Deep Fry Day

IMG_5617

I’m not sure about the rest of you, but once in a while I need to have a deep fry day.  That is a day that I set aside in which I give myself the “OK” to not only cook, but eat something that is deep fried.  For me, it goes a little deeper than not being a healthy food choice….because we all know that greasy “smell and feel” that permeates the house when we deep fry foods. It takes a day or two for it to subside…and during those days you just hope against hope that you don’t get any unexpected visitors!

Deep frying outside is the best, and periodically I’ll set myself up in the garage if it’s raining.  Yesterday, I was prepping to make chicken pot pies for today, so I couldn’t be outside or in the garage.  It’s ok, this one was totally worth the stink!

My husband and kids love pulled pork. They also love pizza logs. So the other night when I was throwing some pizza logs together for Michael, I started thinking that it would be cool to try making pulled pork deep fried in an egg roll. I thought that they would love this…and was really excited to give it a try, so why not have a deep fry day?

Seriously though…have you ever come up with this great idea (or so you think) for a recipe, and the whole time you’re creating it, you’re thinking of everyone you’re making it for, and then start day dreaming about the whole scene playing out when they taste it for the first time?   Well, that was me yesterday.  While I was rolling the pork into the egg rolls, I envisioned myself on stage in my kitchen, holding a bouquet of roses that Michael had just given me, after one of my daughters placed the crown a little crookedly on my head…maybe with a smudge of flour on my face…because I knew that this was going to be the best idea that I ever had….

Now, before you start thinking… “oh this girl is really full of herself”….Let’s get real…I’m talking about my family here…. So let me tell you how most of those day dreams end up, in reality, they are more like Carrie at her prom. What I think is going to be this most awesome dish, and the family is going to be looking at me with awe and undying love…usually turns out to be a pure horror type of recipe!

But yesterday… this one was a win. And I’m excited to share it with you today…

IMG_5631

Deep Fried Pulled Pork 

(Makes 12 Egg Rolls)

Just a quick note….If you have a smoker, feel free to smoke the pork roast using your own recipe. We have one, but we keep it at our cabin. I’ll be sharing some recipes soon!

This recipe started out with pulled pork in the egg roll. Then I thought that caramelized onions would be kind of good with it. And how about  crispy hash browns to top it off, with some sort of creamy barbecue sauce to dip it in?  Yeah, that’s exactly what I did.

Now, the mistake that I made was that I made all 12 of the egg rolls  with the pork, onions, and hash browns, and then fried them all up.  What I should have done, was make just one, and then take a bite of it to see if there was anything that was missing. While I really liked the egg roll as it was, I had an afterthought about 15 minutes of taking pictures afterward….

Pepper jack cheese.

Wow, wouldn’t that just round them off perfectly?    So I cubed some pepper jack cheese, threw the cubes on a plate and melted them in the microwave.  Then I took a small knife, and put a blob of cheese inside each egg roll!  It was perfect…

Add some homemade french fries to the mix, and life is good.  Life is stinky for a day or two after this…but it’s truly good.

IMG_5635

The Pulled Pork

2 pound pork loin roast

1 cup water

1 tsp oregano

1 tsp thyme

1 tsp black pepper

1 tsp ground celery seed

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper ( or more, depending on your desired heat)

1 tsp paprika

1 tsp salt

1 tsp onion powder

1 tsp garlic powder

Mix the oregano, thyme, black pepper, ground celery seed, cayenne pepper, paprika, salt, onion powder, and garlic powder in a small bowl. Rub all over the pork roast. Place the roast in a small roasting pan along with a cup of water. Cover and bake at 350 degrees for about 3 to 4 hours, or until the pork is tender enough to pull apart.

Pull the pork apart, and keep it in it’s own juices so that it stays moist.

IMG_5570

The Barbecue Sauce / Dipping Sauce 

1 cup ketchup

1/2 cup molasses

2 tbsp butter

1/4 cup cider vinegar

2 tbsp prepared mustard

1 tbsp worchestershire sauce

1 tsp garlic powder

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper (or more, depending on your desired heat)

1 tsp hot pepper sauce

1/2 cup mayonnaise

In a saucepan, combine the ketchup, molasses, butter, cider vinegar, prepared mustard, worchestershire sauce, garlic powder, cayenne pepper, and hot pepper sauce.  Stir until blended.  Cook on low heat for about 15 minutes, and let cool completely.

Place about 1/2 cup of the barbecue sauce in a separate bowl and set aside. This will be used inside the egg rolls. Mix the remainder with mayonnaise, and refrigerate. This is the dipping sauce.

The Rest of the Ingredients 

Package of 24 egg roll wrappers, thawed (you can usually find them either in produce, or in the frozen section of the grocery store)

2 onions, sliced

2 tbsp butter

4 medium potatoes, peeled and grated

8 oz cube pepper jack cheese, shredded

Vegetable oil

Salt and pepper to taste

Melt tbsp butter in a frying pan, and saute onions slowly until they’re golden brown. Remove from pan with slotted spoon and set aside.

Peel the potatoes, and shred with a grater or processor. Rinse the starch off, and blot dry with a paper towel.  Pour enough vegetable oil into a heavy pan so that there is about an inch and a half to two inches.  Heat the oil on medium heat to 350 degrees.  Fry the potatoes until they are golden brown and crispy. Drain on a paper towel lined plate, and season with salt and pepper.  Set aside.  Shut the stove off, and save the vegetable oil, you can use that to fry the egg rolls.

IMG_5567

Assemble:

Because the pork and onion are on the wet side, and the hash browns are on the sharp side, I doubled up on the egg roll wrappers when putting them together.

Lay the wrappers (2 deep) on your work area, and place some pepper jack cheese down the middle diagonally.  Add some pork on top of the cheese.  Be generous, there is plenty of pork to go around, and it’s the star of the show… Add some caramelized onions on top of the pork.  Drizzle with the barbecue sauce that you set aside for this. Top it off with a few crispy hash browns.

Beginning with the two diagonal corners, begin folding the egg roll (as pictured). Fold the bottom flap up, and then roll the egg roll until it’s closed up like a burrito.  Don’t worry the juices from the pork leak out of the roll, it will be fine.  If some of the hash browns happen to poke through the wrapper, that’s fine too. It doesn’t hurt a thing. Continue until you have 12 rolls put together.

Heat the reserved oil that you used for the hash browns until it reaches 350 degrees.  Place three to four egg rolls into the oil…don’t overcrowd.  You can fry them in about three or four batches. Drain on a paper towel lined cookie sheet.

IMG_5573

IMG_5576

IMG_5577IMG_5581

The French Fries:

6 large potatoes, cut into french fry slices

Thoroughly wash and dry the potatoes.  I leave the skin on, but you can peel them if you prefer.

Using the egg roll oil, and keeping it at 350 degrees, fry the french fries in batches until golden and crispy.  Drain on a paper towel lined plate, and season with salt and pepper.

IMG_5612

And Finally….

As I was typing this up, my daughter Katie said that it would be really nice to include my coleslaw recipe with this.  She also said that it would be kind of cool to use a purple cabbage… the purple color and the orange carrots would be really pretty with the egg roll and fries, and the creamy barbecue sauce. She is absolutely right.  There are no pictures, because this is yet again, an afterthought.  Thanks Kate!

So here is my recipe… using a purple cabbage:

1 medium head of cabbage, shredded finely in a food processor

2 carrots, shredded finely in a food processor

1 medium onion, minced

1 cup mayonnaise

4 tbsp milk

2 tbsp vinegar (white or cider, I use cider more often than white)

1 tsp sugar

salt and pepper to taste

In a large bowl, mix cabbage, carrots and onion.  Set aside.

Blend together the mayonnaise, milk, vinegar, and sugar.  Pour over the cabbage mixture, and mix well.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.

Enjoy!!

Again, please bear with me while I learn the technical side of this.  I just cannot figure out how to get rid of all those huge spaces in between ingredients!  I will figure this out..I promise.

11 thoughts on “Deep Fry Day

  1. Wow, this looks incredible! I hate deep frying because it’s so messy, but I think I should do what you do, and just have a “deep fry day” every once in a while 🙂

  2. Okay, my son would eat this. He’s almost 17. Also, I love food in “packages” — ravioli, wraps, burritos (pasta burrito, anyone?). I like also that there’s cheese in this recipe. I make pulled pork once a week and I’m doing this recipe next week with the leftovers.

Leave a Reply

