Chicken Corn Chowder

IMG_7604
This Polar Vortex has me in soup mood. I’m a cold weather kind of girl, but this is just way too cold! Seriously, as I was walking into work this morning, I couldn’t believe how the cold air hurt. I mean, it really stung my face. It’s not a very long walk (like two minutes), from the parking lot to the building where I work, but it honestly felt like I walked a mile. That short walk in the frigid air set the tone for the rest of the day. I was chilled to the bone. All day.

When I got home from work today, I couldn’t have been happier that I had made a huge pot of chicken corn chowder last night. It’s one of Michael’s favorite soups, and when I make it, I have to make it big. He’ll eat it all night, and the next day. The container of leftover soup was the prettiest sight I’d ever seen!

IMG_7589

You know, any kind of soup is comfort food; but when you add cheese to it, and make it thick and creamy; it just adds that highest level of comfort that we all desire. That’s exactly what this soup does, and I can honestly understand why this is one of Mike’s favorites.

Although I don’t make it often, I do love to make this soup, and it is another one out of my “quick and easy” recipes. It’s made from rotisserie chicken from my beloved Wegmans; boxed chicken stock, a quart of half and half, frozen corn, and some fresh vegetables. It takes about an hour and a half from start to finish. An hour and 15 minutes to cook down, and 15 minutes to cut up the vegetables! It’s a no fuss kind of meal, just perfect for this type of weather when all you want to do is snuggle under a blanket to keep warm!

Life is good. Life is “Polar Vortex makes me want to make soup” kind of good… Keep warm and safe!

IMG_7596

Chicken Corn Chowder

This pot of soup would easily feed my family of five when everyone was home, and with leftovers for dinner the next day, and snacks all night for Mike. When I make it in my 8 quart soup pot, it is filled to the brim. In my house, every last drop is eaten over a period of two to three days; but you can easily cut the recipe in half!

IMG_7581

I have to come clean. When I was at Wegmans buying the ingredients, I wanted to find some breadsticks to go with the soup. I saw this really cute bag of crackers on the shelf in the Italian Section. I didn’t have my reading glasses with me, and the bag was printed in Italian. I thought they were crackers. Well, they’re not crackers. They’re cookies. What I thought looked like salt, is actually sugar. I was expecting a kind of pretzel type of flavor, but got kind of like a shortbread flavor, and I must say rather delicious…just not to dunk in the soup! If anything, they looked cute in the photos!  I really need to learn to speak Italian!  Francesca?  A little help here?!

IMG_7597

IMG_7650

The Ingredients:
2 store bought rotisserie chickens, meat removed from bones, and cut into bite size pieces
2 – 32 oz cartons culinary chicken stock
4 carrots, peeled and sliced
4 potatoes, peeled and cut into cubes
3 stalks celery, sliced
1 large onion, chopped
1 quart Half and Half
2 – 16 oz bags frozen corn
1 ½ lb Velveeta processed cheese spread (Hey, I didn’t say this was calorie free!)
1 tsp salt to begin with, and add more after to taste
1 tsp black pepper
1 tbsp white pepper
¼ tsp cayenne (or more, depending on your heat preference)

Shredded Cheddar and chopped bacon for garnish (optional)

In a large soup pot, add the chicken, chicken stock, carrots, celery, potatoes, onion, salt and black pepper. Simmer over medium heat for 45 minutes.

Add the Half and Half, corn, cheese spread, white pepper, and cayenne. Cook for ½ hour until thickened.

Serve immediately with shredded cheddar and chopped bacon as a garnish. And breadsticks! Or cute little cookies with roosters on them… whatever tickles your fancy!

IMG_7613

24 thoughts on “Chicken Corn Chowder

  1. Was just hearing about the Polar Vortex on NPR on my way to work this morning! Do you have -50° where you are? It is incredible! Glad you have this hearty hot soup to warm your core. Sounds delicious and I love how your make it big for Michael! 🙂 And I’m laughing about the crackers! They do look cute in the photo…

    • Seana… it was like -10 here, but the wind chill made it -35. It’s been really cold. Funny though, it’s supposed to hit 50 degrees on Saturday… and I’m talking above zero!! One end of the spectrum to the other!!
      They really are cute little crackers, aren’t they? Lol… I’d definitely buy them again. I have a little bag filled at my desk to nibble on. 🙂

  2. It’s in the negative digits both temp and wind chill-wise here in Michigan too- just too cold to even go outside 😦

    This soup sounds like a perfect remedy to that ‘chilliness’ we seem to get this time of year- I’m not even a huge soup fan but I’d definitely eat this if it was put in front me- oh yeah, with a plate of those cookies to dunk in it too lol

    Stay warm! 🙂

  3. Here I’m! The soup looks amazing, Prudy! I love corn chowder and I thought it took forever to make it. You make it sound so simple!!! This is the perfect dish for this freezing weather. My father can’t stand it anymore and is looking forward to going back to Rome.
    Now, let’s talk about the cookies … LOL! Those (along with all the other cookies by Mulino Bianco) are very popular in my country. When I moved to the US, it was hard to find a bag of Mulino Bianco cookies but now I can find them everywhere and they are always on our table for breakfast. They are delicious but … I do know if they would compliment your gorgeous soup. 😉

    • Thank you Francesca! Aww… your poor father… it is pretty cold, especially for those who aren’t used to it! I mean, it’s too cold for those of us who are used to it!!
      I love those cookies!! While I was a little disappointed that they weren’t the cracker that I was looking for, I’ve found a new love for them as a sweet little cookie!! There were quite a few varieties of Mulino Bianco cookies, one was chocolate…so I might go back and try them!
      So, what is the translation of the name of the cookies on the bag? ❤

  4. Your soup sounds delicious and perfect for this cold weather. We definitely need warming soups right now. The good news for us is that Friday our high is supposed to be 37…yea temperatures above freezing!

    • Thank you Karen! I know, isn’t that funny how we’re excited that it’s supposed to get warmer this weekend? Excited about 37 degrees, as if it’s going to be a heat wave. Funny thing is, is that it WILL feel like a heat wave! I heard that on Saturday, we’re supposed to hit almost 50 here in Western NY.

  5. It looks delicious! I’m definetely making this soup. BTW, if you see the word ‘zucchero’ (that means sugar), you probably have something sweet. And I think ‘galletti’ (biscuits/cookies) are always sweet 😉

  6. Your soup looks so good that I’m going to modify my leftover chicken soup I made to eat with dumplings; I’ve got corn, cheese, half and half and bacon…why not huh?

    I just bought a roasted chicken from Costco; no matter how I fix mine something about the already prepared version can be so appealing; I like it best for sandwiches and chicken salad. I’ve got a whole lotta chicken going on!

    • Barb!! Yes!! You can totally modify chicken soup to make chicken corn chowder…and with dumplings?? I can only imagine how delicious that is going to be… let me know!! 🙂 Not to mention, you get to prepare it in that beautiful new kitchen…that makes it even more delightful..<3

Leave a Reply

