Beef and Vegetable Stir Fry

IMG_9036

Thanks to everyone who shared their experience, and offered suggestions as to what type of wok I should buy…

I finally did it! After a lot of research, I went ahead and ordered a new wok. I’m guessing it will be here in about a week or so. I definitely have mixed emotions over this, which is so unusual for me, because I usually know exactly what I want when it comes to my kitchen tools. I’m really excited about this, but I’m unsure about it at the same time. This was a particularly difficult decision because I’m prone to believing what I read… so if a wok had 55 great reviews, but 20 poor reviews, I couldn’t get past the negatives..

Williams Sonoma Wok

Williams Sonoma Wok

I finally went on Williams Sonoma website to see what they had to offer. I found a rounded bottom wok with the ring, but I wasn’t really sure I wanted to have to deal with the ring (because of all of the negative comments on Amazon..), and there was a flat bottom wok which had a few great reviews.  I decided to go with the flat bottom.

…And finally, I was trying to find a pre-seasoned wok so that I didn’t have to deal with the whole seasoning process, but I just couldn’t find one that I liked, or had decent reviews. So this one will need to be seasoned.

Yeah, we’ll be talking about the seasoning experience very soon…the good, the bad, and the ugly…

IMG_9022

About a month ago, before I even decided that a wok was something that I should have for my kitchen, I wanted to make some Beef with Broccoli.

“How hard could it be?” I thought to myself.. So I took a trip to my beloved Wegmans, and loaded up on all kinds of sauces. Hoisin, soy, rice vinegar, etc… the next day, I set out to prepare a wonderful Asian stir fry. What I learned is that I did not know how to combine Asian flavors, and I cannot steam a vegetable to save my life.

There is a fine line between a perfectly steamed vegetable, and a mushy vegetable.
I crossed that line.
Seriously, I did the long jump over that line.

I decided right then and there that it was my frying pan’s fault.
I failed because I don’t own a wok.
(Humor me..)…

Not ready to give up, it was at that moment that I decided that I was long overdue for a wok. I had to have one….and you know the rest of the story!

So…it doesn’t end there.

IMG_9038

Last week, Pamela, from Brooklyn Farm Girl posted a lovely recipe for Chinese Takeout Chop Suey, and it looked so delicious that I thought that I wanted to give my stir fry another try. After reading Pamela’s recipe, I knew that I had to try her sauce.  I just know that if Pamela posts it, it’s delicious.  This girl knows how to cook. Honestly.

So..back to my beloved Wegmans I go, to buy beef and broccoli. While I was there, I saw snow peas. They went into the cart… along with green beans, baby corn, shredded carrots, broccoli, napa cabbage, shallots, spaghetti, and sirloin. This time, I was bound and determined to do it up right.

IMG_9042

Thanks to Pamela’s Chop Suey sauce recipe, I did. It was delicious!! And I didn’t even need a wok! I did it right in my largest frying pan, while I steamed all of the vegetables carefully in the little steamer rack that came with my saucepan.

A huge THANK YOU to Pamela for her wonderful recipe… you really need to visit her blog.. she’s a beautiful soul, and her recipes are delicious…

IMG_9028

Beef Stir Fry
Serves Four

1 pound beef, sliced thin (I used sirloin, you can use your favorite cut)
2 shallots, minced
1 lb fresh broccoli, cut into florets
½ lb snow peas
½ lb green beans
1 cup shredded carrots
1 cup baby corn
2 cups napa cabbage, chopped
2 tbsp vegetable oil

Steam the broccoli, snow peas, green beans, shredded carrots, and baby corn until your desired doneness. Set aside.

Cook 1/3 box of spaghetti in a pan of salted boiling water until al-dente. Drain.

Heat the olive oil in a large frying pan, add the shallots and sauté until translucent. Add the sliced beef to the pan, and cook until no longer pink. Add the napa cabbage, and cook until wilted.

IMG_9019

Add Pamela’s sauce (See recipe below) to the pan, and simmer for a few minutes until it thickens. Stir in the steamed vegetables and spaghetti.

IMG_9022

Pamela’s Sauce
½ cup low sodium soy sauce
2 tbsp brown sugar (I used 3 tbsp brown sugar)
4 cloves garlic, minced
2 tbsp flour
1 tbsp rice cooking wine
1 tbsp vegetable oil

Mix the soy sauce, brown sugar, garlic, flour, cooking wine, and vegetable oil in a bowl. Set aside until ready to mix into stir fry.

Enjoy!!

IMG_9026

33 thoughts on “Beef and Vegetable Stir Fry

  1. Looks fantastic Prudence…. it’s one of my favorite types of cooking ..you open the doors to do many different styles of …Im hoping you will look into some philipino cuisine ….

    • Cheri, I’m not going to lie to you…there was a little bit leftover in the fridge, and as soon as I got home from work last night, I grabbed that container and ate it cold. Then I ate my dinner on top of that… lol 🙂 I hope you do try it… let me know what you think! Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Someone gave me a pasta using spaghetti and I told myself that I would love to try cooking Asian noodles using spaghetti… and this is the time!! I would make this very soon ‘coz as you know, ahem, I am still not done with my ‘noodle experiment’ or should I say now – ‘noodle hunting’. 😀

    Thanks for sharing. Have a safe day! 😉 xx

  3. You’re off to a good start, even without a wok. There a gazillions of stir fry recipes with various sauces online, go for it! A bottle of kecap manis, sweet Indonesian soy is indispensible, as is oyster sauce

  4. I hope you love your new wok when you get it! I don’t use mine all the time but whenever I do, I find myself cooing “I love you” to it as I’m stirfrying my food like a boss. I’m glad you didn’t give up on this dish – it looks delicious!

    • Lol..I’m so glad to know that I’m not the only one who talks to her kitchen utensils… or for that matter, the food that I’m preparing! 🙂 I’m glad to know that you love your wok…and hopefully I will be able to say the same thing! 🙂

  5. Glad you found a wok you like – it pays to do some research and then come up with the best one to suit your needs. I have used one like yours but with the ring, skillets and now an electric one that I got from Williams Sonoma as well. There are so many recipes for stir-fries – I have a bunch and they are always fun to make because you can use any meat (or not), fish, chicken, sauces and then the veggies – oh so many choices. Have fun 🙂

    • Thank you…it’s about time, huh? I felt like I was wandering around in a black hole, because I had absolutely no idea what it was that I wanted, let alone needed. I’m feeling pretty good about this decision. I’m excited to try some new recipes.. 🙂

  6. I am excited to hear about your wok review once you start using it! However, your stir-fry looks so awesome (beautiful pictures, Prudy!), cooked in your regular pan, I don’t think a wok is even needed. Love all the flavors and veggies in this dish. I haven’t made a beef stir-fry in a while, so will give this a try!

  7. Oh wow – congratulations! you have commited to a wok – now that is not a small thing 🙂 And looking at this dish you have made the right choice 🙂

  8. Oh those Amazon reviews … grrrr … they can be so good, and yet so irritatingly controversial. I could spend hours looking from good reviews to bad reviews and telling myself a product is great then awful in a matter of seconds. I can on congratulate you for coming to a decision and sticking with it! Kudos to you 🙂

    As for this dish, I bet it was the spectacular choice of wok that made it perfect, but a bad cook can’t make a great dish, so I’m sure your talent went a long way to helping!

  9. Delicious looking! Glad it worked out this time around. And this all done with your largest fry pan! 🙂 Looking forward to your posts using your new wok…can you imagine how wonderful it will be?

  10. I have been planning to buy a wok so I am patiently waiting to hear your seasoning experience and the quality and ease of use of the William Sonoma Wok. Maybe I’ll get the same one too. The stir fry looks fabulous…I love stir fries because they are delicious and most of all because I’m lazy. Have a wonderful weekend!

  11. Pingback: A Shout Out Sunday, Award Season & St. Patrick’s Day | feasting with friends

  12. Pingback: Surf & Turf Lo Mein | feasting with friends

Leave a Reply

