Twisted Tuesday:Bacon and Brown Sugar French-Toast Pinwheels with Blueberry Maple Jam

This Twisted Tuesday idea totally came out of left field tonight… it was a couple  of “how abouts” that turned into a pretty delicious recipe…

IMG_9088

I knew that I wasn’t going to be able to make it to my beloved Wegmans for ingredients today, so I was rummaging around in the fridge this morning to see what I could come up with for Twisted Tuesday.. I found a container of blueberries that I really had to use up soon.  The first thing that came to mind was a blueberry type of French toast…

I am a sucker for French toast. But when I think of French toast, I think of bacon. I’m also a sucker for bacon. Ask my kids, they’ll tell you that I cook with bacon all the time. Maybe I do. But I don’t think I do. Well….maybe I do. Okay…. I do.

So I started thinking about what I could make with blueberries and bacon that has to do with French toast… It just popped into my head… How about bacon and brown sugar French toast pinwheels with blueberry maple jam? I don’t know…is that a twist?  Maybe it’s a twist.. I think it is a twist.  Ok, yeah…it’s a twist.

IMG_9094

But this is what I had in the fridge…
So I had to go with it…
And.. I’m glad I did..

I wasn’t too sure about the maple syrup and blueberries, worried that they might not be a very good match. I was wrong. Like, really wrong. These two little beauties were made for each other!

As the pinwheels cooked, I was pleasantly surprised to find that as the brown sugar melted, it created a beautiful toffee-like crust on both sides. And then, right at the very end, one more thought popped into my head… How about I glaze the heck out of them, and then top them off with crumbled bacon?

Oh man…. Yeah. Crazy delicious.

Life is good. It is truly crazy delicious good…

IMG_9096

Bacon and Brown Sugar French-Toast Pinwheels with Blueberry Maple Jam
Makes 12 pinwheels

A quick note:
I wanted to use just an ordinary loaf of bread for this recipe, because I thought that a heavier loaf would be hard to roll. What I found was that once slice alone wasn’t enough to make the pinwheels large enough in diameter. So I overlapped four slices of bread, spread them with the brown sugar mixture, topped it with bacon and rolled them up.

The bread flattens out a bit after rolling them up, but it puffs right back up as soon as they hit the egg mixture.

The Brown Sugar Filling:
½ cup brown sugar
½ cup chopped walnuts
¼ tsp salt
2 tbsp melted butter
1 tbsp maple syrup

In a small mixing bowl, combine the brown sugar, walnuts, salt, melted butter, and maple syrup. Set aside.

The Blueberry Maple Jam:
1 cup blueberries
1/4 cup pure maple syrup
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tbsp butter

IMG_9065

In a medium sauce pan, combine the blueberries and maple syrup. Simmer on medium heat until thickened (about 1/2 hour). Remove from heat, and stir in the vanilla and butter.

The Glaze:
1 cup powdered sugar
2 tbsp melted butter
1 tsp vanilla
1 tbsp heavy cream (or more, until it reaches desired consistency)

In a small bowl, combine the powdered sugar, melted butter, vanilla, and heavy cream until smooth and glaze consistency.

The French Toast:
8 slices white bread, crusts removed
10 slices of bacon, fried crisp
2 slices of bacon, fried crisp and crumbled

3 tbsp butter

2 eggs
1 tbsp milk
1 tsp vanilla extract

Place four slices of bread on work surface, overlapping each slice a little bit. Push down on the seams, so that it creates one large slice of bread. Spread one half of the brown sugar filling over the large slice of bread, top with five slices of cooked bacon.

IMG_9053

IMG_9054

Starting at the bottom of the bread, carefully roll into a log, pressing the bread back together if it tears while rolling. Repeat with the other four slices of bread, the remaining brown sugar filling and five slices of bacon. Slice each log into six pinwheels.

IMG_9055

IMG_9056

Whisk the eggs, milk, and vanilla in a bowl. Melt two tablespoons of butter in a small frying pan. Dip the pinwheels into the egg mixture. Fry in the melted butter over medium/low heat until golden brown, and a toffee crust has formed on each side of the pinwheel. Flip each pinwheel on their side and rotate until all of the sides are golden brown.

IMG_9057

IMG_9058

IMG_9060

IMG_9062

Top with glaze, and serve with Blueberry Maple Jam.

Enjoy!

IMG_9070

37 thoughts on “Twisted Tuesday:Bacon and Brown Sugar French-Toast Pinwheels with Blueberry Maple Jam

    • Lol.. Patty. I’m beginning to wonder if everyone thinks it’s crazy because of the bacon inside the French toast or the blueberry jam. Honestly? Novelty bacon is popular around here…it isn’t anything to see a bacon doughnut. The twist for me was the blueberry jam! I just wasn’t sure how it would taste with the brown sugar and bacon, and I have to say that it worked. It was delicious! 🙂

  1. I always have doubts about my comprehension in English since it’s not my native language, so, when I’ve read the words bacon/brown sugar/blueberries of course I thought to have bad understood…I was wrong, you’ve really prepared your french toasts with those ingredients…. that’s awesome! I love sweet and savoury flavours together, I’m sure I would have loved it!

  2. Prudy, how creative! This looks like a huge treat, perfect for Saturday mornings! 🙂 I’m a sucker for French Toast too – could eat it multiple times per week! 🙂

    • Oh me too Lisa! To be honest…I’m a little old fashioned when it comes to French toast. I really prefer it to be made the way it’s supposed to be… from a thick slice of French bread cut on the diagonal… dipped in a simple egg mixture, and cooked in butter… and then a very light drizzle of maple syrup. I actually prefer it more savory than sweet.

      • I do too! French Toast made with any good, rich bread – French, brioche… Although I love a good sprinkle of cinnamon. I think I’m going to need to make some this weekend now, Prudy! 🙂

  3. Certainly all of the flavors I like in a French toast, muffins, pancakes and so on and you have definitely provided a “new twist”. I am always looking for new ways to have bacon in my recipes – thanks for sharing 🙂

  4. I would never have thought of doing what you did here…they look scrumptious and the way I love bacon…a new addition to my repertoire, French toast pinwheels!

Leave a Reply

