Twisted Tuesday: Cobb Lettuce Wraps

IMG_8463

I was watching the weather on the news before I left for work this morning, and the weatherman said something like: “If you think you’ll be walking out the door to dry roads this morning, you will be very mistaken”… and of course, he was right. It was yet another slippery morning, one of the many we have had in the last month and a half. It just set the tone for the rest of the day.

And….There is a very good chance that this weather could be my fault.

I’m quite certain this past summer I proclaimed to the world that I was melting (numerous times throughout July and August), and how I would love a raging blizzard outside my window. I goofed. I should have made it clear that I only wanted one raging blizzard. One blizzard. For only one day. And then the snow could shut off, and the sun could come out, and the roads could be dry for the rest of the winter. But that’s not meant to be. Not just yet, anyway. Apparently we have about six more weeks of winter.

Six weeks.
I think we can handle that.
Right?

Six more weeks of winter.
Ugh.

IMG_8450

I can remember how excited I was in October to start making winter meals. I love them. They’re truly comfort food. They’re the stick to your ribs, keeps you warm meals. That seems like so long ago.

I’m sick of them.
At least for today.

All day long I thought about summer, and how a salad with an ice cold bottle of pop (Yep.. I call it pop. Western NY girl here!) would taste so good…

IMG_8461

A Cobb salad. With blue cheese, chicken, bacon, eggs, tomato, and avocado. For the twist? Maybe something a little lighter… like a Cobb lettuce wrap. Everything we love in a Cobb salad, but a smaller version that we can just pick up and eat. Drizzled with homemade buttermilk ranch dressing, and topped with chopped chives. And a bottle of ice-cold sparkling clementine. Perfect.

It was definitely a pick-me-up, and brought a little summer into what was a rather dreary day.

Six more weeks… we can do it, right? Yeah, I think we can..

Cobb Lettuce Wraps
Serves Four / Two Wraps Each

8 Boston lettuce leaves, cleaned and left whole
2 chicken breasts, grilled and sliced into cubes
4 slices of bacon, cooked crisp, and chopped
1 avocado, cut into cubes
4 hard boiled eggs, cut into cubes
1 large tomato, chopped
4 oz blue cheese
¼ cup chives, chopped
Lemon slices for drizzling

Buttermilk Ranch Dressing (Recipe Below)

Assemble the lettuce wraps:

Lay each lettuce leaf on work surface. Place a few cubes of chicken on each lettuce leaf. Arrange the bacon, avocado, eggs, tomato, and blue cheese in rows on top of the chicken.

Drizzle with buttermilk ranch dressing, and garnish with chives.

IMG_8436

Buttermilk Ranch Dressing:
1 cup buttermilk
½ cup mayonnaise
1 clove garlic, finely minced
¼ tsp ground mustard
1/8 tsp cayenne
1 tbsp fresh parsley
, chopped
1 tsp fresh chives
½ tsp salt
½ tsp pepper
Whisk the buttermilk, mayonnaise, garlic, ground mustard, cayenne, parsley, chives, salt, and pepper in a small bowl until well blended.

Cover and refrigerate for up to one week.

Enjoy!

IMG_8453

51 thoughts on “Twisted Tuesday: Cobb Lettuce Wraps

    • Thank you Ngan!! Well, we’re down to four weeks now.. this weekend was gorgeous!! I think it got close to 50 degrees on Friday, back down to 30’s today though. I hear by the end of this week, we’ll be in the single digits again. This has been the worst winter that I can remember in a long time.
      But… doing silly little things like making those cobb lettuce wraps, just makes it easier to bear. 🙂 We are almost there..

  1. This fellow “pop” girl couldn’t agree with you on all fronts! These wraps look delicious…reminiscent of warmer days 🙂 Definitely a future lunch…and soon!

    • You are so right!! Lol… While I’d like to say that I’ll never complain about the hot weather again, I just cannot make that promise. Especially when my hair frizzes and curls from the humidity, my clothes are sticking to me, and I can’t go grocery shopping at lunch and leave the groceries in the car because it’s not below freezing outside… I know that I’ll complain!!
      I’m so wishy washy about the weather… that’s why Western NY is perfect for me… the weather is never the same! 🙂

    • Yes!! Summer food is a definite mood booster!! I can’t wait for the fruit to start coming out! It actually has, I bought some berries the other day, my son took one bite and spit it out. They’re just not ready yet. 🙂 It’s ok, we will eat our fill in just a few short months!!

  2. This is exactly what i want to be eating right about now, but i am only thinking of sowing the lettuce seed. Soon though, well kind of soon! Love the pictures of what my summer garden has in store for my plate. I do miss lettuce in the winter.. I love your dressing, very tasty.. c

    • Thank you Cecilia! I love fresh lettuce in the summer. Last year, my mom bought a salad bowl that was filled with a beautiful variety of lettuce. There was one in particular that almost had a horseradish flavor, it was quite spicy when we took a bite, but then the heat afterward was so intense. I tried to find out the name of that lettuce, but could never find it. I only hope that we can find it again this year. It was lovely. Thank you so much for stopping by…I’m so happy you did! 🙂

  3. Don’t even get me started on the cold weather and snow. A former Brazilian does NOT take this type of abuse with a smile on her face. Enough said… 🙂

    Love this version of Cobb, in fact I love using lettuce leaves to wrap goodies, including improvised tacos. Light and flavorful.

  4. I love “sandwiches” made with lettuce “bread” 🙂 Well, I have only had a hamburger with lettuce as a bun and now this looks like a great idea too! You put them together so wonderfully. Gosh! I wish I had one right now for lunch. I brought a real bummer lunch to work today and I’m dying for one of your cobb lettuce wraps! Sorry to hear the weather is wearing on you. Hate to rub it in but it’s 54°F here today! And sunny! And why is it I wish there was a foot of snow on the ground? (better be careful what I wish for, right!) Your blog should have a “love” button instead of a “like” button! 🙂

    • Haha… a true friend always rubs it in, Seana!! Yes, be careful what you wish for!! I’ll be sending some snow your way for sure!!
      I love using lettuce for sandwiches too. You truly do not miss the bread, the lettuce makes it so light and delicious!!
      You are so sweet.. lol.. 🙂 Thank you… ❤

  5. I will share the blame with you for the rotten weather. I said the same thing as I melted last summer. I LOVE your twisted cobb lettuce wraps have some Boston lettuce think this will be dinner tonight,

  6. Even though I am out of the snow and cold for at least few more days, I know exactly what you mean. February is when winter seems to be dragging its heels and making itself know in a bad way. Love your delicious little wraps…their bright colors remind you of summer. 🙂

  7. Love, love, love this salad! Can’t wait to make it. And had to laugh about this weather being your fault. I hope you are not also responsible for the heat waves in Australia?! I have a pact with myself. I can only complain in one season. So I pick winter. I am not allowed to grumble about the weather for the rest of the year. You would think your grumbling about the heat and my not grumbling about it would cancel each other out? Someone else must be to blame….

  8. I am the same way! When summer was here, I was looking forward to a cozy winter season in, but now I would kill for a sunburn.. This wraps look tasty, kinda want tot make these and eat them on a warm summer day. Hopefully your weather will make a swift turn around.

    • The extreme heat and cold temperatures definitely make us think things that we normally wouldn’t think! Honestly, I truly am fickle… I hate to see summer end… the colors, the leaves on the trees, the blue skies, and sunshine. I’m just not good in the extreme heat, it makes me miserable, and that’s when I start wishing for the winter. And the winter wouldn’t be so bad if it didn’t last so long! Thank you so much for stopping by Kristan, I’m so glad you did.. 🙂

  9. I’ve never eaten a cobb salad. I don’t think they really exist over here in Australia, though I have seen Ranch dressing in shops! Looks delicious. Love the handheld ‘wrap’ idea! Hope that you get some warmer weather soon! x

    • Thank you so much!! Yeah, the Cobb salad was created in California somewhere around the 30’s… there are quite a few stories as to how it was created…one of them being that it was made during the Great Depression, in which most of the ingredients were readily available from the farm. Whether that is right or wrong, it does make sense. It is also said that the salad was created by Robert Cobb, in his restaurant the Brown Derby.
      No matter who created it, or why… I’m just glad it came to be. It’s one of my favorites!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

