Corzetti with Basil Pesto

IMG_7753

I have a few tools in my kitchen that I love. When I say “love”, I’m not talking about my favorite knife, my favorite wooden spoon, my favorite frying pan, or even my favorite rubber spatula for that matter. Yes, I have a favorite rubber spatula.  Doesn’t everybody?  I’m actually talking about the tools that I rarely use.  They are the tools that I could live without, I just don’t want to. It’s even hard for me to imagine my kitchen without them.

IMG_7724

Take my corzetti stamp for instance. I fell in love with corzetti the moment I laid eyes on them while browsing photos of pasta (Doesn’t everyone do that?!!).  After a little researching to find out exactly what these adorable little coins of pasta were, I knew that it would just be a matter of time before I owned a corzetti stamp.  A few days later, I was opening the box that the UPS driver had just delivered, and it was exactly as I expected it would be:  Love at first sight. I knew that little stamp would be in my kitchen for the long run. I know that it isn’t something that I’ll use all the time, but it’s just one of those tools that I love to own.

IMG_7721

Corzetti are these adorable little coins of pasta. According to My Melange, their origins come from the Ligurian region of Northwest Italy. During the Renaissance, noble families would stamp their insignia or crest on the pasta. It was a fashion statement for sure, a display of wealth, because of the effort that went into stamping each individual coin. The indentation of the stamp does help the sauce to adhere to the pasta as well.

IMG_7723

The stamp itself is carved wood.  The stamp part is the actual design.  The base has a spiral design on the top, so that when you stamp your design into the pasta, the spiral will be the other side of the coin.  The bottom of the base is hollowed out, so that you can cut your pasta to size.

There is no doubt that this pasta does take a little time and effort to make.  You do have to make the pasta dough, roll it out, and cut and stamp each individual corzetti, but it is definitely a rewarding effort, because you’re left with an impressive “work of art” to share with your family and friends.  I’m kind of glad I don’t have the servants to prepare the corzetti, those Renaissance nobles didn’t know what fun they were missing out on!

IMG_7733

IMG_7732

After stamping the corzetti, I had to decide on the sauce. It definitely had to be a light sauce, such as a fresh tomato sauce, aglio e olio, pesto, or maybe a lemon butter sauce with fresh parmesan.  Last night, I decided on a basil pesto. It was perfect for the delicate little coins of pasta, and I used just a little sprinkle of crushed red pepper.   Honestly?  I think any one of the sauces I mentioned would have been perfect for the corzetti.

Even though I say that I say that there is time and effort to be put into corzetti, it’s not that bad. If you make this recipe that serves four people, it takes about two hours to make the corzetti from start to finish (not including boiling time, or preparing the sauce).   If you have the time, tripe or quadruple the recipe (I would do the batches separately), and freeze them.  After cutting the pasta into your desired shape, do a quick freeze so that they’re dried enough to stack, and you can freeze the pasta in baggies.  I would, however, freeze pasta as delicate as corzetti in a freezer container layered with waxed paper so that they don’t break.

Corzetti are truly a pleasure to make.  Honestly.  Treat yourself and your kitchen with the little gift of a corzetti stamp. I have a feeling you’ll love it as much as I do!  I bought mine here.

IMG_7758

Corzetti with Basil Pesto

As I mentioned above, you can freeze the corzetti for up to three months.  After you stamp the corzetti, flash freeze them by placing them on a baking sheet, and putting them in the freezer until they’re dried and hardened.  Store them by layering them between sheets of waxed paper in a freezer container.

I just used all purpose flour for this recipe.   While a lot of recipes call for semolina flour when making pasta, I tend to find that all purpose works just as well.  Semolina is definitely a sturdier flour,  and tends to hold its shape better than a pasta made with flour, but the corzetti proved to me that the all purpose flour can hold its own when it comes to making pasta. It kept its shape, as well as the imprint on the pasta.

Tools you will need:
Corzetti Stamp
Rolling pin (if you don’t own a pasta machine)
Pasta Machine (not necessary, a rolling pin will work too!)

The Pasta Dough
2 cups all purpose flour
2 eggs, beaten
1 tsp salt
5 tbsp water
3 tbsp olive oil

In a large bowl, mix the flour, eggs, salt, water, and olive oil until blended. Form into a ball, and let rest for about 15 minutes. If you’re having a little trouble getting it to mix, feel free to add another tablespoon of olive oil.  It won’t hurt a thing.  It should be a little crumbly like the photo below:

IMG_7719

After the 15 minutes is up, begin to knead the pasta until it is smooth and pliable. Cover with a kitchen towel, and let it rest for about 1/2 hour to 45 minutes.  You can knead this by hand or with your dough hook attachment on your stand mixer. I used my KitchenAid, and it took about 10 minutes to get this smooth dough.

IMG_7720

After the dough has rested, cut into four balls. Flatten one ball and using either a rolling pin or pasta machine, roll to 1/8″ thick.

IMG_7726

IMG_7727

IMG_7728

Lay the dough on your work surface, and begin cutting the corzetti with your stamp.  Place the pasta coin on top of the stamp base, and press the design into the coin with the stamp.

IMG_7729

IMG_7730

Place the corzetti on a baking sheet that with waxed paper that is sprinkled with flour, between layers.

IMG_7734

After you are finished cutting and stamping, you can either boil them immediately, let them sit out to dry, and boil them later, or flash freeze and freeze in a container for up to three months.

To cook the corzetti, bring a large pot of water to boil, and season with salt (about a tablespoon to 6 quarts).  When the water has reached a rolling boil, add the corzetti, about 15 at a time to the water.  Boil for 7 minutes, and using a slotted spoon, remove from the water and place in a dish.  Repeat until the desired amount of corzetti are cooked.

Serve with your favorite sauce!

The Basil Pesto

IMG_7744

Pesto is one of the easiest sauces to make. I tend to like to use Grana Padano rather than Parmigiano Reggiano only because it’s a little less salty with a more subtle flavor. It won’t overpower the basil, which to me, is the star of the pesto.

IMG_7742

3 cups fresh basil
3/4 cup grated fresh Grana Padano
1/2 cup pine nuts
1-2 cloves garlic (your desired garlic strength, I use two)
1 cup olive oil
1 tbsp fresh lemon juice
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1/4 tsp pepper

Throw the basil, pine nuts, garlic, lemon juice, 1/2 cup olive oil, salt and pepper into your food processor. Process until it’s well blended and smooth. When ready to serve, stir in the remaining 1/2 cup olive oil and Grana Padano. If the pesto is still a little too thick for your taste, you can add more olive oil until it reaches your desired consistency. Add more salt and pepper to taste.

Serve with your favorite pasta! Garnish with crushed red pepper and shaved Grana Padano if desired.

IMG_7755

IMG_7754

52 thoughts on “Corzetti with Basil Pesto

    • No need to envy Claire!! You can make them easily… I think if you don’t have a stamp, you could cut the pasta with a cookie cutter and have a wonderful and “conversation piece” pasta!! Or, just take a quick flight to NY, and I’ll make them for you! ❤

  1. I love this post almost as much as I love my favourite spatula. Yes, I do love my spatulas – in fact – I may have a spatula fetish. But seriously, this is gorgeous. Those wooden stamps are a work of art, aren’t they?

    • Oh my gosh, I’m so glad to know I’m not the only one with a spatula fetish. Lol.. All colors. Spatulas are one of those things that I like to say I need(when one or two would suffice in the kitchen!)…. but in all reality, I just want.
      The stamps really are beautiful… and I really did enjoy making the corzetti.

  2. I’ve seen the pasta before and think it is so pretty. I like the stamp that you chose…it is a beautiful design. I think your pesto sauce is perfect for this dish as it is a Ligurian specialty as well.

  3. I’ve never heard of corzetti before! They’re kinda like ravioli but so much easier! I need to get myself one of these cool stamps 🙂 These are so beautiful and the dish looks delicious!!

  4. I cannot believe it, but I have honestly never heard of corzetti. These look so adorable! What a beautiful, inspiring idea!

  5. Very elegant. Your pesto looks fabulous too. I really enjoy taking on a task like this. More often then not I am looking for something simple and easy to prepare because of time constraints. But every now and then I do put a few hours into a meal and it is so relaxing and fulfilling. I was horrified the other day when I found my favorite baking spatula being used to scrape the “garlicky” pasta sauce out of the pan! 🙂 You get it, right? Lovely post Prudy.

    • I totally get it, Seana!! Lol… This might sound weird, but I find myself sniffing my spatulas to make sure that the baking spatula isn’t getting mixed up with the savory (garlicky) spatula!! Yes!! I do believe it makes a difference!! lol..
      I completely agree, it is relaxing and fulfilling to spend a day preparing a meal. Pure therapy for me. ❤ Thank you!!

    • Thank you so much for stopping by Henry…I’m glad you enjoyed the post about the corzetti. I was quite surprised myself to find them online, a kind of pasta that I never knew existed! I’m glad I found them. It’s a basic pasta recipe, very easy to make!

    • Thank you! I have to agree that the corzetti is a very pretty pasta, one that I’d be happy to share with my guests… they’re so easy to make, and you really don’t need the stamp to make them! I’d say a cute cookie cutter would work just as well. Add a little fresh pesto, and you’re all set! I’m so glad you stopped by..thank you!! 🙂

  6. wow, I’ve never seen a stamp like this…looks like I need to do a bit of shopping around! Plus I’ll need a pasta machine. I don’t know why I haven’t yet gotten into making pasta, but you have definitely got me excited! The finished dish looks amazing especially with the pesto sauce!

  7. Beautiful! Just found your blog through a comment in Taste Food, a blog I love and follow

    I will be browsing around your beautiful site, I can tell I will be here often 😉

    Nice to “meet” you!

    • I’m so happy you stopped by, Sally! It’s so nice to meet you too.. 🙂 I look forward to catching up with you at Bewitching Kitchen! It only took me about a second to be drawn in by your Roast Chicken with Clementines!! I have this thing for clementines.. Love them!! And with chicken? Crazy goodness!!

Leave a Reply

