah, now that makes sense!!  We laughed and laughed about that one!!  But once in a while, that memory pops up into my head… and I can still clearly hear my mom saying: “She must have hit a tree…”…even though I know it’s not the way it happened..

IMG_9561

Sometimes those memories, right or wrong, are embedded in our brains…and we are going to remember them the way we want to remember them.. So whether or not that actually happened with my grandpa.. it is what I remember, and what I hold on to because that’s all I have of him.

Strawberries and Grandpa Bucolo.  They just belong together, and the whole time I made these sandwiches, I thought of him.

IMG_9565

Now…I can’t take full credit for this idea today… Kelsey Nixon made these cute little strawberry sandwiches on one of her shows not too long ago, and I thought that was the cutest idea.

I thought that these would be fun to share on Twisted Tuesday, but with my own twist…

Kelsey made hers with a lemon cream, grilled strawberries and poundcake.  I changed it up just a little bit to suit my personality and taste, and of course, I added some Nutella, and thought it would be cool to make them into ice cream sandwiches.  A perfect twist to an ice cream sandwich!

These little beauties are so easy to make, and such a cool and refreshing dessert, or summertime treat!  The vanilla ice cream loaded with fresh strawberries and blueberries was so delicious with the Nutella and pound cake.  I would say that you could even make deconstructed ice cream sandwiches with a slice of pound cake frosted with Nutella, a scoop of ice cream on top, with macerated strawberries poured over the top!

Life is good. It’s memories filled with sweet strawberries on a summer’s day kind of good… 

IMG_9546

Grilled Strawberry Ice Cream Sandwiches
Makes 4 Ice Cream Sandwiches

Just a quick note:
I grilled the pound cake and strawberries (on my stovetop), but you don’t have to grill them, if you don’t have a griddle.  If you prefer, you can toast the pound cake, and roast the strawberries…or do absolutely nothing to them and eat them as is! They’re delicious, no matter how you choose to eat them!

Try this with peaches, nectarines, cherries, or any kind of fruit that might tickle your fancy!! Pineapple! Oh, this would be so good with pineapple!!  Have fun and mix it up!

One pound cake, ½” slices  (recipe below)
12 large fresh strawberries, sliced in half
2 cups vanilla ice cream
1 cup fresh strawberries, chopped
½ cup fresh blueberries
Nutella (chocolate hazelnut spread)

Line a 11×7” pan with plastic wrap.

Place the ice cream in a large mixing bowl, and leave at room temperature until softened.  Add the chopped strawberries and blueberries to the ice cream, and mix well.  Pour into the prepared 11×7” pan, cover with more plastic wrap, and place in freezer, until frozen. Cut into rectangles to fit the slice of pound cake.

IMG_9494

IMG_9496

IMG_9506

Place the pound cake on a heated griddle, and grill until it’s toasted with golden brown grill lines, about three to five minutes on each side.   Remove from the griddle, and set aside.

IMG_9493

IMG_9501

Place the strawberry halves on the griddle, and grill until they have seared grill lines on them, about three to five minutes on each side.  Remove from griddle and set aside.

IMG_9504

To assemble the ice cream sandwiches:
Spread the Nutella on the inside of two slices of pound cake. Place one rectangle of ice cream on top of the Nutella on one slice of pound cake. Place six strawberry halves on top of the ice cream, and top with the other slice of pound cake, Nutella side down. Wrap in plastic wrap, and store in freezer until ready to serve.

IMG_9508

IMG_9509

 

IMG_9510

The Pound Cake:
This makes two pound cakes.  Freeze one for another day, or double the recipe above to make 8 ice cream sandwiches!

3 cups all purpose flour
3 tsp salt
4 sticks butter, room temperature
2 cups sugar
10 large eggs, room temperature
2 tsp vanilla paste (or vanilla extract)

IMG_9489

IMG_9490

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

Butter two 9″ x 5″ loaf pans.

Sift the flour and salt in a small mixing bowl. Set aside.

Cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add the eggs, one at a time until incorporated. Add the vanilla and beat for about a minute.

Add one cup of flour at a time until it’s completely incorporated.  Pour into prepared loaf pans.  Bake for about an hour, or until a cake pick inserted in the center of the cake comes out clean.  Remove from pans, and cool completely on cooling rack.  Slice into 1/2″ slices.

Enjoy!!

IMG_9546

71 thoughts on “Twisted Tuesday… Grilled Strawberry Ice Cream Sandwiches

  1. My, oh my…a delicious handful of pure deliciousness! There’s not one element in this frozen sandwich I don’t like, which would make it difficult to decline seconds!
    Lovely story of memories too! I think the memories associated with food have a “hand” in determining what my favorites are! Your story of the “tree” keeps taking me to that movie “George of the Jungle”…I just keep thinking – watch out for that tree!! Lol

    • Thank you Nancy! I completely agree with you… happy memories and food definitely go hand in hand.
      Hahaha!! Thanks for that…now I have “George of the Jungle” going through my head!! I’ll be calling you at 3am to sing it to you!! 🙂

  2. I loved reading your post, and I love how you set them up in those papers…you are so artistic! Beautiful! Loving these “twisted Tuesdays!”

  3. Lovely story Pru! Love to ponder old memories. These ice cream sandwiches are so amazing. I hope your family expressed their excitement as much as I imagine I would if your served these to me! I even had to show Talent and I wish you could have seen his reaction. I really like how you grilled the bread and the strawberries. And, brilliant move on making the ice cream too!

    • Thank you Seana! To be honest, it was me, and only me that enjoyed them! I guess it was something about grilling the poundcake and the strawberries that scared everyone else away! Lol… Oh well. I would have happily shared them with Talent, you, and Trevor! 🙂

  4. I have brought myself to tears a few time times writing posts about the memory of loved ones and their connection to a particular food. Your Grandpa was guiding your hand on this one, a scrumptious idea!!

  5. Ooooh wow, do these look lovely! I can see these being a perfect dessert for a Memorial Day or Fourth of July barbeque…I’m so ready for summer/sick of winter, can’t you tell? lol

    I have random, odd memories from my childhood all the time- the snippets are the ones that oddly enough make me feel the most nostalgic. Funny how that works lol

    I’m really loving your Twisted Tuesday posts- keep them coming, they’re all so yummy ❤

    • Thank you my love! Yes..the red, white, and blue! Perfect!!

      You and me both, Jess…I’ve had just about enough of winter, we got another six inches of snow on Saturday night…but then today it’s almost up to 50. It’s starting it’s yo-yo thing, so it’s just a matter of time before we’re posting warm summer recipes!! 🙂

      Yep, I really think my snippets are half made up, and half true! lol

      I’ve had so many people tell me to keep the twisted Tuesdays, I probably will, but maybe once a month! xxooxx ❤

  6. I’ve really enjoyed reading you post.. you made me think a lot, because you’re right saying that we keep in mind ideas in the way we want they stay. I could take this phrase and “sift” several episodes of my life… such a hard work!!! talking about your recipe you keep impressing me… how many fantasy you have??? thanks for sharing!

    • Thank you Margherita…I do think that we keep in our minds the happy memories the way we want them to be! Sometimes I’ll be thinking of something that might have happened years ago, and then I start wondering…did that really happen, or did I dream that? Lol… If it’s happy, then I keep it as if it was real.

      I see that my Aunt Linda responded to my post here, and she tells me that I’m correct about this particular memory of my grandpa…and that makes me happy. 🙂

  7. What a sweet post…the story and the strawberry sandwiches. Leaves me with thoughts of a picnic on a beautiful summer day, sitting on a crisp white sheet over soft green grass and reminiscing on memories. Love this post!

  8. Hi Pru, Loved this episode in your ‘twisted Tuesdays’ series. Your memory of Pa (yes, it probably was a metal garden chair, later he used a wooden CIO chair – long story) in the strawberry patch brought floods of memories and a few tears. Your sandwiches look wonderful. Wish I lived with you. By the way, he adored you. And so do I. Aunt Linda

    • Aunt Linda… Thank you. I’m so happy to know that those memories are real…right down to the metal chair…because it means that it actually happened, and that strawberries still belong with grandpa.

      Come live with me. Better yet, let me come live with you. I like your house better.. xxooxx You have cool stuff. 🙂

      It’s comforting to know he loved me. I mean, I know that’s what it is, grandparents love their grandchildren.. but it’s nice to know. I love you too. More than you know. xx

  9. Your a genius, and from a man that’s spun a yarn or two…I really enjoy the personal touch you add to each recipe

  10. I know exactly what you mean. Memories are funny. It is the essence of the experience of a memory, not the accuracy that is important.

    Love the lunch box; really cool. Beautiful presentation and what glorious looking berries. Yum.

  11. I enjoyed reading about your Granpa Bucolo…i never got to see the Grandpa on my Dads, side. My Grandma was lonely for years. I love the grilled strawberry ice cream sandwiches. They mud be more than addictive!!!

    • Oh man, Christina. It is so nice to meet you…I can tell you are my kind of girl already… grilling pound cake and butter? Now that is what I’m talking about!! You’re right, add strawberries and ice cream to the mix… CRAZY GOOD!! thank you so much for stopping by…I’m so glad you did! 🙂

  12. Pingback: You cook it, I draw it! | Miss Beretta Illustration

Leave a Reply

