Twisted Tuesday: Comfort Food with a Twist

IMG_7864

Just this morning, my friend Jamison planted an idea in my head.  He thought it might be fun to do a monthly theme… Comfort Food with a Twist.  I just really loved that idea, and of course, I thought about it all day, and decided to jump in head first! The only change is, instead of doing this monthly, I’d like to try it weekly and see how it goes.  I’ve decided on a monthly theme too, but we’ll talk about that another day…

So, every Tuesday, I’m going to do Twisted Tuesdays….Comfort Food with a Twist.

And….Today is Tuesday.
Twisted Tuesday.

I thought you should know that today is also National Pastrami Sandwich Day.  There are two sandwiches that come to mind when I think of pastrami.  A Reuben, with melted Swiss cheese, sauerkraut and Thousand Island dressing… or just a big old deli sandwich on rye, with pastrami, Swiss and coleslaw.

Just thinking of those sandwiches brings me happy memories, standing in line at a deli in New York City, waiting for our turn to sit through a David Letterman show.  We ate these huge pastrami and Swiss sandwiches, with coleslaw and spicy brown mustard. It was so cold outside, and so warm in the deli… wonderful friends, great conversation, and a lot of laughs.

I knew that I had to make a pastrami sandwich.  But what kind of twist?  How about a deep fried pastrami egg roll, with Jalapeño Thousand Island dressing to dip it in?  The last time I did a deep fry day was back in October, so there’s my justification… Perfect. But is it too much to do yet another egg roll?  No. I don’t think it could ever be too much.

This is really an easy meal to throw together.  If you don’t like pastrami, substitute corned beef, roast beef, ham or even turkey!  Any one of those deli meats would be just as delicious in this “piping hot, melted cheese, dripping Thousand Island, jalapeno biting your tongue, crunchy coleslaw, spicy pastrami” egg roll!

Life is Good.  Life is Twisted Good.

IMG_7859

Deep Fried Pastrami and Swiss Egg Roll
Makes 5 Egg Rolls

Just a quick note…I made the coleslaw first, so that it had time for the flavors to marry while I assembled the egg rolls, and waited for the oil to heat to 350 degrees in the pan.

I did the first round of frying the potato chips before I threw the egg rolls in, and then let them drain on paper towels while I fried the egg rolls.  As soon as I took the egg rolls out of the oil, I threw the potato chips back in for another three minutes to brown and crisp.  I was able to serve everything piping hot!

The Coleslaw

IMG_7855
Normally I’d use a small head of cabbage and two carrots finely shredded in a food processor.  Tonight I used a bag of coleslaw mix from the produce section of my beloved Wegmans.

IMG_7833

1 – 12 oz bag shredded coleslaw mix
1 medium onion, minced
½ small jalapeno pepper, minced (or the whole, depending on your heat preference)
1 cup mayonnaise
4 tbsp milk
2 tbsp vinegar (white or cider, I use cider more often than white)
1 tsp sugar
salt and pepper to taste

In a large bowl, mix coleslaw mix, onion, and jalapeño.  Set aside.

Blend together the mayonnaise, milk, vinegar, and sugar.  Pour over the coleslaw mixture, and mix well.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.

IMG_7854

The Potato Chips
6 medium potatoes, cut into thin round slices
salt to season

IMG_7843

IMG_7844

Thoroughly wash and dry the potatoes.  Slice thinly into rounds. I leave the skin on, but you can peel them if you prefer.

You will use the same oil (heated to 350 degrees) for both the potato chips and egg rolls,fry the potatoes in batches until lightly golden.  Drain on a paper towel lined plate while you fry the egg rolls.

When the egg rolls are finished, throw the potato chips back in the oil, and fry for another three or four minutes, or until they are crispy and golden brown.

IMG_7845

The Jalapeño Thousand Island Dipping Sauce
1 cup sour cream
3 tbsp ketchup
2 tbsp sweet pickle relish
2 tbsp minced onion
1 clove garlic, minced
1 tbsp minced jalapeno
1 tbsp spicy brown mustard
1 tsp hot sauce

Mix the sour cream, ketchup, relish, onion, garlic, jalapeno, mustard, and hot sauce in a small bowl until well blended.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.

The Egg Roll
1 package of Egg Roll Wrappers
½ pound of pastrami, or your favorite deli meat
½ pound Swiss cheese
Coleslaw (recipe above)

Lay the wrappers (2 deep) on your work area, and place the Swiss cheese down the middle diagonally.  Add a slice of pastrami over the Swiss cheese.  Add a spoonful of coleslaw on top of the pastrami.

IMG_7835

Beginning with the two diagonal corners, begin folding the egg roll (as pictured). Fold the bottom flap up, and then roll the egg roll until it’s closed up like a burrito.  Don’t worry if the juices from the coleslaw leak out of the roll, it will be fine. It doesn’t hurt a thing. Continue until you have 5 rolls put together.

IMG_7836

IMG_7837

IMG_7838

IMG_7839

Using the oil that you used to fry the first round of potato chips, cook two or three egg rolls at a time…don’t overcrowd.  Fry them until they’re golden brown and the egg roll skin is bubbly. Drain on a paper towel lined cookie sheet.

IMG_7842

IMG_7841

Serve with Potato Chips, Coleslaw and Jalapeño Thousand Island Dipping Sauce.

Enjoy!

IMG_7864

24 thoughts on “Twisted Tuesday: Comfort Food with a Twist

    • Thank you Nancy! It’s always fun doing a deep fry day once in a while, but this morning (2 days after the fact), I was still catching the remnant of grease smell in the house.. I have to remember to keep this type of thing for the summer months, when I can open windows, or take the whole process right outside!!

  1. This is so creative! I would never in a million years think to make a pastrami/coleslaw deep fried egg roll! And love how you took the time to make fresh potato chips too. Your “men” must LOVE you! 🙂 All this on a Tuesday night. You’re awesome.

    • Seana, you’d be surprised at how easy it all went together. Believe me, on a Tuesday, I wouldn’t be trying to do some huge meal! Mike stood there eating those chips as fast as I was taking them out of the oil. I finally had to kick him out of the kitchen!
      You know what that teenage boy appetite is all about!! ❤

  2. Oh my….this looks amazing!! I’m not one to deep fry, but I’m dying over this recipe and how good it looks. It’s definitely close to the lunch hour and my willpower is weakening!

    • Funny how a weakened willpower makes us do things we might normally never do!! Especially when we’re hungry!! ~and~ Especially when grocery shopping, I spend more money that way!!

      I try not to deep fry that often, but once in a while that willpower breaks down just enough to convince me to do it! 🙂

  3. It’s been a really long time since I’ve had a pastrami and swiss sandwich, I live in NYC and rarely get them, they serve enough meat on one sandwich to feed 4 people. I love your little egg roll sandwiches, clever girl, and I really love your comfort food with a twist idea.

  4. I’m backtracking through my reader exploring all the things I’ve missed lately. This is terrible – it’s making me ravenous. I know I would never make these because I’m a totally sissy about deep-frying but I can tell you – I’d eat them in a heartbeat! I wish you were my neighbour. Seriously.

Leave a Reply

