Stuffed Artichokes

IMG_9345

“These things are just plain annoying. After all the trouble you go to, you get about as much actual “food” out of eating an artichoke as you would from licking 30 or 40 postage stamps. Have the shrimp cocktail instead.” …. Miss Piggy

Poor misguided Miss Piggy, she honestly doesn’t know what she’s talking about! It’s a shame that she just doesn’t understand the artichoke, and she will be truly missing out on a “savoring moment” if she chooses the shrimp cocktail instead.

IMG_9325

Don’t get me wrong…there is no doubt that shrimp is delicious, but an artichoke? It can be served as an elegant appetizer, yet it’s fun to eat, and it’s truly delicious…a special treat to be enjoyed, as a snack, a lunch, or a simple dinner.

Yes, Miss Piggy, it can be served as a simple dinner…and you’ll walk away completely satisfied…

I’m the only one in the house that likes artichokes, so I don’t make them all that often. When I do, I make only one, and it’s usually when it’s just me at home. This recipe for the filling is the perfect amount for one artichoke, so if you are making more, it’s easy enough to multiply the amounts by the number of artichokes you’ll be serving.

IMG_9316

There is a little bit of work to do when preparing an artichoke, but it’s not as bad as you might think. It’s a matter of cutting a few leaves, and filling it with breadcrumbs. Keep in mind, they don’t have to be stuffed… artichokes can be steamed plain, and dipped in the aioli, or a simple butter and lemon sauce!

Lucky for me, I bought two of them… so I still have one more in the refrigerator to enjoy in the next couple of weeks!

Life is good… it’s good with that savoring moment from dipping little green leaves in garlic and lemon aioli…

IMG_9350

Stuffed Artichokes
Serves One

The Artichoke
1 artichoke
1/2 cup seasoned breadcrumbs
3 tbsp romano cheese
1 clove garlic, minced
2 tsp fresh parsley, chopped
Juice of 1/2 lemon
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
Olive oil

Begin preparing the artichoke by snipping the tips of the leaves with scissors to remove the thorns. It never fails, I always end up with one in my finger… Using a serrated knife, cut about an inch from the top of the artichoke. Slice off the stem so that the artichoke has a flat bottom and can stand freely.

IMG_9302

IMG_9304

IMG_9306

In a small bowl, mix together the breadcrumbs, Romano cheese, garlic, parsley, salt, and pepper. Stuff the leaves of the artichoke with the breadcrumb mixture.

IMG_9308

IMG_9313

Drizzle with lemon juice. Pour about an inch of water in the bottom of a small saucepan, and place the artichoke in the pan. Drizzle with olive oil. Bring to a boil over high heat, and the lower heat to simmer. Simmer for an hour to an hour and a half, or until the leaves can be plucked easily from the artichoke. Watch the water, if it evaporates, just keep adding a little more to the bottom of the pan.

Remove from pan, and place in a serving dish. Serve with lemon garlic aioli and lemon slices.

Lemon Garlic Aioli
1/4 cup mayonnaise
Juice of 1/2 lemon
1 clove garlic, minced
Dash of cayenne pepper
salt and pepper to taste

Add the mayonnaise, lemon, garlic, cayenne, salt, and pepper to a small processor. Pulse a few times until well blended. Refrigerate until ready to serve.

Not sure how to eat an artichoke?  

Well, it’s very simple!!   You just pull one of the leaves off, dip it into your sauce of choice, and put it between your teeth, and then pull it while you’re removing the pulp of the leaf with your teeth.  Discard the leaf.

IMG_9359

When all of the leaves have been removed, you’ll have the heart of the artichoke to eat.  First, you’ll want to remove the choke (as pictured below).  Don’t try to eat the choke, as there is a reason why it is named just that….

IMG_8990 copy

Once the choke has been removed, enjoy that delicious tender heart with a fork and knife!

IMG_3297 copy

IMG_5041

Enjoy!!

IMG_9325

66 thoughts on “Stuffed Artichokes

  1. It’s a long time since I’ve had fresh artichokes. And I’ve never had one that’s been stuffed. Do love the idea. Shame I never see them for sale where I now live. Which is why I buy them in jars. 🙂

  2. I love artichokes, they are really common in Italy during the winter season… Here in Canada I have hard time to find good ones… my mum knows that as soon as I go back to Italy she has to cook artichokes everyday! Your recipe is one of my preferred way of eating them. This to say that even tough in your family you are the only one who loves artichokes you have all my support in keep eating them!

    • Do you get to go back to Italy often? I hope you do…it’s a dream of mine to visit there someday. It’s a shame that you can’t find decent artichokes in Canada. It’s always disappointing when you have a craving, find that particular craving in the store, only to get it home and find that it isn’t up to par. Thank you for your support! 🙂 They’re a special treat when I do get to eat them!

      • I’m a lucky lady… I go back twice a year. Since we have artichokes just during the winter I have to wait next Christmas holidays in order to eat them! please keep going on eating them… its seems that they are not only tasty but even full of healthy qualities!

  3. Artichokes are great and the one here looks so very tasty!

    I also cook with them and not long ago posted a recipe for chicken cooked artichokes and lemons. It’s a shame the season for them here is almost over and the ones I’ve seen lately are not worth it… 😦 Guess I’ll have to wait for next year 🙂

  4. Personally, I don’t think artichokes are worth the effort, for the cook or the diner, but then I love lamb’s brain which are equally fiddly and no one else in the house will eat them! Some times you just have to indulge yourself!

    • I completely agree with you. It’s all about what we love, and indulgence!! Lamb’s brain? Hmm… we’ll have to talk about that. I’m interested to hear about exotic proteins. Sometimes we hear “brains, heart, kidneys” and think that it’s gross, but it could be something that we are missing out on!

  5. I must say that I did lol at the Miss Piggy quote – when I first started cooking, I could never understand the point of artichokes – all that waste for so little to eat! Of course, as time’s gone on, I have completely come round to them. I saw some lovely ones at my local greengrocers on Saturday but decided not to get any because I really could not justify ingesting lots of glorious lemony, garlicky butter with them – now I wish I had…oh well, I will certainly get some they still have them today and try your recipe. x

  6. Wow, Prudy! I love artichokes – they were such a treat when my mom made them for us many years ago. It turned dinner into an entire evening – fabulous conversation, laughter, and truly – slowly – savoring our food. Too often we get caught up in the 30-second reheat and run routine. Thanks for the reminder, Prudy! Such a gorgeous recipe you have here.

  7. It may choke Arti but it ain’t choking Jamison….honestly have never gone through the preparation of breaking them down…I’m the only one that eats them….I love the idea of stuffing them…I have stuffed hearts and crab …breaded them and deep fried.

    • Lol.. hahaha, I do love the whole preparation thing that goes with these artichokes, and I don’t mind the work in getting that little bit of pulp either!! Honestly, I think that if I had the choice of shrimp cocktail or an artichoke…I’d choose both!! xx 🙂

  8. WOW…. I am in love with the way you have presented it! I am not very fond of Artichokes… but looking at this i am tempted to try them……… Grt work!!!
    Hope you enjoy reading my blog tooo..
    Cookingdiarybyshruti.wordpress.com

    • Thank you Shruti! I think that you either love artichokes or hate them. I love them, but can really understand why someone might not be very fond of them. Thank you so much for stopping by, I’m so glad you did… I look forward to catching up on your blog! 🙂

  9. Artichokes are the ultimate dinner time indulgence for me! I never think to prepare them since they look so intimidating, and are so fussy to actually eat. Of course, all that hassle always pays off in big way, since nothing can compare to the flavor. That cinches it- I must make the most of them this season, and I’ll start by following your lead with this foolproof preparation.

  10. Italians love artichokes. We have several ways to cook them (including the stuffed version) and they are all delicious. Since I moved to the US, I have never gotten to eat decent artichokes. The artichokes I get to find in my neck of the woods taste like soap so I simply stopped buying them. I’m starting thinking that the reason why none of my American friends like artichokes is because of their taste. I’m pretty sure that if they had the chance to taste Italian artichokes, they would “convert” immediately to the “green leaf faith”. 😉

  11. I bought a huge artichoke several weeks ago and forgot about it. I don’t really mean I forgot, I just dreaded the amount of work involved in preparing it. So procrastinated until I had no choice but to throw it in the bin. I’m glad you just went ahead and made these…in a most meticulous way! well done!

    • Lol.. I do that a lot Liz. Sometimes I buy things because I think I’m going to get to them right away, but I either run out of time, or just don’t feel like getting deep into a cooking project at that particular moment! I’ve even bought ingredients with a dish in mind, but then completely forgot what i had planned on making!! It’s rough getting old! 🙂

  12. Yum yum! I love artichokes (phew, happy to know I am no Miss Piggy ;-> ) I have never had stuffed artichoke, but what a fabulous idea. I mean every little leaf is just made to carry a little extra flavour and texture. What a beautiful recipe!

Leave a Reply

