Plain White C’s

I’ve seen quite a few cookies posted for the holiday season this year, and I have quite a few recipes of my own….Some of them laden with ingredients that just shout flavor with spices, nuts, chocolate, or mint….or…all of the above. They’re the cookies with strong personalities; the cookies that almost always take the limelight. They’re flavorful, they’re pretty, and they’re photogenic. And of course…Everybody wants them.

IMG_7223

But sometimes, it’s the simple cookie that makes an even stronger statement. It’s like the “girl next door”. The cookie that you grew up with, but never really “looked” at in that way. It’s the cookie that makes you do a double take after you take that first bite, when all of a sudden; you realize what you’ve been missing all along. It’s the cookie that stands the test of time. The one that you know won’t ever disappoint.

The plain white cookie.

I grew up with this cookie. It was my grandmother’s recipe. But grandma also made these mountainous chocolate chip cookies that were loaded with raisins and nuts. Because I was charmed by the pretty and flavorful chocolate chip cookies, I never really gave these cookies a second glance, that is, until I took that first bite…and did that “double-take”, and appreciated them for their simplicity.

This is truly a plain white cookie. It’s not too sweet at all, and it gets it sweetness, really, from the icing. It tends to be a touch dry, but not so dry that it’s crumbly, because it’s definitely not crumbly…but it begs a cup of coffee or hot cocoa to go with. Actually, after you have one of these cookies with a cup of coffee or hot cocoa, then I can honestly say that the coffee or cocoa will be the one begging. Neither will ever be the same without this cookie.

And…with my usual theme.. they’re quick and easy to make.  Simple. Because they’re so easy, and this recipe makes a ton of them, I could call them a filler for the cookie platter, but honestly? They’ll be the first ones to go!

Plain White Cookies
Makes a Gazillion Cookies
The recipe can be cut in half, but I suggest you bake them and share them.
Everyone will love you for it.

Like most grandmother’s, my grandma didn’t measure when she baked. Thank goodness my aunts realized the importance of preserving her recipes, so they watched her, and they wrote down the ingredients and measurements. We are so lucky to have her recipes today.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.

6 cups flour
6 tsp baking powder
1 ½ cups granulated sugar
1 tsp salt
1 cup butter
½ cup shortening
8 eggs
4 tsp vanilla

Sift flour, baking powder and salt together. Set aside.

In a mixing bowl, cream the sugar, butter, shortening, eggs and vanilla. Add the flour mixture, until completely blended.

Spoon walnut size blobs of dough onto the prepared cookie sheet. Bake for 8-10 minutes. Let cool completely before frosting.

Frost them with your favorite icing or glaze. Store in an airtight container.
Enjoy!

IMG_7235

14 thoughts on “Plain White C’s

  1. I love the simplest of recipes, it’s wonderful when you bite into something that could be classified as plain and it becomes one of those aha moments. Your simple white cookies sound like they would register an aha moment. Love cookies with frosting! It’s a big recipe for sure and would be easy to cut in half.

  2. Suzanne said it all. I’ll add this…my son and I are going to make these next week. We have a few weeks off together and I have been thinking we need to spend 1/2 a day baking some cookies…but what cookies? I just found the cookies we’ll make. Thank you! I like this recipe because it makes a gazillion and it’s simple..just like you said. 🙂 I have to admit I have never bought shortening before. It’s necessary…right? Great post Prudy!

  3. simplest is (almost) always best – at least that’s the line I tout around here! I know I’d love these. But I said i’d make the Mexican Wedding cake biscuits next. So now here’s the thing – if I only make one – which should it be – these? Or the Mexican wedding cakes?

  4. These are totally my kind of cookies. I always stay away from overly decorated cookies although I have to admit they can really be attractive. I love simple recipes. They require to use top notch quality ingredients as opposed to over complicated recipes where the too many ingredients are there just to add flavor to a dish that doesn’t have much because of the use of poor quality ingredients.
    I though your comparison between the simple white cookie and the girl next door was pure genius. Totally on point! 🙂

Leave a Reply

