Twisted Tuesday: Baked Apple – Apple Pie

“Good apple pies are a considerable part of our domestic happiness.” — Jane Austen

IMG_8421

Jane Austen couldn’t have been more right, and I think if she were alive today, I’d invite her over for this twist on an all time favorite dessert. We could discuss whether it was sense or sensibility that made me decide to make a baked apple apple pie..

I say it was my good sense to utilize my undeniable sensibility.

IMG_8384

I love apples. So it’s no surprise that I love apple pie…and it’s no surprise that I love baked apples. I think that apple pie has a little bit of an edge over the baked apple, because I love the crust so much. But then again, I love the walnuts and raisins in the baked apple. Because I’m so carried away with my love for both apple pie and baked apple, It only made “sense” to me to combine the two… to enjoy the best of both worlds! Sense and Sensibility!

And the best of both worlds these little desserts turned out to be!

IMG_8415

I was happy to find that they not only maintained their shape while they baked, but were soft enough to cut with a fork. Served warm, the syrupy brown sugar mixture just poured from the middle of the apple to mingle with the vanilla ice cream.. Delicious.

These pretty little apples are the perfect dessert to delight your family and friends!

IMG_8421

Baked Apple-Apple Pie
Serves 4

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray an 8”x8” baking dish with vegetable spray.

IMG_8377

The Apples:
4 Apples (your choice in variety)
Juice of one lemon
Carefully core the apples to about 1/4 inch of the bottom of the apple. Peel the apple and discard the skin. Coat the apple with the lemon juice to prevent it from browning.

IMG_8376

Walnut Raisin Filling:
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup chopped walnuts
1/4 cup raisins
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp salt
2 tbsp melted butter

Combine the brown sugar, walnuts, raisins, cinnamon, and melted butter in a small bowl. Generously fill the center of each apple with the filling.

Aunt Linda’s Pie Crust:
2 cups flour
1 cup shortening
½ tsp salt
½ cup milk
1 tbsp vinegar

IMG_8381

IMG_8382

IMG_8385

In a small bowl, mix the milk and vinegar together.  Set aside. In a large mixing bowl, blend the flour, shortening, and salt together until mixture is in pea size crumbles. Pour the milk and vinegar mixture into the flour mixture and stir.   The dough will be sticky.

Divide the dough in four balls. Use plenty of flour, and roll the first ball into a 1/8” thick circle. Place an apple in the center, and begin to fold the dough up around the apple, slicing the dough to fit the apple until the whole apple is covered in dough. Roll the scraps and cut two leaves from the dough with a knife. Form a small stem with the dough. Attach by pressing the leaves and the stem to the top of the dough covered apple. Place in the prepared baking dish.

IMG_8398

Bake for an hour or until the apple is tender (test with a knife from the back of the apple), and the crust is golden brown.

Serve with vanilla ice cream or whipped cream and caramel sauce.

IMG_8412

Caramel Sauce:

1/2 cup brown sugar
2 tbsp butter
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 cup heavy cream
1 tsp vanilla

In a small saucepan, combine the brown sugar, butter, and salt over low heat. Cook until the sugar is dissolved. Whisk in the heavy cream and vanilla. Cook for about three minutes until thick and bubbly.

Serve warm over apple pie and ice cream.

Enjoy!

IMG_8422

58 thoughts on “Twisted Tuesday: Baked Apple – Apple Pie

  1. How very cool! Such beautiful little presents. Warm apples and pastry and ice cream, does it get better? Couldn’t agree more with the Jane Austen quote… 🙂

  2. Fun take on apple pie! I love a great apple pie or a baked apple filled with delicious nuts and sugar and cinnamon, but have never thought to combine the two methods. I love your presentation with the little leaves at the top of the baked apples too. Very cute!

  3. Prudy! These are fabulous. I would never in my wildest dreams come up with covering a delicious baked apple with pie crust. You are brilliant. It is so cool it kept it’s shape and I can imagine how delighted you were when you took a peek into the oven to see them all browned and cute! I have to do this one. Love your little polka dot spat! 🙂

  4. I made these last week and all of my guests told me that I raised the bar big time for the rest of them 🙂 It was disgustingly easy and the presentation was fabulous!! The only problem is that they are most definitely filling!! Not something you want to serve immediately after dinner 🙂 Thanks for a great recipe!

    • Oh my gosh, Tracy! I’m so happy to hear that! You’re right, they are really filling. You could almost serve one apple to two people if you used them for dessert.. Thank you so much for the feedback. I’m so glad to know that you tried them, and they were a success! 🙂

Leave a Reply

