Sponge Candy Flop, and Prudy’s New Mission

I’m on a new mission. The mission to perfect sponge candy. I say “perfect”, but I really should be saying “at least get it in the ballpark”… My first attempt was a complete flop:

In this photo:  I had high hopes.  Sugar was boiling perfectly, we were getting to the soft ball stage….

Boiling the Sugar
Photo #2: I thought I had it in the bag.  It looked perfect…  and at that point, I wondered “What’s the Hub Bub, Bub?”.. I couldn’t understand why people said that sponge candy was so difficult to make…IMG_4416

Photo #3:  Wait…. What????

IMG_4419

Photo #4:  Oh yeah, It’s a fail…

IMG_4420

Photo #5:  I managed to break off pieces of the candy around the sides.  I tried to eat one, and my teeth actually glued together!!

IMG_4421

I’m not giving up that easily… stay tuned…I’ll share with you the ups and downs of this mission…
The mission to make a perfect, pretty, and EDIBLE…sponge candy by Christmas…

13 thoughts on “Sponge Candy Flop, and Prudy’s New Mission

  1. So I hope I’m not being a bad friend by saying that I really did LOL as I was reading about your flop. Not that I don’t wish you every success, but for those of use who are a little more “challenged” in the kitchen, it’s nice to know that someone with your expertise still has a flop once in a while. That aside, I hope you perfect this recipe before Christmas because I’d like to try to make it with my daughter for the holidays. LOL – Lot’s of Love!

    • You have never been, nor will you ever be a bad friend… ❤ Of course you laughed…(we'll have a chat about that later Missy.. 😉 )..
      I hope to perfect it before Christmas too…maybe one weekend, I'll bring the ingredients to your house, and the three of us can try to make it together!! ❤

  2. Oh my goodness. I have never heard of sponge candy before and now I am so intrigued! I will stay tuned to find out what this very mysterious candy is all about! 🙂 Good thing you had the cookie sheet underneath! See, that would have been something I would have forgot to do…

    • Sponge candy is a Western New York thing. How do I describe it? While we call it “sponge” it almost has a caramelly flavor, has a nice crunch when you first bite into it, but then as soon as it hits your tongue, completely melts. Mixed with chocolate, it’s pure heaven. If you are interested, pop me an email with your address, and I’ll be happy to send you some from one of our nicer candy stores… Honestly, you need to try it… 🙂 I believe that other areas call it puff candy, or pillow candy.

      Haha…believe me, it was pure luck that I even remembered the cookie sheet! 🙂

  3. I’ve never heard of sponge candy, will have to google it. I also thought that one of the photo’s was melted cheese, LOL. You’ll do it, I’m sure. I had the same problem with Macaron’s miserable failure first try,

    • Suzanne… I haven’t put myself on the Macaron mission yet! I’m quite intimidated by them.. maybe one of these days I’ll give them a try. Until then, I’ll be focusing on this sponge candy! I’ll be happy to send you some! Haha, it really does look like melted cheese.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

