Cream Cheese Filled Bananas Foster Pancakes

IMG_7337

I had such a craving for bananas last week.  You know, weeks and weeks can go by, and I don’t give them a second thought, but then all of a sudden, one day, I need a banana. Who knows why that is, but it is.  I tend to do that with fruit. Don’t get me wrong…I do manage to get my daily servings of fruit in (or try to). Oranges, apples, bananas, grapes… sometimes I can’t get enough of them, and other times, I forget all about them until the craving strikes.

Except black cherries and nectarines.
They’re my favorites, and I’d eat them everyday if I could get my hands on them.

So, last week I went a bought a bunch of bananas; and I ate a couple of them a day for about three or four days until I had my fill of them.  It seems that the rest of the family did not share my craving, because this morning I noticed that there were still three of them sitting on the counter, and they were in pretty rough shape.  I came really close to just tossing them, when the idea hit me…  Banana pancakes.

IMG_7317

I was just about to make breakfast anyway… which was going to be breakfast sandwiches, but now I had a change in menu. I started to gather all of the ingredients, and knew that I had half of a bag of pecans leftover from Christmas cookies. I thought that they would be really good in the pancakes too.  I opened the fridge to grab some eggs, and noticed a container of leftover whipped cream. With the pecans on my brain, and the whipped cream… another idea hit me… Bananas Foster pancakes.

Ok, so the plan was to make plain pancakes, and serve them with Bananas Foster drizzled on top with a dollop of whipped cream.  Sounds really good, doesn’t it?

Well…as I was digging through the fridge, I found a block of cream cheese. And of course, yet another idea hit me.  Stuff the pancakes with a cream cheese filling, Bananas Foster on top, and a dollop of whipped cream.

Perfect.
And they were.
And Delicious.

IMG_7335

Since I wanted to stuff the pancakes, I wanted them to be on the thinner side.  But not so much a crepe, because I still wanted the fluffy cake of the pancake, so I used my regular pancake recipe..and reduced the flour to two cups. I didn’t want the cream cheese filling too sweet, so that the pancake, along with the filling, helped to balance the sweetness of the bananas.  It all worked perfectly.

I just know you’ll love these pancakes, not only for their wonderful taste, but for the ease of preparation!

Cream Cheese Filled Bananas Foster Pancakes

The Pancakes
Makes 8 pancakes

Just a quick note…  Since these pancakes spread out in the pan, I used a larger frying pan, and cooked one pancake at a time.

There were four of us this morning, and I figured two pancakes per person.  Wrong.  One pancake per person is more than enough.  Well, for the normal eater, that is.  For a big eater, then I’d figure on two pancakes.

2 cups cake flour
2 eggs
2 tbsp sugar
2 tbsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
1 ½ cups milk
¼ cup vegetable oil
Vegetable oil for greasing pan

In a large bowl, mix together the flour, eggs, sugar, baking powder, salt, milk and vegetable oil just until the ingredients are moistened and blended.

IMG_7289

Grease the frying pan with a little bit of vegetable oil, and heat over medium-low heat. It’s ready when a drop of water dances when splashed onto the pan. For each pancake, add 1/3 cup pancake batter to the pan. When the top of the pancake begins to bubble, it’s ready to flip. Cook for about another minute and a half. Remove from the frying pan to a dish. Repeat until the batter is gone.

IMG_7293

IMG_7294

IMG_7291

The Cream Cheese Filling
1 8 oz block cream cheese
1 cup whipped cream
½ cup powdered sugar

In a small mixing bowl, cream together the cream cheese, whipped cream, and powdered sugar until light and fluffy.  Set aside.

Bananas Foster
I kind of winged it with the Bananas Foster, so I’m not even certain this can be called authentic. I know that whipped cream in the mixture sounds unusual, but I had so much leftover, I wanted to use it up.  Honestly?  It made the sauce on the creamy caramel side, and it really worked.  If you don’t have whipped cream, then use heavy cream.  I think it would work just was well.  It’s a pretty basic recipe, and you really can’t go wrong with the butter and brown sugar measurements. If you want a little more butter, go for it.  If you want it a little more caramelly, then add more brown sugar. The measurements in this recipe made the sauce a little on the thick side.

3 bananas, your preferred slice
½ stick butter
1 cup brown sugar
½ cup whipped cream, or heavy cream
3/4 cup chopped pecans, walnuts, or even hazelnuts
1 tsp vanilla paste (extract will be just fine too)
½ tsp salt
¼ cup dark rum

Melt the butter in a large frying pan. Add the brown sugar and cook on low heat until the sugar melts into a caramel sauce.  Add the pecans, vanilla, salt, and whipped cream.  Simmer on low for about three minutes. Add the bananas and cook for about a minute.  Stir in the rum, and then CAREFULLY with a kitchen torch, ignite the sauce.  It will flame for about 45 seconds or so, and then will go out on it’s own.  I couldn’t get my camera to capture the flame, and that’s so sad, because it’s so pretty when it’s flaming.  Remove from heat.  Serve immediately on the pancakes (or ice cream, or French toast, or waffles, or on a spoon directly to the mouth… )

IMG_7314

IMG_7318

Assembling the Pancakes
Fill each pancake with about 1/3 cup cream cheese filling, and fold in half.  Top with Bananas Foster. Add a dollop of whipped cream to the top, and sprinkle with cinnamon.

Enjoy!

IMG_7334

IMG_7340

26 thoughts on “Cream Cheese Filled Bananas Foster Pancakes

    • Oh yeah, Suzanne!! I love crepes!! I’d have to add some sort of chocolate with them if I put them in crepes. I’m not sure why, but crepes always cry for strawberries, nutella, and whipped cream for me. I heard that there is a little crepe restaurant near our Buffalo zoo that I’m dying to try. They do both sweet and savory, and I’m so intrigued to see what the savory crepes are all about.. 🙂

  1. These look absolutely divine.. your pancakes are perfectly fluffy and that SAUCE! Yum! I’ve never actually made anything bananas foster (my husband kinda hates bananas in desserts) but I might just make myself a personal serving of these tomorrow. Great start to the new year, methinks! Hope that you have a beautiful start to 2014! x

    • Thank you so much Laura! Oh yeah, I think it would be very easy to make a single serve Bananas Foster! But then again, I’d probably make the whole batch of sauce (sans bananas) and freeze it into individual servings, and then use it when the mood strikes me, adding bananas afterward! Or use the sauce on ice cream.
      Happy New Year to you! I look forward to 2014 with you!! ❤

  2. Wow, you have seriously captured the flavors of my dream breakfast! Actually, I’d totally take this as a dessert too 😉 I never think to buy bananas either…but old bananas are such a treat- so many things you can do with them!

Leave a Reply

