Twisted Tuesday: Fruit Sushi

IMG_8586
I know I’ve mentioned before that I tend to get on different kicks at different times. And…I know that I’ve mentioned my tunnel vision on that certain food until I’ve had my fill. It could last a day…it could last weeks…months… and of course, if it’s a yellow cupcake with chocolate frosting and sprinkles, then it can and will last for years…

But this isn’t about cupcakes today..
It should be (because you know I love them), but it isn’t.
It’s about sushi.
Fruit Sushi to be exact…

IMG_8587

I’ve been on a sushi kick lately; and in my tunnel vision, I’d eat it every day for lunch if I could! I actually had it for lunch today..

Speaking of my lunch, here is a quick story…

So my boss and I went out for lunch today. We are fairly new working with each other (just under a year), so, naturally I want to put my best foot forward at all times.. or at least show a little class once in a while…

He’s kind of on a sushi kick too, so when he sent me a meeting notice to go to lunch for sushi, I immediately accepted! Well, we went to Fuji Grill, and on the menu are these lunch boxes that include some California rolls, a couple of dumplings, a small salad, and your choice in entrée. Jerry chose the teriyaki salmon. I chose the chicken tempura. When I ordered it, the waitress asked “You do know they’re fried, right?” I answered: “That’s fine”. Red Flag Number One: Went totally over my head.

So we’re sitting there talking, and all of a sudden I see the waitress walking across the restaurant carrying a box filled with huge (and I mean huge!!!), claw-like THINGS that were topped off with this massive fried ring of SOMETHING. I thought to myself at the time: “Wow, whoever ordered that must be starving”…

And then she started walking toward our table. Red Flag Number Two: Suspicious Activity Heading Your Way. “Please don’t let it be mine…please don’t let it be mine…” I kept thinking as she was getting closer… and then she stopped in front of our table. Yep. It was mine. Red Flag Number Three: Target Hit.

And as she stood in front of us, in one hand holding a box with the perfect lunch size piece of salmon for Jerry, and in her other hand, a box with that mammoth STUFF for me… Jerry just burst out laughing. Of course he did, as I struggled to maintain any ounce of dignity that hadn’t already drained from my body… What else could I do, but dig in? Have you ever tried to eat a whole chicken with chopsticks? It isn’t pretty. By the time I finished eating, there were tempura crumbs all over the table. Probably all over my sweater, and I’m quite sure on my face.. Absolutely no class at all..

Reality is..it was delicious! Great food, wonderful company, and some serious laughs. Eh, I never really had a best foot to put forward anyway…

Ok, back to the fruit sushi..

My friend Steve came up with the genius idea of making fruit sushi for Twisted Tuesday… LOVE it!! We brainstormed a little bit, trying to figure out what could take the place of rice, what could take the place of nori, the soy sauce, and wasabi. He came up with the brilliant idea of using fruit roll-ups for the nori, and we kind of thought that because this was going to be more of a sweet dessert type of deal, Rice Krispie treats would be a great substitute for the rice, not to mention a great texture feature.

IMG_8574

In place of the wasabi, I made a strawberry crema with peach schnapps.
Orange juice reduced with peach schnapps and sugar worked perfectly in place of the soy sauce.

I do admit I was a little worried about how they would turn out. Would the rice krispie treats be pliable enough to roll, and would it stay rolled? That worry continued on to taste. How would they taste? Would they be mushy? We were pleasantly surprised! I was able to roll them up, slice them, and they stayed in a roll, just like regular sushi should.

Honestly? I’m pleased with the way they turned out. I think they taste really good, and I think they’re very, VERY cute. This is a fun dessert, and the variations could be endless! It would be perfect for a kid’s party, a summer party, or any kind of party for that matter!

Tempura crumbs and fruit sushi? Life just doesn’t get any better…

IMG_8590

Fruit Sushi
Makes about 18 individual sushi rolls, from 3 sushi logs

Just a quick note:  In case you’re wondering when you get to the pictures below… I could only find tattoo fruit roll ups.  I’m sure that they make them plain, but they were nowhere to be found the day I was out shopping!  I think they’re Spiderman!

You will need:
A variety of fresh fruit such as: Strawberries, Melon, Blackberries, Blueberries, Pineapple, Apples, Pears
Fruit Roll-ups
Rice Krispie Treats
Heavy Cream
Peach Schnapps
Sugar
Orange Juice

The Fruit
Thinly slice your choice in fruit into matchstick size pieces. You’ll want to leave the blueberries and blackberries whole, for the middle and topper of the sushi. Set aside.

The Rice Krispie Treats
I just used the recipe from Kellogg’s website (cut in half)

1 1/2 tbsp butter
2 cups mini marshmallows
3 cups Rice Krispies cereal

In a large saucepan, melt the butter over low heat. Add the marshmallows and stir until the marshmallows are completely melted. Remove from heat, and add the Rice Krispies. Stir until well blended.

Assembling the Sushi:

On a piece of waxed paper, shape about 1/2 cup of Rice Krispie treats into a square about 1/2 inch larger than the fruit roll-up. It should be about 1/4 inch thick. Add more Rice Krispie treats if necessary.

IMG_8562

IMG_8563

Lay a fruit roll-up on top of the square of Rice Krisipies. Line a row of blackberries down the center of the fruit roll-up. Top with matchstick fruits.

IMG_8570

Using the wax paper, roll the sushi up until the Rice Krispies meet, squeezing tightly so that the sides adhere to each other.

IMG_8566

IMG_8567

IMG_8568

With a sharp knife, carefully slice the ends off of the sushi log. Slice the sushi log into six individual rolls.

Garnish with blueberries. Serve with strawberry creme, and orange juice reduction.

IMG_8582

The Strawberry Crema
1 cup heavy cream
6 whole strawberries
2 tbsp peach schnapps

In food processor, add the heavy cream, strawberries, and schnapps. Blend on high until thickened. Serve on the side with the sushi.

The Orange Juice Reduction
1 cup orange juice
3 tbsp peach schnapps
2 tsp sugar

Pour the orange juice, schnapps and sugar into a small saucepan, and simmer over low heat until reduced by half. Serve on the side with the sushi.

Enjoy!

IMG_8578

61 thoughts on “Twisted Tuesday: Fruit Sushi

  1. I’m cracking up with your restaurant story! Hilarious. It’s so embarrassing to order something outrageous! Makes you feel like a glutton, right?! Take a look at these fruit rolls! Genius. When I first saw the photograph I thought…are those rice crispy treats? And they are!! These are very creative Prudy with the fruit roll-ups. Weird I know…but, ahem…rice crispy treats are one of my favorite sweets! I can eat a whole sheet of them and honestly…..I have. So I know I would love these twisted tuesday delights. Great post!

    • You’re not kidding, Seana.. lol. And the problem is, that Jerry is so health conscious.. and I’m pretty much not. Well, to a certain extent, but let’s face it…I’m not. 🙂 If anything, it will Jerry and me something to laugh about for a very long time!
      You and me both…I love rice krispie treats. I love them the most with melted chocolate on them. Of course I do, why not add a thousand more calories, right?? xxx

  2. Hahaha! I had the same experience before – wishing that the food was not the one I ordered – but, it was not (I am sure) huge as yours. 😀 It’s good to have that kind of moments and look back, laugh at yourself (even you are with you’re boss) once in a while.

    And btw, you have an amazing idea here, about the fruit sushi, I mean. I love rice krispies. 😀

  3. What a great story – I was cringing with you as I read it, but seriously, how were you supposed to know it would be so big?! I admire you for sticking with it and not pretending they got the wrong order!
    This sweet sushi is such a great idea, but I REALLY need to try the savoury stuff first! I adore all the components, but for some reason have just never eat it.

    • Lol.. Thanks so much! It’s definitely a “laugh about later” moment!

      Oh yes!! You need to try sushi.. Honestly? It took me a few tries before I became totally hooked on it. I started with the veggie version, and worked my way up!

      So glad you stopped by!! 🙂

  4. hihi I know exaclty what you mean (at the moment it seems to me zucchini pasta). And although I have also had a sushi phase I have never made (or even seen) this twisted tast on sushi – wow!!! Fabulous!

    • Hi Jack… thank you so much! Ok, so I Googled the equivalent of fruit roll-ups in the UK, and found that there are Fruit Winders that are made by Kellogg’s available in the UK. The only difference is that the winders are long thing strips of fruit, instead of the square of fruit. I think you could use them, just cut them to fit, and lay them in rows to cover the rice krispies. Or, yes… you can make them! I found a recipe here: http://www.ourbestbites.com/2011/09/how-to-make-homemade-fruit-roll-ups/

      Thanks so much for stopping by…I’m so glad you did! 🙂

      • Thank you very much for your research. I have never heard of fruit winders, but then I suppose I had no need. Now that I have I will look around. However I am fascinated with the link and in the Summer when I gather lots of fruit for my home made liqueurs I will set aside some to make the roll ups. Thanks again and keep on blogging. Jack

      • No problem!! I’m with you…I’m glad you asked about that, otherwise I might never have looked that recipe up. I have heard of it called fruit leather too.. I’ll definitely be trying the fruit roll-up recipe. Fruit roll-ups tend to be more of a kid thing..but fresh fruit roll-ups just might be delicious! 🙂 Have a lovely evening.

  5. These rolls are so creative! I’ll bet kids would go crazy over these, too, and especially with the tattooed fruit roll ups, LOL! Seriously, that is a brilliant dessert and pretty, too. I had to laugh at your story. I remember going to a sushi restaurant one time with friends and they had fried rolls. I’d never had one and they came as part of a plate, much like your lunch box. They were huge, dense tempura battered rolls, (think Tuna roll dunked in batter and fried) impossible to eat gracefully and over the top conceptually…they were as big as hockey pucks. I really didn’t care for them…too much of a dense fried thing with batter and rice. I’m glad at least that your chicken was tasty and that your boss has a great sense of humor! 🙂

    • Thank you! I agree, and I think it would be a great little cooking project to do with the kids! Especially with the tattoo roll ups!!
      Lessons learned on the tempura!! I can understand exactly what you mean when you say that they were a dense fried thing.. It always sounds like a great idea…but then you always walk away feeling greasy and uncomfortable!! 🙂

  6. VERY cute!! I love that you used rice krispies! You are so clever! I would never think to make fruit sushi, looks like lots of fun 🙂 Love the story about the tempura Chicken! Just the kind of thing that would happen to me! Glad it was worth the embarrassment! 😉 x

  7. I love this. I actually made something very similar with my high school culinary arts students. They loved it! It was so fun to make. This would be great for a party 😀

  8. Oh that is SO cute! Definitely something to impress people at a brunch! Your story is hilarious, I am totally scared to order spaghetti with any kind of tomato sauce when I’m around people – I am so scared of food explosions lol

    • Thank you! Yes! Definitely a fun dessert for a brunch! Haha, we’re always putting ourselves out there for embarrassment when we go out for dinner, you just never know what you might end up with! Thank you so much for stopping by..I’m so glad you did. 🙂

Leave a Reply

