Cranberry, Clementine Cupcakes with Cranberry Frosting

Cupcakes.

I love them. And a cupcake with sprinkles?  Pure bliss….  I loved cupcakes before they became the big trend.  And I still love them even though they’re kind of “old news”.  I’m not sure I’ll ever think of them as old news, and I think that I have a lot of people who might agree with me.

IMG_5737

Yes, I’m one of those people who, with my beautiful and devoted best friend Cindy, (I love you, man…) stood in a line that wrapped around the building outside of Magnolia Bakery in New York City, in December only to buy two cupcakes each…one for each of us, and one for each of our husbands.  We went back on day two of our trip, to stand in that long line again, but that time to buy a dozen each!  We laugh about that all the time… and were just chatting on the phone about this, and she said that she would do it again in a heartbeat.  Me too. If we ever make it to New York City again, Magnolia is definitely top on our list of things to do.

Untitled

I feel the need to tell you that the love of my life is a yellow cupcake with chocolate frosting.  ~And~  I will probably feel the need to tell you that often.  They are, and always will be my first choice in cupcake.  I crave them ALL the time.  I try to not make them too often, because I know that there won’t be any controlling me, especially if I have a gallon of milk in the fridge.

I am weak.
I am cupcake weak.
I’m good for nothing after a productive day of devouring them.
Totally worth it.

cupcakes copy

Now I know that this is my only my sixth post on my very new blog, and here I am writing about cupcakes again… Let me explain:

I was so exhausted last night.  I was just about finished cleaning the kitchen, and planned to sit and watch TV for the evening, when I get a text from my daughter Jessica. It’s a picture of a recipe for cranberry cupcakes that she found in her latest Seventeen magazine.  The recipe called for fresh cranberries, and Greek yogurt. Without a second thought, and a burst of energy, I text back “LOVE. Making them tonight”.   She texts back “Do you have all the ingredients?”  I answer her with “I have dried cranberries, some clementines, and a can of jellied cranberry sauce. I’ll improvise.”

And now, here I am for the second time in just a few days talking about cupcakes!

IMG_5690

Cranberry, Clementine Cupcakes with Cranberry Frosting

(Makes 1 dozen cupcakes)

A quick note…  While I used clementines, I think that oranges would be just as delicious.  Keep the butter cold, and mix it in at the very end, letting it melt into the cupcakes as they bake.  I knew that cold chunky cold butter in biscuits is delightful, but I wasn’t sure if it would work in cupcakes.  I have to say that it truly does.

I think with that these cupcakes are perfect for the upcoming holidays!  This very moist cupcake is filled with cranberries, with a lovely hint of clementine, but not overly sweet.  The frosting is on the sweeter side, and completely complements the cupcake. I think the next time I make these cupcakes, I’ll be adding walnuts to the batter…

The Cupcakes:

3 egg whites
¾ cup granulated sugar
½ cup milk
2 tbsp vegetable oil
The juice of 2 clementines
1 tsp vanilla paste
1 ½ cups cake flour
2 tsp baking powder
½ tsp salt
6 tbsp cold butter, shredded with a grater
½ cup dried cranberries, chopped

The Frosting:

½ cup butter
½ cup jellied cranberry sauce, or cranberry jam
¼ tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla
3 to 3 1/2 cups confectioners sugar

For the cupcakes:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.   Line cupcake tin with paper cupcake liners.
In a separate bowl, sift together the cake flour, baking powder, and salt.  Set aside.

In mixing bowl, combine the egg whites, sugar, milk, vegetable oil, Clementine juice, and vanilla.  Mix on medium speed until  foamy.  Add the flour mixture and mix until well blended, about 2 minutes.   Add the cold grated butter and cranberries, and mix for about a minute more.  The batter will look lumpy, but that’s ok, the butter will bake into the cupcakes.

Pour 1/3 cup batter into each cupcake liner. Bake for 17 minutes, or until toothpick inserted into the middle of the cupcake comes out clean.  Remove from oven, and cool on baking rack.

IMG_5684

For the Frosting:

Cream the butter, cranberry sauce or jam, salt and vanilla until fluffy.  Add 3 cups of the confectioners sugar, one cup at a time, until spreadable consistency.  Add the remaining 1/2 cup if you think it might need to be a little stiffer for piping onto the cupcake.

IMG_5688

Put the frosting in a decorator’s bag that is already loaded with a plain round extra-large tip (I use Wilton 1A), and beginning on the edge of the cupcake, pipe onto the cupcake in a spiral direction around the cupcake until it ends in the middle.  Pull the tip up so that the frosting makes a little swoop at the top.

I used white glitter sugar to decorate the cupcakes.

IMG_5693

Enjoy!

IMG_5737

14 thoughts on “Cranberry, Clementine Cupcakes with Cranberry Frosting

  1. OMG – Your cupcakes look even better than the ones at the Magnolia Bakery in New York City. I would stand in line for your cupcakes too! Love Ya!

    • Thank you so much… I’m so happy you stopped by! ❤ Yeah.. I love them too. Our husbands couldn't understand why we would stand in line for so long for a cupcake… It's a CUPCAKE boys!! How can they not understand?? It was so worth the wait. Both times. 🙂

  2. I have to say that I never really got the whole cupcake trend, but I have been to Magnolia’s and Crumbs and they’re pretty delicious. I can’t stand making them though- for some reason it seems like more effort to me than a 3 layer cake! But maybe I’m crazy 🙂 This flavor combo sounds out of this world, though!!

  3. Your fruity cupcakes sounds great but my first love (like you) is a vanilla or yellow cake with chocolate icing, a almost even second is chocolate cake with white icing. Just made a batch of yellow with chocolate icing today. You inspired me!

  4. I am a big cupcake fan too…and my all-time favorite is yellow cake with chocolate icing, although I do love a good red velvet. I can’t imagine ever getting sick of them! I’ve also been to Magnolia but luckily there was no long line when we went…maybe 5 minutes at the most.

    These cupcakes look wonderful…I love cranberry anything. I will be making cranberry jam in the near future…I’ll be sure to send a jar over.

    • Thanks Kris!! I’m glad you stopped by!! ❤ Oh, I can't wait!! If it's as good as your pepper jelly, then I know I'm in for a treat!! I love cranberry anything too.. I bought some cranberry orange chutney from the store the other day, and I have to say that I was really disappointed. It had an off flavor, and I'm almost wondering if I got a bad jar of it.

  5. I love magnolia en NYC as well, there cupcakes are really awesome. Your are looking great too, love the clementine flavor and the cranberry frosting, great combo!

  6. Pingback: cupcakes today | Dessert Etc

Leave a Reply

