Fiesta Friday ~ Quesadillas

IMG_8980

It’s Fiesta Friday #6 tonight…and I’d love for you to stop by Angie’s blog, The Novice Gardner, where the online party is going on right now!  You’ll find a ton of wonderful bloggers who have joined in on the party, and have brought with them some pretty AWESOME recipes!  It’s a blast, Angie is a hoot, and did I mention the awesome recipes?!!

This is my second post for Fiesta Friday…well, technically my very first recipe for Fiesta Friday, but Angie was nice enough to let me post my Pretzels last week (I came a little late to the party)…. so this week I’ve prepared some delicious quesadillas to share with everyone tonight!

IMG_8990

I’m so excited, and honored to be a part of this wonderful event, and I truly hope you check it out!  While  you’re there, browse through Angie’s blog.. I can promise you, that you’ll walk away smiling…

You’ll love these quesadillas… they’re quick…they’re easy…and they’re delicious!  I mentioned in last night’s post that I bought two bundles of asparagus a few days ago at my beloved Wegmans, and decided to use the last bundle in the quesadillas.  I have to say, asparagus, chicken, pepper jack cheese, and chipotle crema is a winning combination!  Add fresh pico de gallo and guacamole to the mix and call it a FIESTA!

Life is good… Life is Fiesta Friday good…

IMG_8981

Quesadillas

Serves 2-4

1 lb boneless chicken breast, cut into bite size pieces
1 8oz bottle taco sauce

1 large red onion, sliced
2 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp black pepper

1 lb asparagus
2 cloves garlic
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp black pepper

8 oz pepper jack cheese, shredded

1/4 cup sour cream
2 tbsp mayonnaise
1 chipotle chile in adobo sauce (only 1 pepper from the can)

4 burrito size tortillas

In a large frying pan, add the chicken and the taco sauce over low heat. Simmer until chicken is fully cooked, and taco sauce has thickened.

IMG_8965

In a separate frying pan, heat the olive oil. Add the asparagus, balsamic vinegar, salt, and black pepper. Saute until translucent. Remove from oil. Set aside. In that same frying pan, add the asparagus, salt, and black pepper and sauté until tender. About five minutes before the asparagus is fully cooked, add the garlic to the pan.

IMG_8964

IMG_8970

In a small food processor, add the sour cream, mayonnaise, and chipotle chile. Process until fully blended and smooth.

Assembling the Quesadillas  
Grease the bottom of a large frying pan with about a teaspoon of olive oil. Add one tortilla to the bottom of the pan. Sprinkle about 4 oz of the shredded pepper jack cheese all over the top of the tortilla.

IMG_8973

IMG_8974

IMG_8975

IMG_8976

Spread one half of the chicken over the cheese. Add as many asparagus stalks as you’d like across the top of the chicken. Layer one half of the red onions over the asparagus. Top with chipotle crema. Top with another tortilla. Let heat in the frying pan until the bottom tortilla is golden brown and crispy. With a large spatula, carefully flip the quesadilla over, and heat until the other side is golden brown and crispy.

IMG_8978

Remove from frying pan to a large cutting board, and cut into fourths. Serve with fresh pico de gallo and guacamole.

Pico de Gallo
IMG_8966

IMG_8968
2 Roma tomatoes, chopped
1 medium white onion
1 small jalapeño (I used Hungarian pepper because there isn’t as much heat as a jalapeño)
Juice of 1/2 lime
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
2 tbsp cilantro, chopped

In a small bowl, combine the tomatoes, onion, jalapeño, lime, salt, pepper, and cilantro. Mix well. Refrigerate.

Quacamole
IMG_8971

IMG_8972
1 Hass avocado
1 small tomato, chopped
1/2 small red onion, chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
Juice of 1/2 lime
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper

Remove the avocado from the shell, and place in a small bowl. Mash with a fork. Add the tomatoes, onion, garlic, lime, salt, and pepper. Mix until well blended. Refrigerate.

Serve the Pico de Gallo and Guacamole with the Quesadillas.

Enjoy this Fiesta Friday!

IMG_8980

55 thoughts on “Fiesta Friday ~ Quesadillas

  1. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #6 | The Novice Gardener

  2. Oh la, la! Your quesadillas are over the top! Funny because quesadillas are one of my favourite Friday night meals. I love the idea of asparagus in them. I will make these next Friday night! Nummmm!

  3. Yay! You’ve join in the fun with a Latin inspired dish! Don’t get me started again Prudy. I’ve finally toned it down a little over here with the chile’s and all. 🙂 Do love the asparagus in the quesdilla!

  4. Prudy, you’ve made the decision for me. It’s Mexican tonight! Those are some serious quesadillas! Are you sure you’re as clueless as you said? Not buying it, Prudy, not buying it one bit! Thanks for joining the fiesta, for real this time, lol…

  5. Quesadillas are quite appropriate for Fiesta Friday! I have never had a quesadilla with asparagus in it–you always think of the best twists for food!

  6. I’m so late this week for F&F I’ve yet to turn up. Shame, as I would’ve grabbed a slice or two of this! As it’s something I’ve never had before. Now, what to sub the chicken with to make them vegetarian…

  7. Thank you for the elaborate instructions on how to cook and assemble the quesadillas. They look very delicious and mouthwatering. I wish I could grab one for dinner tonight!

    • I love asparagus, and I’ll pretty much throw it into anything! It works very well with quesadillas.. Don’t get me wrong, I roast it quite often, and serve it on the side too!! 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping by, I’m glad you did.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

