Leftover Thanksgiving Turkey Sandwiches!

Today is Black Friday, and I don’t care.
That’s not entirely true.
I do care.

I care because the retail stores of today have let the almighty dollar dictate the destruction of the true meaning of Christmas, while their hunger and greed have created such a calamity of what was once a quiet and peaceful Thanksgiving.

I had absolutely no plan, nor desire to go out into that madness, and instead, I spent a quiet and peaceful Black Friday, listening to Christmas music, and put decorations up, while a big pot of turkey stock simmered on my stove.  With my strong convictions about Black Friday, I totally kept my fingers crossed hoping that my Christmas lights all worked, and I didn’t have to go out for replacements.

IMG_6871

Maybe it’s because I’m older, that I don’t have the desire, drive, or yearning that I used to have, to go out and try to grab those promised deals that were almost always sold out by the time I arrived at the store. And that’s because they only would have one or two of the wonderful bargains in stock to begin with!  So yeah, don’t let me lead you on…I was totally caught up in that hype for a lot of years.

But today, I stayed in my warm cozy house and remained stress free while I put my trees up and hung the ornaments…and while Sophie stood guard over the stove to make sure that no one came close to that pot of turkey stock.

Life is good.  Life is cozy good inside my house, while the Black Friday crazy world swirls around me beyond these quiet walls.

IMG_6865

So Katie and Jessica had to work until 1pm today. Mike got home from work at 1am (yes, 1am) last night, and had to go back in at 1pm today. Jessica came home and went straight to bed, not wanting to eat anything because she had to go in at 3am last night, and had been loading up on caffeine and sugary foods to stay awake. Yes, 3am…don’t get me started on the Thanksgiving/Black Friday thing again! You know that really bad hangover feeling that you get from staying awake for 24+ hours?  Jessica was suffering from that, so food wasn’t even on her mind.  But Katie mentioned that she might stop in after work.  I decided that if she does, I thought that I’d make some sandwiches from the leftover turkey for the two of us.

The first sandwich is inspired by Sprague’s Maple Farms in Portville, NY.  It’s about 30 minutes from our cabin, and we go there quite a bit when we’re down there. I kind of do the “craving-visioned” thing when I’m at Spragues, because they make this turkey, stuffing, cranberry/horseradish sandwich in which I can’t seem to see anything other than that sandwich on the menu. I order it every time.  They make it with wheat berry bread; which is so, SO fresh that it sticks to the back of my teeth as soon as I take a bite. It is insanely delicious.

I have wanted to make this sandwich at home, and today was the perfect day to do just that.  I had the ingredients, but changed it up a little, using my mom’s cranberries and leftover stuffing, but added some two-year old Vintage Farmhouse Cheddar, and used fresh Marco Polo bread that I bought from Wegmans.

I wasn’t sure that Katie would be a fan of the horseradish, but I knew that she would enjoy a grilled cheese type of sandwich, so I thought that I’d make her a grilled brie, with cranberries, turkey and clover sprouts, also on the Marco Polo bread.

As it turned out, Katie was willing to try both sandwiches, so I cut each of them in half and we shared them. Katie said that she loved each one separately, and couldn’t say that there was one that she liked better than the other. I have to say that I agree; and guess it depends on what you’re in the mood for. The grilled brie and turkey is definitely more mild, and much lighter, while the grilled cheddar, turkey and stuffing definitely has a sharp bite, and a much heavier texture. I think if both of these sandwiches were on that menu, I’d have a very difficult time choosing.

I’ll make the sandwich for Jessica tomorrow…since she’s still sleeping.. And if you’ve been following my blog, then you know if I offered one of these sandwiches to Michael, he’d look at me as if I had lost my mind. He wouldn’t even consider tasting either sandwich.. Hey, I’m just keeping it real here!

IMG_6871

Grilled Cheddar, Turkey and Cranberry Sandwich
For each sandwich:
2 slices Marco Polo Bread, sliced thick
3 oz turkey breast, or chicken breast, sliced thin
1/3 cup stuffing
¼ cup cooked cranberries
¼ cup mayonnaise
1/4 tsp horseradish
About 1 oz or more sharp white cheddar cheese, such as Vintage Farmhouse Cheddar, sliced thick
2 tbsp butter

IMG_6867

Melt one tablespoon of butter in a small frying pan over medium heat. Mix the cranberries, mayonnaise and horseradish in a small bowl until well blended. On one slice of the bread, layer the cheddar cheese, turkey, stuffing, and cranberry/mayonnaise mixture. Top with remaining slice of bread, and spread the remaining tablespoon of butter on the top slice of bread.

Place the sandwich in frying pan with the melted butter, and fry until the one side is golden brown.  Flip the sandwich, and fry until the opposite side is golden brown.  If the cheese isn’t melted before the sandwich is fried to golden, remove from heat and place a lid on the pan until the heat melts the cheese.  Serve immediately.

IMG_6865

Grilled Brie, Turkey, and Cranberry Sandwich  
For each sandwich:
2 slices Marco Polo Bread, sliced thick
3 oz turkey breast, or chicken breast, sliced thin
¼ cup cooked cranberries
¼ cup mayonnaise
About 1 oz or more mild brie, sliced thick
½ cup clover sprouts
2 tbsp butter

IMG_6861

Melt one tablespoon of butter in a small frying pan over medium heat. Mix the cranberries and mayonnaise in a small bowl until well blended. On one slice of the bread, layer the brie, turkey, cranberry/mayonnaise mixture, and clover sprouts. Top with remaining slice of bread, and spread the remaining tablespoon of butter on the top slice of bread.

Place the sandwich in frying pan with the melted butter, and fry until the one side is golden brown.  Flip the sandwich, and fry until the opposite side is golden brown.  If the cheese isn’t melted before the sandwich is fried to golden, remove from heat and place a lid on the pan until the heat melts the cheese.  Serve immediately.

Enjoy!

15 thoughts on “Leftover Thanksgiving Turkey Sandwiches!

    • Thank you! I have to admit, they were delicious. I have a pot of turkey soup simmering on the stove as I’m typing this, and plan to serve up the last of the turkey and cranberries in another sandwich to go with the soup tonight.. Thank you so much for stopping by!! 🙂

  1. That sounds like you spent Black Friday the perfect way 🙂 I have never had a desire to venture out to the stores…no discount is worth it!
    Wow, both of these sound soooo good. I have a picky eater on my hands too, but since he eats a turkey sandwich for lunch every day, I bet I could convince him to try these 🙂 I’m saving this for next year when we host Thanksgiving and will inevitable have leftover turkey!

    • Hi Amy.. yep, it was a lovely day! And we are in total agreement, there is no discount that is worth staying up all night on Thanksgiving just to get to a store to find the item is sold out anyway!! 🙂
      My husband is a fussy guy… and I made the brie sandwich for him on Sunday night with a bowl of turkey noodle soup. He gave me “the look” when I handed him the sandwich… and pretended not to watch him eat the sandwich… he gobbled it right up, and actually said that he’d eat that sandwich again! Haha.. miracles never cease!! ❤

Leave a Reply

