Twisted Tuesday… Eggs Benedict Ravioli

It’s Twisted Tuesday once again, and every week I think to myself that this is the last week for this, but then an idea pops into my head, and I think “Okay, one more week..”

IMG_9283

This past Saturday, Michael had some friends over to play cards and watch movies, and then they would spend the night. I went out and bought bacon, eggs, bread, etc…and planned on making them a big breakfast on Saturday morning. Well, I got up and started right in.. got the bacon frying, started mixing the eggs for French toast… and while I was doing that, I was watching the cooking channel. Giada was on, and she was making ravioli. I was half listening to the TV, and half zoning out while preparing the breakfast…and I started thinking about Eggs Benedict. I thought how nice it would be if the boys all liked it, and I would be making that for them instead of boring old bacon and eggs.

I’m not exactly sure where it came from..
But it hit me…
Eggs Benedict Ravioli.

Yep. You read it correctly!
Eggs. Benedict. Ravioli.

IMG_9295

I thought about it all day Saturday, trying to figure out how I would actually prepare it. Would I stuff the ravioli with eggs and Canadian bacon, and then cover it with hollandaise? But the eggs would have to be scrambled in order to stuff the ravioli, because otherwise, how would I successfully put a poached egg inside a ravioli without the yolk fully cooking when I boiled the ravioli?

I had quite the quandary..
But it didn’t last long…

I decided to make the ravioli out of egg roll wrappers, with ricotta and pepper jack cheese. I thought that the pepper jack would give it a spicy kick. I thought that I’d cut the Canadian bacon into matchsticks, and fry them until they were crisp. I knew in my heart of hearts that the egg had to be poached, because I’m pretty sure it’s sacrilege to serve Eggs Benedict without a runny yolk….and the hollandaise? Yeah, it definitely had to be homemade.

IMG_9274

I went out Sunday morning early to get the ingredients and immediately set out to make the Eggs Benedict Ravioli. They were easy to make, and in no time at all, I had a test plate of them ready for Jessica and me to try. I took a few bites… Delicious. Jessica took a couple of bites, and then took the plate out of my hands and proceeded to eat the whole thing!! It was definitely Eggs Benedict, but with a twist…the hollandaise and runny yolk totally delicious over the ravioli, and with that beautiful spicy kick at the end? Perfect!!

I will definitely make this again!! While I’m still debating whether I want to end the Twisted Tuesday theme, I’m glad that I didn’t… at least for this week!

Oh, and by the way… the boys breakfast… As I was cooking the French toast, it dawned on me that I hadn’t heard any noise coming from the living room (where the boys would be sleeping). I looked in the living room… there wasn’t anyone in there. I looked in the driveway, and there wasn’t a car in sight (except for my own).. I was cooking breakfast for boys who weren’t even there!! Needless to say, we ate breakfast all day!!

Life is good. It’s a runny yolk over spicy ravioli mixed with crispy bacon, and homemade hollandaise crazy kind of good…

IMG_9296

Eggs Benedict Ravioli
Serves Four

The Ravioli
1 cup ricotta cheese
1 egg
1 tbsp fresh parsley
1/4 cup Romano cheese
4 oz pepper jack cheese, shredded

4 egg roll wrappers
1 egg

2 tbsp butter

1 – 6 oz package Canadian bacon, cut into matchsticks.

Put a large pot of water to boil on the stove as you prepare the following:

Mix the ricotta cheese, egg, parsley, Romano cheese, pepper jack cheese in a medium size bowl until blended.

IMG_9256

In a small bowl, whisk the remaining egg. Place one egg roll wrapper on the work surface, and place a generous spoonful (about 1 1/2 tablespoons) of the ricotta mixture in the center. Brush the egg around the edges of the egg roll wrapper.

IMG_9413

IMG_9259

Carefully pull one corner of the wrapper across to match up with the opposite corner, creating a triangle. Be careful that the filling doesn’t make its way to the edges. Seal the edges tightly with your fingers (again, ensuring that the filling doesn’t seep out of the sealed edges). Repeat with remaining three egg roll wrappers.

IMG_9260

IMG_9261

Once the water is at a slow boil, place one ravioli into pan, and boil for exactly three minutes. Remove with a wooden spoon, and place on a baking sheet that has been sprayed with vegetable spray. Repeat with remaining three ravioli.

IMG_9266

IMG_9268

Melt the butter in a large frying pan on medium heat, and fry the ravioli on both sides until they are golden brown. Remove from pan, (reserving the butter in the pan) and place on individual dishes.

IMG_9270

IMG_9271

Add the Canadian bacon to the reserved butter, and fry until crisp. Divide and sprinkle the bacon over the four ravioli.

IMG_9264

IMG_9265

Poached Eggs
8 large eggs

Ok, so poached eggs are really easy to make. I can say that now, because I’ve had years of practice. When I first started making them, it was a pathetic attempt with the whites stringing everywhere except around the yolk. I’ve learned through trial and error that the water needs to be a slow boil, and that you have to make a whirlpool with a spoon in the water right before you add the egg.

To use vinegar or not to use vinegar? Supposedly vinegar helps the protein in the egg to coagulate, and helps the whites stay together. Whether that’s true or not, I can’t say. I’ve tried both ways, and there is no difference in the egg. It’s up to you whether you want to add a tablespoon or so of white vinegar to the water.

Crack one egg into a small ramekin. Once the water is boiling, and you’ve created a whirlpool, slowly introduce the egg into the center of the whirlpool allowing the ramekin to dip into the water so that the egg stays in one piece. I usually use a large pot of water, and I’m able to poach two eggs at one time. Make sure that the eggs don’t touch.

IMG_9273

IMG_9274

Boil for three to four minutes. With a slotted spoon, carefully remove each egg, placing the spoon on top of a folded paper towel so that the egg isn’t wet when you place it on top of the ravioli. Once you’ve let the egg dry, place two poached eggs on top of each ravioli. Top with hollandaise sauce. Garnish with fresh parsley and cayenne pepper.

IMG_9276

Hollandaise Sauce
The first time I tried to make hollandaise sauce was truly going to be my last time. I swore right then and there that I would never attempt to make it again. I spent years using the mix that is sold in a packet. It’s tastes decent, but every time I used it, I was reminded of my failure.. So one day, I decided that it was time to try again. I’m not exactly sure what I did the first time that made it a failure..because I found this to be very VERY easy to make.

4 egg yolks
1 tbsp water
Juice of one lemon, divided
Salt and pepper to taste
Dash of cayenne pepper

1 cup clarified butter (see below)

Bring about two inches of water in the bottom pan of a double boiler to a simmer. In the top pan of the double boiler, whisk the egg yolks, water, and 1/2 of the lemon juice until foamy. Place the top pan over the bottom pan, and whisk the eggs for about a minute or two until they’ve begun to thicken. Immediately remove from heat.

IMG_9280

IMG_9282

Slowly begin to drizzle the clarified butter into the egg mixture whisking constantly so that the egg mixture doesn’t break up. As you continue to add the butter, you can increase the amount you pour in as you continue to whisk until all of the butter has been incorporated. Add the remaining lemon juice, salt, pepper, and cayenne pepper to taste.

IMG_9272

IMG_9279

How to make quick clarified butter: Melt two sticks of butter in a saucepan, and simmer on low until it separates. Skim the foam off of the top of the melted butter. Now here is where I’ll make everyone cringe. I don’t stress over getting all of the foamy stuff off of the top. What I’ll do at this point, is just place a fine strainer over a medium size bowl. Pour the butter through the strainer, allowing the golden butter to pass into the bowl, and the fats and foam of the butter will stay in the strainer. One might argue that this isn’t true clarified butter, but it works in the hollandaise sauce, and that’s all I care about.

Enjoy!!

IMG_9299

75 thoughts on “Twisted Tuesday… Eggs Benedict Ravioli

  1. You’re so creative! Yet another combination that sounds intriguing. I love how you sliced the Canadian bacon here! Makes for great presentation value, but a much more crispy finished product! I love that. Good work, Prudy 🙂

  2. Wow! Quite a production you made! What I find the most amazing, is that you pulled that after thinking about it for less than 24 hours! It would take me days of worrying and going back and forth, and pacing around the kitchen, and then chances are I would not try it 😉

    Great post!

    • Haha! Sally…believe me, I’m just like you. There are so many recipes floating around in my head, and I worry and stress over them… and then a recipe like this one comes along, and it just falls into place, and works like a charm! But that is not always the case! I can’t tell you how many pictures of food that I have on my camera that may never make it to this blog!! 🙂

  3. Love eggs Benedict + love ravioli = I would love this! Another great, original idea…you can’t give up Twisted Tuesday now 🙂 Great poached egg tutorial too.

  4. I can’t believe you cooked this lovely and creative breakfast and then the boys weren’t even there! At least people enjoyed it all day long 🙂

  5. Wow!! So creative and delicious. LOVE Eggs Benedict and since you read my blog I’m sure you know that. This is brilliant, love the cheesy ravioli instead of the english muffin or bread. You are really something!!

  6. Brilliant recipe Prudy! What a great twist – and how delicious! Those boys really missed out on a fab breakfast….I am curious – where were they. Please don’t say that they went out for breakfast…

    • Thank you Selma!! Oh..hahaha!! No, they didn’t go out for breakfast, but wouldn’t that have been a hilarious ending to the post? One of the boys had to go to get his CPR certification updated, and the other two had to work. I just love those boys, they’re good kids. 🙂

  7. I wish there was a “LOVE” button instead of just a like button. What a truly creative take on a traditional Eggs Benedict. And not only that, but fantastic instructions to poach your eggs and make hollandaise. Okay, you really cannot give up Twisted Tuesday now…you’re on a roll!

  8. Very very twisted…I’m glad you succeeded with the hollandaise ….it’s worth the trial and error… The combination looks delicious…and have I got a doosey of a story about where eggs benedict originated… lol

  9. What a genius breakfast. Next time you’re playing cards and having a sleep over, please count me in. The breakfast looks absolutely delicious and the hollandaise sauce is perfect. Thanks for sharing. I love this post!

  10. I love all of the different ingredients in this dish of yours, except the egg! I must be in the minority of those who do not like eggs, except for an omelet, scrambled or cut up very small so I cannot tell they are in a recipe – ha! ha! Beautiful presentation and pictures 🙂

  11. This is completely extraordinary! You have unsurpassed creativity in the kitchen Prudy. I like how one thought leads to another and BAM! you come up with something like this! I would never in a million years come up with such a idea, and I love it! Keep doing the twisted tuesday thing!

    • Thank you Seana! Lol…I wouldn’t say unsurpassed creativity…I just call it crazy. ❤ This one did work, and it is definitely a make again! I'm thinking I'll continue the Twisted Tuesday, but I'm thinking I might just do it every other week, or maybe like the last Tuesday of the month. We'll see.. 🙂

  12. Love this idea, Prudy!! It looks like so much fun to make as well (which is important for the cook in the kitchen, right?) – also, all this talk of egg yolk ravioli reminded me of brik pastry, which has a whole egg enclosed in pastry and is deep fried!

    • You are so right! It’s so important to have fun and be happy in the kitchen! It’s my most favorite room of the house, where I spend most of my time. We need to discuss this brik pastry. I’m Googling it right now! It sounds like it’s right up my alley!! 🙂

  13. No, no, no, why would you stop with twisted tuesday????!!!! 🙂 I love the recipes you come up with – this one is so fabulously original! 🙂

Leave a Reply

