Potato Chips!

IMG_9236

It wasn’t until about two years ago that I actually started liking potato chips. It’s not that I hated them, I just found store bought chips to be boring, and totally did not understand the “you can’t eat just one” thing. As far as I was concerned, I didn’t even need to eat ONE.

IMG_9247

And then I tried a homemade potato chip. Holy smokes! Why didn’t I know about these flavorful little beauties? I mean, of course I knew about homemade potato chips, but why did it take me so long to try them? It’s probably because I didn’t realize the true potato flavor and freshness that you just cannot get with a store bought chip.

It took me a few tries before I learned how to get them right. You can research them, and you’ll find a ton of recipes and techniques of making the perfect potato chip. I tried so many different techniques, and finally decided to play around with them myself using bits and pieces of what I read on the internet. This one works for me, and I think you might like it too.   They’re so simple to make, but you do need to set a little time aside to make them!

IMG_9243

These chips are a beautiful golden brown, they’re crispy, and they’re FULL of flavor thanks to a vinegar boil, and deep frying them twice! The vinegar isn’t over-powering, it is more of an after taste after eating one, it’s just enough to say “Hmmm”.  Serve them with garlic dill dip, and you have a wonderful side for that special sandwich, or a great snack for a party, or a quiet evening at home.

Life is good. It’s a “Chips with a hint of Vinegar” kind of good.

IMG_9249

Prudy’s Potato Chips
Serves Four (or two generous snacks!)

The Potato Chips
4 large russet potatoes
2/3 cup vinegar
5 cups water
3 cups canola oil
sea salt to taste

Wash and dry the potatoes. Slice 1/8” thick with mandolin, or a knife. If using a knife, try to keep them as uniform in thickness as possible, so that they cook in the same amount of time.

Bring the vinegar and water to boil in a medium saucepan or dutch oven. Add one half of the potato slices, and boil for exactly four minutes. Remove with a wire spider skimmer and place on a baking sheet lined with paper towels. Let them dry completely, flipping them so that they dry on both sides. Let cool completely. Repeat with the other half of the potato slices.

IMG_9229

IMG_9230

IMG_9231

While the potatoes are cooling, heat the canola oil in a large saucepan (You want the oil to be at least 2” deep, so add more oil if you think you need it). I deep fry them when the oil reaches 350 degrees.

When the oil is ready, add a few potato slices at a time to the pan. Don’t overcrowd them. Deep fry for 3 minutes. Remove with a wire spider skimmer to a baking sheet with a cooling rack placed on top. Repeat with remaining potato slices, and let cool completely on the cooling rack, which by the time you’ve finished the last of the potatoes, the first batch will have already cooled.

At this point the chips will still be white and soft.

Now to bring a little color and crispiness to the chips….This is where you really need to stand over the pan and watch the potato chips cook:

Add 1/2 of the cooled chips back to the oil, stirring them around with the wire spider skimmer, and removing the ones that have turned golden, and placing them on the baking sheet with the cooling rack.  Watch them!!  Some turn golden must faster than others!!   Add more to the pan as you remove the golden chips.  Immediately season with salt. You can serve them warm or cooled with homemade chip dip!

IMG_9255

Garlic Dill Dip
1/2 cup sour cream
1 tbsp fresh parsley, chopped
2 tbsp fresh dill, chopped
2 tbsp fresh chives, chopped
1-2 cloves garlic, minced (depending on how garlicky you like it)
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp black pepper

IMG_9233

In a small bowl, mix the sour cream, parsley, dill, chives, garlic, salt, and pepper until well blended. Refrigerate until ready to serve with chips.

Enjoy!

IMG_9236

69 thoughts on “Potato Chips!

  1. I just turned on my computer and there was an email of your new post and those potato chips I wish I had right now – and the dip of course too! These would be dangerous for me to make unless I had lots of friends/family to share them. Fun thing to make 🙂

  2. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #7 and Divorced Eggs | The Novice Gardener

  3. Oh they look delicious!!! I make these too, my children love them with the dip! 🙂 I prefer to pile them up on a plate and add blue cheese crumbs on top with chopped bacon and melted white cheddar cheese! I know it taste great but not good for you!

    • Lol.. thank you Julianna! We are in agreement. I don’t have chips often, just because of the time that they take to prepare, and like I said in the post, I’m not one for the store bought chips! So when I do make them, they are a special treat!! 🙂

  4. I have never made chips before, and i can safely say I never will, the deepfrying thing just fazes me every time, recycling the oil is the bit I have an issue with. No matter, I can see that these are amazing, they look lovely and crunchy and crispy and if I ever did make some I would try your recipe! Thanks for coming over to my blog by the way and leaving such a kind comment, much appreciated !!

  5. Wow! These look amazing… and dangerous – I would eat the entire batch. I’m imagining I would turn mine into salt and pepper chips… (Like the Kettle brand that I love). Thanks for the great idea! Love your blog… looking forward to following your adventures!

    • Thank you so much! Yes, they are dangerous. Not only do you have to prepare yourself for a few steps in preparing these chips, you have to deal with the deep fry smell in your house for a day or two… AND…most importantly, you can pretty much eat the entire batch by yourself…uncontrollably. 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping by, I’m so glad you did! Likewise, you have a lovely blog, and I cannot wait to get to know you!

  6. Oh, I knew about homemade chips and how good they are, and yours look and sound absolutely addicting with that vinegar boil (DANGEROUS!). What I didn’t know was that it was National Potato Chip Day! Can I still celebrate it today? 🙂 I so want salt & vinegar chips right now! I wonder why, hmm….

  7. Haha, I had no idea there was a National Potato Chip day 🙂 These chips look beautiful – I love you you left the skin on; very pretty!

  8. I honestly have never heard of the vinegar boil, but now my interest is really piqued because my taste buds tend towards salty and bitter and vinegar-ey preferences. Regarding the frying: Can you tell me what type of thermometer you use to measure temperature? These look wonderful! Incidentally, I recently saw a rendition of homemade potato chips on mylastbite.com (also on instagram) where the cook utilized a little slash in the potato slices and inserted a . . . . piece of bacon!!! Okay for a party, but I say . . . just put the piece of bacon on top of your chip and enjoy!

    • Thank you so much!! Yes, I would say that you can definitely use a stainless steel stock pot! The only thing that I would have concern over is overloading the oil with too many potatoes that might result in the oil temperature going down. Definitely use a thermometer to ensure that the oil remains at 350 degrees. Have fun with them..let me know what you think! 🙂

  9. Looking gorgeous! I’m relatively new to homemade potato chips myself. I agree. After you have tasted them, there is no way you can go back to the store-bought ones!

  10. Pingback: It’s Fiesta Friday #19, and I’m Co-Hosting and Bringing My Smoked Baby Back Ribs! |

  11. Pingback: Yoghurty spiced chicken with prudys batatas fritas « Cooking with Mr Fitz

  12. Pingback: Homemade Ketchup and French Fries |

Leave a Reply

