One Heck of a Burger!

At the start of the New Year, when everyone is starting their New Year’s Resolution to become healthy… I throw a monkey wrench in the works…

About two weeks ago, I wanted a Big Mac.
Yes. It’s true.
I wanted a Big Mac.

IMG_7461

I’d say about every five years or so, this craving pokes its nagging head in the door, and doesn’t let up until I give in. Usually, a trip to the fast food joint, and a few bites of the burger ends my craving, and I’m good for a few years. It’s been a long time since I last visited a fast food restaurant; I have to say, while I wasn’t completely shocked, I was disappointed in the quality of the food. I swear that the burgers were two inches in diameter, and I know this because the roll stuck out about an inch all around the burger. They forgot the cheese and onions. And there was a sprinkling of lettuce, and a couple of pickles. They did, however, remember the special sauce. Boy, did they remember the sauce. It was laden.

Okay, okay, in that particular restaurant’s defense…they are a fast food chain. I think I paid $1.99 for it. And it was probably a 16 year old kid who prepared the burger on an assembly line, and who really didn’t want to be there in the first place.

Needless to say, the burger ended up in the trash.
And, needless to say, my craving was not quelled that day.

So today, while I was sitting at work, that darn craving crept up behind me and shouted in my ear for the whole afternoon. I knew exactly what I’d be making for dinner tonight.

And make them, I did.
I totally changed them up.
And I’m good for another five years. Maybe.
I’m making my own again next time.

IMG_7459

In case you’re wondering… No, I don’t eat like this all the time. No, I didn’t eat the whole thing.  It was huge!!  I made it through MAYBE a third of the burger, and will have the leftovers for my lunch tomorrow!

Here’s what you’ll need:

There really isn’t a recipe for making a burger. You really don’t need a fancy burger. A couple of beef patties formed out of 95/5 sirloin, seasoned with a little salt and pepper are perfect. They don’t need to be really thick, because you’ll be putting two of them on the bun. The beauty is, is that you’ll only need to cook them for about three to four minutes on each side, and they’re done! Melt your favorite cheese on top of the burger right before you’re ready to take it out of the pan, or off the grill. Since it’s a -12F wind chill outside, I thought it would be a great idea to cook the burgers inside!  Not a bit of grease came out of the burgers as they cooked.

IMG_7452

IMG_7454

Rolls (Fresh from the bakery). I used Asiago rolls from my beloved Wegmans.
A few slices of bacon fried until they’re crispy.
Pepper jack cheese slices. Or sharp cheddar slices. (Whichever tickles your fancy)
Thick pickle slices. I found these Farmer’s Garden Dill Chips by Vlasic.
Shredded lettuce

IMG_7455

IMG_7464

Fried Onions:
1 small onion, sliced thin. Dredged in ½ cup of flour that has been mixed with 1 tsp black pepper, 1/2  tsp salt, ½ tsp garlic powder, and ¼ tsp cayenne. Fry in about an inch of vegetable oil in a heavy frying pan until they’re golden brown. Drain on a paper towel.

IMG_7451

Special Sauce:
3 tbsp mayonnaise
2 tbsp sweet pickle relish
1 tbsp minced pickled jalapeno
1 tbsp minced fresh onion
2 tbsp ketchup

Mix the mayonnaise, relish, onion, jalapenos and ketchup in a small bowl. Set aside.

IMG_7450

Assemble the Burger:
You can assemble the burger anyway you’d like…here is what I did:
Slice two rolls in half. I used the bottom of the second roll for the middle roll. Place one burger with cheese on one of the bottom rolls. Add lettuce, and a spoonful of special sauce, and cover with the bottom of the second roll (which is now the middle roll). Place the second burger on top of the middle roll. Add some bacon. Add three pickles on top of the bacon. Add some shredded lettuce on top of the pickles. Add a dollop of special sauce on top of the lettuce. Generously top with fried onions. Top with the remaining roll top.  Enjoy!

IMG_7456

10 thoughts on “One Heck of a Burger!

  1. Hi Pru,

    Happy New Year! Just wanted to let you know how much I enjoy your blog. I prefer to think of it as a one-sided conversation with you. A little chat, really. I so look forward to them. The burger looks delicious and I really want to try the potato tart. I feel like I am in a slump, dry spell, block, when it comes to cooking. I need to get a grip and come up with some new menu plans. Anyway, just wanted to let you know how much I enjoy our little “chats” and again to wish you a wonderful, happy, healthy, blessed New Year.

    Luv, Auntie Linda

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • Aunt Linda…Happy New Year to you and Uncle Ed. My wish for you is the same… a wonderful, happy, healthy and blessed New Year. I love you.. ❤

      Haha.. silly girl. I'd never believe in a million years that you, our cute little chef, would be in a dry spell. I can't wait to hear what your meal plans are! It makes me happy that you enjoy my blog..it truly does. You really do need to try that potato tart. I know that you and Uncle Ed would enjoy it. When it first came out of the oven, it was this gooey cheesy melty thing going on, and with the fried egg, so delicious. To be honest, I spent the day cutting slivers from it, it was even delicious cold! I ate way more of that tart than I should have.. ❤

  2. I get that craving every now and then too for a big mac, must say I really like your version. It’s exactly what I would want on a burger. Every now and then it’s good to satisfy that craving. Now you have me craving one, LOL!

  3. Pingback: Pear Salad | butter, basil, and breadcrumbs

  4. It’s so funny how/when cravings strike! I’ve been having a few lately too. I can’t say I ever crave fast food but a good burger is definitely something I want every once in a while. This one is over the top. yum!!

  5. Pingback: A Cheese Review and Dishes that Made Me Drool | ngan made it

Leave a Reply

